We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Venue Indeed”
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We got married at Chateau Plas Rhianfa on 28th June 2014 - a truly special and unique venue, where we get goosebumps every time we visit.

It's beauty would be lost, though, if the staff didn't uphold the sky-high standard. We can truly, hand-on-heart say that every single staff member provided exceptional service throughout our weekend from Friday to Sunday. In fact we were made to feel like the family of the Chateau rather than customers, which is a truly unique experience.

Most wedding venues struggle to uphold the same high standard during large group events, but the Chateau was outstanding on all counts. All of our guests have nothing but the highest praise for the staff, the venue and the fantastic catering, down to the very little details, all the wedding planning assistance and going the extra mile with our last-minute requests. Nothing was too much trouble.

I hope the Chateau receives Michelin Star status as per their 2014 nomination - it would be fully deserved.

We will be back for our anniversary, unless we can find an excuse to visit before then!

Jo & Ray
Married 28th June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Wireless_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Wireless_jo,

Delighted that you and your guests had a wonderful wedding at the Chateau.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We arrived on 7th July 2014 as part of a dining experience from Secret Escapes. There was no-one in reception and we had to wait five minutes before anyone came.
The room was not ready for another hour, so we were asked to explore the hotel and grounds at our leisure, or maybe visit the bar.
This place seems to have more rooms to sit in, including many little niches and nooks and crannies than anywhere else I have stayed. There is little flow between rooms, and we met up with other couples who were as confused as we were on where to go. We found a bar, but a senior person could not find a barman for a few minutes, so we just sat around. £10 for a pint and a spritzer is quite steep as well.
After the drink, we explored further, going up and down stairs and along alleys. We found further bars and rooms, all with no-one in, including staff. In the end, my wife could go no further as her hip started playing up.
The staff all looked a little nonplussed as indeed we were, as to how to get around. The hotel is basically done upside down, with the main rooms on the top floor (to make most use of the views) and the bedrooms below, with the leisure facilities a further floor below. .
We were shown our room and we were a little disheartened that our room faced the rear cliffs and 2 metal garden sheds for storage. We spoke to other guests and it seems their rooms were a lot better view-wise. Oh, well, luck of the draw.
We all met in the first room for the "Dining experience". This was started with canapés and Prosecco - that's 2 courses of the 7 done!
We were all shown to the main dining hall which is very splendid. Then followed other courses in the nouveaux cuisine style. Some worked, some didn't ( note to chef - the cucumber foam on the Gin and Tonic jelly just didn't gel together. The jelly was great, but the foam ...... - this was from at least 3 couples we spoke to after).
There was quite a lull between courses, so after starting at 7pm we actually left the dining room at nearly 9.30pm, so we were glad to get to bed after a long day and all those STEPS!
The room was very large and the bed was comfortable, but it seemed that staff were working until nearly midnight outside our room.
We also spoke to other guests who had stayed for previous nights. Apparently the "Dining experience" is the only food available in the evening, and there is no a-la-carte menu.
Breakfast was a normal one, however the cooked breakfast could have done with some fried bread and hash browns, but this is a small niggle. Don't say that this was a Welsh breakfast, as I have had Welsh breakfasts elsewhere with white pudding and fried bread.
I think the overall opinion of myself and my fellow guests was that Plas Rhianfa has still not found it's true identity, and some rooms would be better suited to being a bar than drawing rooms, etc. The views over the Menai straits are lovely with the setting sun, and the hotel is not too far from Beaumaris (in the car anyway).
Unfortunately, both my wife and I were so looking forward to a break away from a very hectic home life, and we found ourselves confused and tired at the end of the day. Perhaps this experience is not for us. We like to stay in up-market establishments when possible, but Plas Rhianfa wasn't for us. The best staff were the ones at breakfast.

Room Tip: From what we hear, the rooms labelled "William" and "Kate" are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frostyrhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Frostrhyl,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and at the same time I would like to apologise for the areas that you found of disappointment.

We always use our customers comments to continuously improve the Chateau, and I thank you once more for your detailed review.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

At £240 a night b&b and after reading the hotel literature we expected something a little bit extra. Whilst the facilities looked impressive the hotel lacked soul and atmosphere. However our biggest gripe was our room, it had no view other than a flat roof and it was small. To get into the toilet we had to grapple with a folding door which almost touched the bed. Do not accept room 12. The only positive were the breakfast staff who were excellent.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view of the Menai Strait
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Peter H,

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay, and have noted your comments in reference to the bedroom. Each room is individually designed at the Chateau and they vary in size and of course view.

On a lighter note, thank you for kindly mentioning the friendliness of the breakfast team. I shall ensure that I congratulate them on your behalf for their hospitality.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is a lengthy review as I have many things to comment on!
First the positives
1. Stunning location with fabulous views of the straits and we were blessed with gorgeous weather.
2. Our room was called the stables and it was truly fabulous. A self contained apartment overlooking the straits and the tennis court.
3. Dinner on the second night was wonderful and the dining room has stunning views.
4. Cheerful and pleasant staff.
If the following could be addressed this hotel would be 5 stars:
1. Disorganised staff with orders being forgotten. Our wine was forgotten on the first night and a number of oversights make it somewhat frustrating.
2. Although the chateau is described as a hotel the management describe it as a 'venue' and it seems to lack clarity for guests e.g afternoon tea served three times a week. A 5 star hotel would provide food throughout each day and I'm sure they would make a profit.
3. The staff although lovely, lack the knowledge you would expect in this type of establishment.
4. The wine cellar is not celebrated and on both evenings none of the staff had any knowledge of the wines. A sommelier would be a bonus and generate income.
I would love to return when these points have been addressed and I hope the chateau succeeds. It is a unique place and with a few tweaks could be utterly fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareBSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear ClareBSheffield,

Thank you for writing your review of your recent stay at the Chateau. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay including the stable flat, the dining experience and the hospitality shown by the team.


We will continue to focus on the training of the team, and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our room was fine but unfortunately did not have a wardrobe and although there were many drawers all to small for folded shirts etc. The setting of the hotel and the views over the Menai Strait were quite stunning.
We had booked the dining experience but describing it as seven courses stretches the imagination somewhat.The canapés were just cheese and beetroot on one spoon and a tiny piece of braised beef on another spoon.
The soup although delicious was served in an "espresso coffee" cup, far to small, other courses such as the Pre Desert also tiny and difficult to enjoy.
We were very surprised to receive with our one cup of coffee (no refills) a small piece of blue cheese followed by a small piece of Welsh cake and having way to place them had to balance them on the coffee cup saucer, this was hardly what we had expected as petit fours.
All in all a very disappointing meal. We did write to the manager who thanked us for our feedback, but that was it.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and always had time for a chat and this made our stay that more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wendysam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear WendySam26,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay on Tripadvisor.

May I apologise that you found the room had insufficient storage area for clothes during your stay.

It is also very kind of you to acknowledge my return email in reference to the dining experience, and I hope that I responded to all of the points that you raised. Could I also thank you for mentioning the friendliness of the team and the hospitality received during your stay.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel built in the form of a chateau. Was previously a private house. Warren of passageways and alcoves to sit quietly and enjoy a good book. Excellent food and a good wine cellar. Some beautiful local countryside. They were good at helping in booking local events and even came out to cater for us at an external event.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jerrez,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay, we often enjoy the opportunity to look after business / corporate companies and glad that we did not disappoint.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel for the following reasons:

1. It has magnificent views, lovely gardens and plenty of peaceful areas to relax. It is also well located for discovering Anglesey.
2. It is comfortable and well furnished with lots of areas to either socialise or hide away. Admittedly it is a bit of a rabbit warren with lots of stairs but this just adds to its charms. Our room was an average size but very comfortable. It had the most amazing ensuite which was circular in shape as it was in one of the turrets.
3. It is well managed and well run. The staff without exception were friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble.
4. The dining experience was lovely. We gathered for sparkling wine and canapés before going in to dinner. It was a tasting menu which didn't disappoint. Good food served in a beautiful dining room with stunning views. Coffee was served afterrwards in yet another room with stunning views.
The Welsh breakfast didn't disappoint either.

Our only criticism relates to the afternoon tea. It was lovely but would have been better if the sandwiches had been smaller. They were quite thick and hefty. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which had a side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane268_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jane268_13,

Thank you for your lovely review of your overnight stay at the Chateau. it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the experience

Best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
760 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,689 reviews
6.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
757 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range: £98 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing