We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but have some reservations...”
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good stay but have some reservations...”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I booked for two nights in room 8 the Duchess Suite. Whilst the hotel location and our room view was amazing sadly quite a lot let it down. On the positives...besides the view and location was the staff who always appeared to have time to chat and help in any way. Rhianfa itself has been renovated to a good standard but after being used to 5 star hotels Rhianfa lacked tremendously in lots of ways. For example on arrival we were offered coffee/tea in one of the lovely lounges but disappointingly the glass top table had many crumbs left from previous guests and water rings from wine/water glasses. Any chrome/stainless steel in the bar/reception rooms needed shining and the cream carpet from reception up the stairs and along the many landings was beyond stained. I had to call reception to clean our bathroom floor as there were hair clips laying on the tiled floor presumably left from previous guests which indicated the floor had not been cleaned prior to our check in. The room amenities were very limited certainly compared to luxury hotel standards. The food was good but limited choice. The main breakfast hall had the dirtiest floor I have seen in any hotel for many yrs. The dining room had a pipe low down on the wall running around the floor area and whilst that was very discreet the crumbs/paper/etc that was beneath had not been swept up for a long long time and was quite off putting. Overall we were glad we had only booked for two nights and would only return if changes to cleanliness/hygiene were greatly improved. We paid top price for our stay and really expected more.

Room Tip: A Menai Strait view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Robyn608,

Thank you for writing your recent review of your stay at the Chateau.

I would like to apologise for the shortcomings experienced, and I will certainly take the time to discuss the points raised with my head housekeeper. Thank you for taking the time to bring them to my attention via Tripadvisor.


On a more positive note, I am glad that the team were able to look after you during your stay and I we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in due course.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    217
    106
    39
    18
See reviews for
120
641
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Recently spent 2 nights at the chateau on a Travelzoo deal which included breakfast and evening meal on the first night.
Chateau Rhianfa is part of the amazing group. Location is stunning. The garden which is well maintained is set in tiers down to the Menai and full of beautiful magnolia. The character and decor of the hotel and its many public rooms are amazing. We were fortunate to be given a turret suite with beautiful views across the Menai and to Snowdonia. The rooms are large, spacious,clean and have that little extra luxury feel. Other guests were less fortunate and were told a supplement of up to £100 is required for a upgrade to a room with a view.
The staff were all very friendly and attentive to our needs.
As the hotel advertises it is part of the Amazing group and I cannot argue with that statement regarding the building and location.
It is a beautiful hotel just like a Fairy castle however it does have some negatives.
Two single beds had been put together. The mattresses are far to soft and my husband hardly slept as he felt he was in a trough and had severe backache.
The food is dissapointing and does not compliment or compare to the luxury of the hotel.
Breakfast was basic. The same each morning with limited meat and cheese selection for continental breakfast. Cooked breakfast was of a good quality but without variety. Eggs benedict or scrambled egg and smoked salmon may be choices to add to the menu of a hotel of this calibre, or some typical welsh dishes.
Our voucher entitled us to a 3 course meal on the first night but were given a taster menu. My understanding of a taster menu, which I have had quite a few is ment to showcase the ingredients, culinary skills, and artistick impression of the dishes presented. Very dissapointing forget the canapes and petit fors which are not worth having. Portion sizes very very small and definitely would of been very upset to pay the full price per person for food that I could of prepared at home. Ate out the second night.
Car parking at the hotel entrance is limited. There is extra parking further along the road quite some distance away from the entance and down a steep drive which is very poorly maintained.
Having the voucher was value for money but not sure if I would stay again and pay the full price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Menai and Snowdonia are the best but come with a hefty supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Ursula51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear 19Ursula51,

Thank you for writing you review of your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.

Its a shame that your husband felt that the bed was uncomfortable as we normally receive nice compliments about their comfort. Out of the whole Chateau, we only have two rooms that allow us the flexibility to be made as either a twin or a double.

I also noted your comments about the food, and I shall of course bring this to the attention of Andrew, my head chef.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A beautiful venue for any special occasion. We visited Chateau Rhianfa for Lunch on Sunday 27 April, whilst visiting family in Anglesey.

The 3-course Sunday lunch menu was somewhat limited, but our choices were delicious. We selected different starters of smoked salmon with horseradish cream and pate; we all had the roast beef was wonderful. Desserts were very good, crème brulee and mango cheesecake. The only complaint we had was wanting more dessert! At £25 per head for the food, the meal was very good value. All this with amazing views across the Menai Straights.

We did not stay in the hotel, so are unable to comment about any other facilities the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Brigid D,

Thank you for joining us for Sunday lunch at the Chateau, I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and had the opportunity to view the beautiful setting of the Menai Straits & the mountains.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for a friend's wedding and we enjoyed every minute of it. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and accomodating and the rooms were beautifully decorated and stylish. The views were spectacular and our wedding weekend was absolutely perfect. Only minor drawback was that the hotel had run out of baby cots so we had to buy our own.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Broones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear The_Broones,

Thank you for writing your review of your stay at the Chateau. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed attending your friends wedding, and I very much appreciate your kind comments about the level of hospitality you received from my team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon the next time you visit Anglesey.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here on Thursday night and had a wonderful time. Our room was the Menai Suite with a quirky round bed and views both ways of the straits. It was very peaceful. The ensuite was very large with a walk in shower. Everything was spotlessly clean with lots of attention to detail. The staff were very friendly and helped with whatever you needed. After a walk around, we decided to take advantage of the hot tub. We had views of the Menai Straits as we opened the doors whilst in the hot tub to enjoy them. We had booked this break through Travelzoo.co.uk and it included the Chateau Rhianfa Dining Experience. This was a set 5 course dinner with other guests. We met in the entrance hall at 7pm and sat in the drawing room enjoying pre dinner canapés and Prosecco and mingled with the other guests. At 7.30pm we were shown to our table for our dinner which we enjoyed very much. After dinner we returned to the drawing room for coffee/tea and welsh cakes and relaxed. We had an excellent night's sleep (the bed was so comfortable) and even managed a long over due lie in! Breakfast was continental, but the offer we had booked included a full welsh breakfast. This was taken overlooking the Menai Straits again and after breakfast we were very chilled and relaxed. It was a pity we hadn't booked two nights as we enjoyed being very de-stressed and it was a shame to leave. We would have no hesitation in recommending Chateau Rhianfa and hope to return again. If you manage to purchase an outstanding deal from Travelzoo everything is included (apart from drinks and a service charge) and you won't be disappointed! Stunning location, quiet, peaceful, a rare gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Menai Strait's view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Michelle S,

Thank you for writing your review of your stay at the Chateau.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and found the Menai suite to be relaxing and comfortable.

Hope to welcome you back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at The Plas Rhianfa in September 2013, The hotel is enchanting and the views are stunning, stayed with my mum and sister, we had a suite which consisted of a double room with an adjoining small sitting room which doubled as an extra bedroom, the room and bathroom were to a very high standard and the beds were soooo comfy. Unfortunately the down side was, that you had to pay extra for a cooked breakfast £9 I think, the alternative was cold meats, cheese, fruit or cereal not really what you want on a cold morning. Drinks in the bar were quite expensive also. We didn't eat there in the evening so cant comment. Probably wouldn't stay there again. Cost £400 for two nights ....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Maxine L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review from when you stayed in September last year.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and found the room, and particularly the bed to be very comfortable.

As you know, we currently include a complimentary continental breakfast when you stay at the Chateau and this has proven to be popular. However, we do realise that a full Welsh breakfast can be a treat and also provide this upon request. This allows our guests the flexibility at breakfast time and is more in keeping with the feel of staying in a Chateau.

Our bar prices are generally in line with similar properties to ourselves, and tend to reflect the service level offered and of course helping to cover the costs associated to maintaining the chateau and our extensive gardens.

It would be a pleasure to personally welcome you back again, an show you the changes & developments from your last stay 7 months ago.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a really enjoyable time in the chateau. The views from the hotel are wonderful and certainly make you feel as though you are in a special environment. Inside the hotel has wonderfully furnished nooks and crannies and the accommodation is very good, although a wider range of television channels would be good and a wardrobe in room 5 an improvement .

We had a really good taster menu, breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and professional. We are looking forward to returning and will certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spurs150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Spurs150,

I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and had a relaxing time.

Thank you for mentioning the points, I certainly look to see if we can improve in those areas. In the meantime I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
20.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Property: Chateau Rhianfa
Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room, and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing