We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

From arriving to departing Plas Rhianfa everything was superb. We couldn't fault our stay excellent food accommodation staff and hotel a memorable experience a special place to stay
We have stayed at this hotel before and would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear William h,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at the Chateau. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you both back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Wow... what can I say? My fiance took me to Chateau Rhianfa for one night for my birthday, and it was absolutely beautiful. From the moment we pulled into the carpark, to that sad moment of saying goodbye and knowing we hadn't had enough time, everything was perfect. We stayed in the Duke Suite (thanks to Craig for your generosity!), with sweeping views over the Strait, four poster bed, free-standing bath, it was perfect.

Canapes and bubbly at 7pm with the other guests in the hotel was a really nice touch, and the meal was very impressive... compliments to the chef indeed!

The hotel is full of nooks and crannies and decorated impeccably throughout, well worth a wander around the hotel itself and the beautiful grounds.

Well worth a visit, this hotel is one of the best I have ever had the pleasure of staying in (and that's saying a lot!)

We will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the Menai Strait if possible - a view not to be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilou_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear lilou_100,

Absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Chateau and had a wonderful stay.

The Dukes room that you stayed in is a lovely room with the four poster, turret bathroom and views on the Menai Straits and Mountains. I'm glad that we were able to look after you and I shall thank my team on your behalf.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed for one night, and although living locally it was a welcome and relaxing break in magical surroundings. The views over the Menai straits and over to the snow capped mountains of Snowdonia from the reception rooms were stunning - we locals never tire! Our deluxe room was superb with nice fluffy robes and quality bedding - very important! All the reception rooms are delightful but I was very anxious to explore, and soon found lots of quirky places - love the sun room which opens out onto the large patio area - roll on summer! The small gym is fully equipped but unfortunately we didn't have time to make use of it as we spent too long in the hot tub sipping champagne and chilling!! Mmmm very enjoyable. The history of Chateau Rhianfa is very interesting and worth reading - a copy is available from reception. The building has retained much of its original character and Victorian features and has been refurbished to a very high standard with a contemporary and quirky twist. You can't help but admire the architecture with its French influence. The Chateau Dining Experience was run very professionally and all the guests treated like VIP's with friendly attentive staff. Thank you Martin and your team - look forward to returning

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 39CarolAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear 39CarolAnn,

Thank you for writing such a kind review of your stay at the Chateau. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to fully explore the building and meet my team.

Our dining experience is unique, and I am so pleased that you had a wonderful evening with fellow guests.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon,

With best wishes,

Martin


Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great hotel.clean,warm,super friendly staff.the decor is outstanding throughout.we had a nice view of Menai strait from the room.
The chateau dining experience was outstanding and the idea of 12 complete strangers sharing one table really works for a great night.
Well done to Daniel for making it all work

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Steve P,

Thank you for writing such a superb review of your stay at the Chateau.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the dining experience, and will be pleased to congratulate the team on your behalf.

Look forward to welcoming you back to soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for just one night with friends. We would have loved to have stayed longer, but the hotel was unfortunately fully booked the next night for a wedding. We booked through a Travelzoo deal and paid 139 per couple for DBB. This is an excellent deal, which I doubt will be offered again. The hotel already has 40 weddings booked for 2014, so expect prices to rise ongoing.

We stayed in the William room (presumably named after Kate and William's time in Anglesey). It is on the lower floor of the hotel and I suspect was servants quarters originally. The higher rooms and corridors seemed much grander, no doubt with grander prices.

Arrival 5/5 - the hotel is easy to find on the road from Menai to Beaumaris and is well signed. The car park is quite small, but we were told that there is another overspill car park. The entrance to the chateau is very grand. There is no doubt from the minute you enter here, that the original owners spared no expense on the building. Check in was friendly and efficient. They kindly showed us to our room.

Room 4/5 - The William room is at the end of the lower floor corridor. The room is of a reasonable size and with all you need for a comfortable stay. Complimentary water, tea/coffee facilities, though no minibar. A very comfy bed with high quality linen. Lovely views of the Straits from both the front and side windows. The wardrobe is a rather unusual "trunk" style, which suites the room well, but could be too small if you were staying more than a few nights.

Bathroom 5/5 - wow and wow again. The bathroom is in a turret and is huge. It has 2 shower heads at the side and a drenching head in the centre. You could shower 6 at once in here, with room to spare. Great use of the space. High quality Asprey toiletries.

Dinner 5/5 - we knew that it would be the communal "dining experience". We really enjoyed the pre-dinner canapés and pink fizz, while getting to know some of the other guests. Dinner around the main dining table was a very sociable experience. We enjoyed all of the 5 courses, though a few guests found the lamb a little too rare for their liking and asked for it to be cooked more. This was done courteously and efficiently. Throughout dinner, the wine and conversation flowed like a dinner party with friends. The wine list is quite small, but very well chosen and mostly very reasonable priced. All was faultless. We had coffee and port in the Music room.

Breakfast 5/5 - all the normal cereals, juices etc and the full English was excellent, supplemented by superb views over the Straights.

Staff 5/5 - quietly efficient and helpful at all times.

Other 5/5 - lovely terraced grounds down to the straits, with Snowdonia opposite. There is a small gym, a hot tub and sauna, tennis court - lots to keep you busy.

Overall 5/5 - we really enjoyed our night here and would have loved to have stayed longer. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book it asap, before it becomes too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear NeilandBarbara,

Thank you for staying at the Chateau and for taking the time to write your excellent review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially witht the Chateau dining experience. It was lovely to see you all enjoying the evening and your kind comments are very much appreciated.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I attended a
" murder mystery " evening at this amazing venue.
Well done to all the staff for their hard work during the evening.
Nothing was too much trouble for them. We were greeted by Victoria who instantly made us feel at ease poured us a glass of prosecco. And showed us to the best seats in the house:-). Very professional.
The night continued as it had began, we were treated like VIP 's
A special mention to Daniel.. what a star.!! Really knows his stuff.
Cannot thank them enough for making the night a night to remember, also Martin (GM) who overlooked the evening and made sure everything was perfect for all the guests.
Thanks Victoria for "helping " me to the entrance at the end of the evening.!!!. ( too much prosecco )

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Susan J,

Thank you for joing us for our Murder Mystery evening at the Chateau. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the event, and shall certainly congratulate Daniel & Victoria on your behalf.

We will be hosting other themed events next year, so I hope to welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed overnight in midweek in October.
The Chateau has a wonderful ambiance, good facilities and friendly staff, and a very enjoyable menu.
We took the Coach House (for 2 couples + child) and enjoyed walks around the garden, the views over the Menai Straits, a few games of pool and a very peaceful night's rest.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you need 3 bedrooms, try the Coach House - it has a sitting room, dining room, kitchen and 3 bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Crossleyan,

Thank you for writing your excellent review of the Chateau.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay so much in October, and I do hope that we can welcome you back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
13.5 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,748 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
488 reviews
8.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range: £116 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing