We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individual Chateau & Excellent Cuisine”
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Individual Chateau & Excellent Cuisine”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is both a very individual construction and setting. The steep site faces across the Menai straights towards Snowdonia with wonderful views of the mountains. The gardens are terraced with many seats to allow you to enjoy the view. The building is worth spending an hour or so exploring. Don't be taken in by any comments about carpets & cleanliness. We found everything to a high standard & perhaps the choice of carpet colours was not perfect.

We stayed in a Travelzoo 2 day package. Our room was upgraded to the Gate Lodge that had a self catering unit in its own building. The views from one bedroom was fantastic in morning and evening. The mountains of Snowdon change in colour as the day progresses and the weather varies. Really good shower rooms & space to relax with no neighbours.

The banquet meal was very good. The fish & meat portions were generous but would benefit with more veg - may be my personal taste! Wine is expensive but service good.

All in a really memorable stay. The gardens at Plas Cadnant are well worth visiting & are nearby but limited opening hours.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have a room facing the sea, it makes a world of difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinKarenCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear ColinKarenCheshire,

Thank you for your recent review of the Chateau. I am delighted t hat you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    217
    106
    39
    18
See reviews for
120
641
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have only just left this beautiful Chateau after spending two glorious nights there. To reiterate previous reviews, the position and views are absolutely stunning. My husband booked through Secret Escapes but spoke directly to the receptionist. We were looking to stay for two nights and at that time they only had a very small room available for the dates we wanted. She suggested we opt for The Stables which does not form part of the main Chateau but offers an open plan living dining area, kitchen, shower room and double bedroom. We were unable to see this particular room on the website but took her recommendation. When arrived much earlier than the 3 pm check in and were more than happy to wait for our room, we were shown to one of the lounges which had spectacular views and were offered tea and coffee. When we were shown the accommodation we were devastated! Whilst the chateau was full of charm and elegant grandeur, The Stables was bland, smelt damp and lacked any form of character! I could have cried! My husband chatted to Rosie, one of the lovely receptionists who found the most beautiful room for us. As mentioned in previous reviews our shower was in a turret - I should say showers as there were 3! I am not sure why but it looked spectacular and the showers were certainly efficient! Again we had magnificent views. Like one of the previous reviews, we too are fortunate enough to stay quite regularly in 5 star hotels but unlike that previous review, we love to see the individuality and eccentricities of places, and people. We can look past minor issues and concentrate on the overall experience. The overall experience? Wonderful. Every member of staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The 'dining experience' was just that. The experience was not just in the food, which we thoroughly enjoyed, but the meeting with everyone for canapés and wine, before being escorted down into the grand dining room. We are used to the type of menu on offer which we prefer, but if you are looking for huge, overfilling, heavy food, this is not for you. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and would hope to return.

Room Tip: Stay in the main chateaux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear FrancesP,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your stay at the Chateau, and for especially mentioning the friendliness of the team and the dining experience.

I am glad that Rosie was able to assist you with your room and I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, Wirral, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here as part of the Travelzoo deal and I can only mirror the positive comments that other reviewers have made.

The setting is truly breathtaking with stunning views across the Menai Strait from the main part of the hotel.

The hotel itself has been beautifully restored with original features and you get the feeling that you are staying in a very exclusive private club. The bedroom that we had (William) was smallish but had views and had a wetroom with 3 separate shower heads built into the corner turret.

The evening meal consisted of 5 courses and was simply stunning. Breakfast was also brilliant (cooked to order) and we got to chat to Head Chef Andrew Sheridan who is a genius having learnt his trade working for Michael Caines as a Sous Chef.

All the staff went out of their way to make our stay fabulous but I must say a special thank you to Lois who was a star.

If you are looking for that special place for a memorable short break that you will always remember then look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralWanderer1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Wirralwanderer1053,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Chateau.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, especially the dining experience.

I shall ensure that Andrew and Lois are congratulated on your behalf, and hope to welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TELFORD SHROPSHIRE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week as part of the Travelzoo offer and although we enjoyed our stay ,there were some disappointing aspects .The place itself is stunning and the public rooms are lovely. It is nice that you can wander around and the staff are all very helpful [we were surprised by the lady who checked us out however -she was very cool and didn't even ask us if we had enjoyed our stay! )I agree with the comments about the carpet but it's just a poor colour choice and probably not really that dirty . Our room (Telford Room) was very nice but the outlook wasn't very pleasant and when my partner had a shower the bathroom flooded and it put me off having one ..We had 2 single beds pushed together which wasn't very comfortable .I would rather have been told it was 2 singles and slept separately than having a ridge down the middle.The dining experience was very pleasant -nice food and good company .Good service from a very pleasant Frenchman.The breakfast the next morning however was very substandard. The fruit salad was dull,the scrambled eggs inedible and the most surprising thing of all -INSTANT coffee -definitely not 5 or even 4 star.I would love to go back and stay in a different room if these details were rectified.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Samemma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Samemmal,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay, It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the meal in the evening and I shall ensure that I congratulate Daniel on your behalf.

In terms of the other key points, I have requested that maintenance look at the draining of the shower and that the Breakfast team receive the necessary remedial training to ensure the consistency of our breakfast. With this in mind, I must apologise but please be assured that on this occasion it fell short of the normal high standard.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in beautiful weather. The views and the serenity of the grounds are breath taking. The Chateau is unique and well worth a visit. The public rooms are impressive with lovely views and fine furniture. The staff are warm and friendly
It should be a 5 star experience and yet somehow it is not. The place is understaffed and the marketing is over hyped e.g., the "7 course dinner" (telegraph Travel) consists of a small glass of wine, a canapé and a small cup of soup as three of the courses and the rest of the meal is not substantial either. The stair carpets are dirty and the fruit on offer at breakfast is sub standard.This hotel could be great and one day it will be but right now it has a way to go.
.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor rooms .They are small with attic windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liam307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Liam307,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Chateau.

I am glad that you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings and the Chateau. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments about the friendliness of the team.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy all the aspects of your stay and that the 5 course dining experience left you feeling disappointed. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your points in detail.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The was a very impressive stay and one we really enjoyed. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful. The room was small but bed very comfortable and luxuriously decorated. The wet room was amazing and welcomed after a very long walk.

The lounges were comfortable and views amazing. We walked around the grounds and enjoyed the peace and tranquility this environment offered.

The 5 course meal was just perfection and excellent value for money.

This us not the type of place we stay in on a day to day basis so we loved what the chateau offered.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: You may have to pay a higher price for a better room. We were not bothered as we have a view you onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdouglas1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sdouglas1906,

Thank you for writing your lovely review of your stay at the Chateau, and for your kind comments regarding the team and the dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had an absolutely lovely evening here, an unusual group dinning experience for a night away after our wedding. the grounds were lovely and we had a beautiful vie over the menai strait. hopefully get a chance to go back again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilandSteph2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear NeilandSteph2013,

Thank you for writing such a nice review of your stay at the Chateau, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
20.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Property: Chateau Rhianfa
Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room, and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing