We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We went here on travel zoo voucher for afternoon tea for half price 25.00. It was very nice for that price but I dont think the full price would have been worth it. The food and service was excellent but it was nt what I expected. On the advert it showed a cake stand with a selection of sand and cakes which I thought would be on each table per booking but it was more buffet style with a server to assist. Other people on the day thought the same. All in all it was a lovely afternoon in a historic place. Worth a visit for the right price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Mandy B,

It's nice to read that you enjoyed visiting the Chateau and the afternoon tea.

I take your comment on board about the display of the afternoon tea, but we also received many compliments for its presentation and how unique it looked.

That said, we do have afternoon tea stands for the more traditional approach and have reintroduced these as a standard.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    226
    106
    39
    18
See reviews for
134
659
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a two night break at the Chateau Rhianfa after seeing such good reviews on Trip Advisor. Without a doubt the hotel has a real wow factor as soon as you walk through the door but from there it goes downhill. Having said that our room which was a delux was very nice although had no views. Being a bit of a foodie I was very much looking forward to the "dining experience" thinking it would be something very different and not what you would cook at home. Sadly no, although very pretentious. On our first night we basically had a bacon chop as the main course, yes it had been tarted up but bacon is bacon. On the second night the main course was belly pork, not what I would call fine dining. By trying to make the experience last all night there was an inordinate wait between courses, not acceptable. The one saving grace during our stay was the staff, although very young they were both friendly and helpful. In my opinion this hotel is certainly not deserving of its 5 star status based on the 4 star establishments I stay in on a regular basis.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Pamela G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Chateau.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the main courses offered during the dining experience, but pleased that you found the service and hospitality of the team to be of a high standard.

We do change our menus, so perhaps we may be able to welcome you back to Anglesey again.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibbing, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel looked just like a castle, and felt the same. It is situated along the Menai Straits, and has lovely gardens, as well as water access (use caution if walking on the seaweed, it is very slippery). Because the hotel is so lovely, it is a terrific wedding venue. Unfortunately this also means that if you were planning to eat in their dining room, it might already be booked.

The breakfast options were wonderful, and the staff was super helpful. My mom and I had to leave early the last morning, so we mentioned this to the reception staff, and they arranged it so that we could have an early breakfast. We had a side-turret room, looking out over the gardens.

The hotel has a billiards room, a library, several sitting rooms, breakfast room, dining room, and so much more that we didn't have a chance to explore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrieM935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear KerrieM935,

Glad you had an enjoyable experience at the Chateau, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhuddlan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

After staying here on my birthday in February we decided to book again in the Summer as we had enjoyed it so much. We loved the turret room we had last time but this time we had a room with a view, albeit a smaller room. When we came in Feb we had the dining experience where we were sat around a large table and got to know our fellow diners, which we enjoyed very much. This time, as there was a wedding on in the downstairs banquet room we were seated on individual tables. I thought this was a shame as you didn't get to speak to any fellow diners, merely polite nods and smiles. Obviously some people prefer this anyway. We were however surprised to see a couple who had stayed the same night as us in Feb had completely coincidentally booked the same night as us again. Happy times catching up and drinking in the Music room till the wee hours! We love this place and will definitely be back again soon :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RhuddlanCeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear RhuddlanCeri,

Its always a pleasure to welcome you back to the Chateau, and thrilled that you had a lovely surprise of seeing other previous guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Chateau Rhianfa is located in a stunning spot on the Menai. It is a feature filled establishment and would appear to be a must for weddings. We had a thoroughly good experience and recommend it for that romantic getaway.

We were on a DB&B deal and stayed in the Beaumaris room. The room was splendid with a king sized four poster bed, large flat screen TV but the spectacular feature of the room was the walk in drench shower.

The hotel is large and sprawling and covers four levels. There is an old style lift. The charm of this place is the architectural style of a French chateau situated on Anglesea. Whilst the decor is old and tired and the carpet in need of a refresh this is not really a distraction because of the uniqueness of the place.

The grounds and private beach are also a feature.

Dinner and breakfast did not disappoint. This is fine dining and don't expect to get through the seven / eight courses of dinner in under two hours which starts with champers and canapés. Breakfast was at your own pace and the cooked breakfast very good.

On the down side, the car park is small.

I left the best bit for last, the staff at Chateau Rhianfa were excellent. They were the factor which took my rating from very good to excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TubbyChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Tubbychang,

Delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I agree with most of the comments. This hotel is in an excellent location, and is suitable for couples, without children, who are mobile. I bought a one night stay for my parents diamond wedding anniversary in July and they thoroughly enjoyed the surprise treat, especially the fine dinning experience. However, I had been promised an upgraded room to suit the occasion. On arrival this did not happen and there was no other explanation other than re-allocation. The management have not responded to my email. Beware that car parking can be an issue at busy periods. In summary try to make sure that you get what is promised and you should get value for money and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: make sure you understand what type of room and its location and outlook before confirming your booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Soo_13,

Thank you for writing your review of your stay at the Chateau.

I am so glad that your parents thoroughly enjoyed their stay as part of their diamond wedding celebrations.

I noted your comments about an email ref an upgrade room. If this was promised and not delivered then I apologise as we try to honour all special requests. I would be grateful if you could resend your email, and I shall personally review and respond back to you.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Second visit to this beautiful hotel. Totally unique experience with amazing views of the Menai . Staff are all so very lovely and accommodating. Just one comment in relation to the evening dining experience....not suitable for young children due to a fine dining menu at a set time. Other than this would absolutely recommend

Room Tip: They all seem excellent and beautifully furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Joanne J,

We really enjoyed welcoming the family back again, and pleased that you had a great stay at the Chateau again.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
319 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
717 reviews
20.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
630 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Property: Chateau Rhianfa
Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing