We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude service”

Sopna Indian Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very rude service”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Uncooked Indian bread, good lamb bhuna. Chef decides how much you eat! got responses like 'don't you know how to order?' You must order all you need at the beginning of the meal. Very rude.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dannyboyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    21
    13
    2
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best indian restaurant in North Wales”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Like Heddwyn J we used to eat at the other restaurant run by Sid but now he has moved we go to this one although further to drive. But the food and service are more than worth it.

The food is always produced to your individual taste even dishes that are not on the menu and we have never had a poor meal there

We eat there sveral times a month

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwygyfylchi, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
““An Indian restaurant worthy of praise.””
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Shadeq or Sid as he is always affectionately known, the proprietor of this Indian restaurant is a brilliant host. He is so considerate in all that he does, and is brilliant at describing dishes whilst you are making your decisions as to what you would like from the menu. We have known him for a very long time when we dined at another Tandoori restaurant he once ran. The majority of the dishes are based on his own creations as he is also a chef in his own right. We spent a charming evening at his very modern premises enjoying fantastic meals on Valentines evening. If ever anyone is in the vicinity, and fancying an Indian meal, they need look no further than this restaurant which is alongside a main road on the outskirts of Menai Bridge. Parking and disabled access is fine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heddwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“First North Wales Indian Restaurant Experience”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We ended up with a takeaway this evening from the Sopna Restaurant in Menai Bridge. The food was fine but a little bland - we are used to really good Yorkshire spicy curries. It was also quite expensive for a takeaway at £24.80 for two starters two Saag Lamb/Chicken curries one boiled rice and three chapatis. I don't think we will return ,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is great.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great food, great service. Good selections . The place is usually quiet however it can be very busy. I'd return here for sure. No outdoor seating, or view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sopna Indian Restaurant also viewed

Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Sopna Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing