We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
rhuddlan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

A fantastic birthday at Chateau Rhianfa. Beautiful room, great staff and good company. The dining experience was lovely and we got chatting to several couples, one of which had had a car accident on the way! Had a great time exploring the hotel and its many nooks and crannies. A wonderful experience, will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RhuddlanCeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear RhuddlanCeri,

Glad you enjoyed your birthday surprise, and thank you for writing such a superb review of your stay at the Chateau.

Staying and dining as part of the 'Chateau Dining Experience' is a great opportunity to meet other guests and make life long friends. I hope that you can stay in touch, and that we can welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    203
    104
    37
    18
See reviews for
114
593
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

After a long journey, and a car crash, it was a relief to get into the hotel.

We came an hour early due to not being able to drive anywhere else, and they were lovely about it, offered us tea and coffee, and then 10 minutes after arriving they made sure the room was ready for us.

It was my girlfriends birthday so I wanted to make it special. The head receptionist Rosie, was fabulous she helped arrange a private 5 course meal, champagne and lovely roses in the room.

Craig, our waiter for the meal was incredible, in fact all the staff were!! We met some lovely people, both staff and employees, and the hotel was flawless!

Highly recommended!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Domnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Domnolan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your experience at the Chateau.

Its a pleasure to read that Rosie helped you to arrange your romantic surprise, and that the team looked after you so well. I will gladly thank both Craig & Rosie for helping to make your stay so special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My husband Booked Plas Rhianfa through Secret Escapes last October for my birthday on Feb 8th. We had the dining experience which was a very pleasant surprise. Our standard room was a real treat, A Huge circular en suite shower off our beautifully decorated turret bedroom. Lots of rooms to explore and enjoy, beautiful gardens and views. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We met a few couples round the large dining table and enjoyed getting to know them in the music room after dinner, over a drink or two! All in all a great weekend. We will definitely be back :-)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Barry M,

Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review, it is a pleasure reading how much you enjoyed celebrating your birthday at the Chateau.

It certainly sounds like you had a lovely time, and especially enjoyed the "Chateau Dining experience" in the evening and hopefully met friends who you can stay in touch with after your stay.

Hope to welcome you both back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My parents stayed here for a night which was not long enough, they had a fantastic time. The staff were amazing, particularly William . All the staff are enthusiastic and cannot do enough for you. The dining experience was exquisite and they cannot wait to return. They met a lovely couple called Mavis and mike and forgot to exchange contact details, so if you're as this please get in contact.
Thank you for a lively stay . X

Room Tip: Five star plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hails32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Hails32,

We are so pleased that your parents had a lovely stay, and thank you for writing the superb review on their behalf.

I hope that we can welcome them back again, and that the couple they met stay in touch.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were a party of 4 on the Travelzoo deal, for 2 nights, which was fantastic value for money. We were offered the Gate Lodge ( 2 en suite bedrooms, cosy lounge and kitchen overlooking the Menai Straits and Snowdonia) and the quality was superb. The Chateau dining experience was great and the breakfasts very good with full breakfast included in the deal (usually £9 extra which is a bit on the high side and could niggle customers). The 2nd night didn't include dinner and we wanted to try a local restaurant and the staff recommended a great place in Menai Bridge - a good plus 1 ! We used the gym, sauna and jacuzzi and all in all had a wonderful time. Finally, and importantly, the staff were brilliant especially Lucy who was very helpful with any query. We also had a very good chat with the General Manager (French we think ) which was a nice touch. Fantastic for a wedding !

Room Tip: If there's a party of 4 or 6 try the Gate Lodge or Coach House
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick047Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Nick047Cheshire,

We are delighted to read your lovely review of your stay at the Chateau, and especially pleased to see that you found the Gate Lodge to be comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
212 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed there with another couple using a travelzoo voucher which made this the bargain of the decade!
The hotel itself is wonderful, excellent attention to detail, the public rooms and the bedrooms are absolutely superb. The view from the comfy log fired drawing room is wonderful. It was a rainy January day when we arrived but the hotel exuded warmth and luxury.
I expected the Chateau Dining Experience to be around a shared table (I am sure I read that somewhere) but we were on separate tables in a large dining room which was ever so slightly chilly. In fact the wine (red) was the coldest thing there so we sent it back to be warmed, which it was. The dinner was OK, the starter and fish course were excellent but the main course was a bit bland. It was lovely to return to the drawing room for coffee and petit fours.
Breakfast was good, with a wide range of cereals etc and also a cooked option.
The best thing about the hotel, apart from the building itself, is the staff. They really are exceptional.
On checking out we were presented with a £9 (for each couple) service charge. Now I like to tip for good service but I like to choose how much and to whom. We probably would have tipped more than this and it did leave an ever so slightly sour taste. I wished they hadn’t done that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Candirisk,

Thank you for writing your review of your stay at the Chateau, and for kindly highlighting the exceptional service you received from the team. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many aspects.

I am sorry that the dining room was a little chilly, which I know must have been a contrast from the lovely log fire in the drawing room. I also appreciate your thoughts on the service charge and understand that you had kindly planned to show your appreciation for the service received from the team in a different way.

I do hope that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel is an imposing building with an interesting history and views over the Menai Straits, the interior is spacious, tastefully decorated and has been thoughtfully restored to its original style. Our room was pleasant and the bed comfortable, the staff were helpful and friendly with one exception which is mostly positive. However the tasting dinner menu lacked any choice, the main course was bland ie cubes of tasteless chicken with boiled potatoes, followed by a tepid cup of warm chocolate sauce described as a pre-desert course, the main desert of chocolate fondant was fine but two lots of chocolate together? Unfortunately the cooked breakfast was a little disappointing too, overcooked bacon for which the hotel charges a supplement (£9) which was subsequently discounted from our final bill at check out after it was mentioned. The overall experience was positive in spite of the atrocious weather...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Ken J,

Thank you for staying at the Chateau and for taking the time to write your review of your stay.

I am glad that on the whole you enjoyed your stay despite the wet and windy weather!

I shall of course discuss your points raised with my team, and I am sorry that you didn't enjoy all aspects of your meal.

Hope to welcome you back again soon,

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
22.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
14.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Property: Chateau Rhianfa
Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room, and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing