We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate and beautiful cottages in a wonderful location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Menai Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plas Cadnant Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked out all of the cottages over the weekend of 14th Sept 2013 and so got the chance to see each and every cottage - they were all amazing! The Coach House is an incredible space with room for 13 people to sleep comfortably, a professionally equipped kitchen and a huge dining and lounge area. All the other cottages right down to the 2 person Brew House are equally well kitted out and all have been furnished and decorated to a very high standard.

Graham, who takes care of the bookings and communications for the cottages is a very helpful individual who places the needs of the guests at the highest level and is as accommodating as possible with any request.

I can't speak highly enough of the experience we had at the cottages and can definitely say we will be back as often as we can in future. With family just round the corner it could be hard to justify the expense of putting ourselves up in guest accommodation but the beauty and comfort of Plas Cadnant Cottages makes it easy to make such a decision!

We loved it, and we will see you again soon!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are amazing - just choose the one which is right for you in size and you will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have tried to visit the gardens on several occasions , but allways on the days it was closed . While on holiday in may for my birthday we were lucky it was a beautiful day and the gardens were open . We were delighted . It was like stepping into another world . We loved it , the flowers and topiary were spectacular . We spent a few hours wandering around . Then we went for a cool glass or elderflower cordial , and a delicious fresh scone with cream ans strawberry jam in the lovely cafe . Every thing about the trip was lovely . I can really recommend it . It truly is a secret garden. Well worth a visit .

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Jaynem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

In late July we stayed for a week at Cadnant Lodge, which is located at the entrance to the Plas Cadnant Estate. This Lodge is a fine holiday property, surrounded by foliage of every kind and with its own Summer House set in the gardens above the Lodge itself. On arrival there is a nice welcome package of tea, coffee, bread, milk etc. waiting for you. The only drawbacks with this otherwise idyllic Lodge are firstly that you cannot arrive until 4.00 p.m. on your day of arrival and that a rather large and ugly road bridge is between the Lodge and the Menai Straits. Though thankfully some trees block out parts of the road bridge and the noise from it is not too bad, even when sitting out on one of the patios at the Lodge. The restored "Hidden Gardens" are fantastic and are a tribute to the foresight, hard work and many, many hours of toil by the owner Mr.Taverner, assisted by his small number of dedicated staff. We thought the Gardens were a mini - Bodnant Gardens, which is truly a compliment to this beautiful place. The new Tea Room opened for the first time during our visit and is a great addition to the whole Estate. The cakes served up at the new Tea Room are excellent. I think that we may try staying next time in one of the other Cottages which are located next to the Hidden Gardens at the top of the Estate.The Plas Cadnant Estate being nicely placed less than a mile from Menai Bridge and about four or so miles from Beaumaris.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allervale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We are a group of women who love to craft - all sorts, but mainly scrap booking. 10 of us stayed at The Coach House for a weekend in February 2012. The main reason for booking this particular cottage was the HUGE dining table. It fitted us all around, we ate our meals on our knees in front of the log fire.

It would make the ideal location for a family get together. We went for walks in the grounds, which are amazing! We also walked down to the Menai Straits one day for some fresh air.

The kitchen is big enough for an army, with enough cutlery, crockery, glasses, pots and pans, for every eventuality :)

We would definitely go back again, but think it would probably be later in the year to see the gardens with some colour :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank gilly_dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed as part of a group staying in several of these cottages to celebrate a birthday. Included was the coach house which has a perfect party room furnished with a huge table, comfy chairs and a large open fireplace. Our little cottage just across the yard was perfect to retreat to for peace and quiet.
The furniture and equipment is all of the very highest standard, and the welcome pack as described in earlier reviews was very comprehensive.
The owners were always extremely helpful and very happy to show one round the gardens which are being beautifully restored.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpacasrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed in this fabulous cottage as a base for cycling in North Wales. The welcome package was just brilliant, everything you needed for your first breakfast, fresh coffee, eggs, cereal, bread, jam etc, even home made fruit cake! Cottage was tastefully furnished with antiques, not IKEA .... Totally will use these cottages again, oh and the gardens are just superb and so big, like staying in a hidden garden.....

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I almost don't want to write a review for Plas Cadnant. I would like to get it as a secret so that I can book it again whenever I want. However, it's just to good not to write about it!
We had a bit of difficulty gettting to the estate, but that was are own fault leaving to late and trying to find it in the dark! When we did arrive - well how beautiful a place it is.
We stayed in Garden Cottage, which is the only cottage to have it's own private garden area! We entered the warm, spacious cottage and instantly felt relaxed. In the living room was a congratulations card, a bottle of sherry and a box of chocolates! What a lovely warm welcome! They had also provided a breakfast kit; bread, milk, tea, coffee, cereal and eggs. Again, a lovely thought.
Not long after we arrived Graham came to check in on us and explained the bits and bobs such as heating etc. A lovely friendly chap. We lit the wood stove fire and there we stayed for the next week. Plas Cadnant is very concenient for Menai Bridge and Beaumaris. We had some lovley nights in Beaurmaris, and the Waitrose in Menai Bridge was very near for any quick bits we needed to pick up.
A really good touch is the DVD they leave in the cottage. It tells the stroy of the renovation of Plas Cadnant and the Gardens. Really shows you how hard work and dedication can pay off!
The Gardens are beautiful. Autumn was set in when we were there and the colours were fantastic.
We would recommend this to anyone wanting an enjoyable, relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flapjack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menai Bridge hotels
0.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bryn Aethwy B & B
Bryn Aethwy B & B
#1 of 6 in Menai Bridge
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bulkeley Arms
Bulkeley Arms
#4 of 6 in Menai Bridge
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maen Hir Guest House
Maen Hir Guest House
#3 of 6 in Menai Bridge
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Cadnant Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Cadnant Holiday Cottages

Address: Plas Cadnant Cadnant Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5NH, Wales (Formerly Plas Cadnant Estate)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Menai Bridge
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Cadnant Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Cadnant Estate's Cottages are set in our Hidden Gardens. Winners of 'Best Place to Stay' in the Wales National Tourism Awards 2013. Five individual self-catering cottages in historic Grade II Listed outbuildings of Plas Cadnant Estate on the Isle of Anglesey, North Wales. Described as one of the most 'Amazing Retreats' on the Isle of Anglesey. Sympathetically restored to create a small group of atmospheric, stylish, comfortable and well-equipped cottages. They are situated at the end of a long leafy drive, around a spacious courtyard. During your stay with us, you are welcome to walk through the historic gardens and its beautiful parkland, or take a leisurely stroll down to the secluded waterfalls on the River Cadnant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plas Cadnant Holiday Cottages Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing