We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B, fantastic hosts.”
Review of Siop y Rhos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moelfre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Siop y Rhos
Ranked #1 of 6 Moelfre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked our three night break knowing nothing of this B&B as we just needed a place to stay as we visited the Isle of Angelsey but what we found was a pure gold mine.
Catherine and Steven were the best hosts imaginable as nothing was too much trouble for them. From the Five Star breakfast menu to simple things like providing information they were always on hand to help.
The decor was amazing as were the views from the gardens. The bed was probably the most comfortable outside of our own which helped make us feel at home.
I've heard mention of Landlords making their guests feel at home and Catherine and Steven go one better, you feel like one of the family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

With rather big lump in my throat I would like to thank you on behalf of Steven and I for such a glowing review. Last year was our first real season and we couldn't believe the luck we had in that all of our guests were so very lovely and friendly - and we had no experiences that we'd heard from other B&B owners of 'not so nice people' staying with us. This year, even though it is the start of the season, the guests we've had stay with us have surpassed all our previous experiences and we have been delighted and completely enthralled with the guests who have stayed with us - it really makes our role in the B&B so very easy because everything and everyone is relaxed - its an absolute joy to have people like you and Joyce come and stay with us. The only down side really is that eventually you have to leave us - and who do I have to Mother then? Thank you for your review, and for the amazing comments in our guest book (and please could you send us some photos of the lovely home and it's unusual features you were describing to us?). Thank you again, Catherine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Catherine & Steven are fantastic friendly welcoming hosts. The accommodation is absolutely immaculate, decorated & furnished to a very high standard. The breakfasts are made with excellent quality ingredients and cooked to perfection for each individual. The location is away from the road, very quiet with no traffic noise with a footpath to Lligwy beach. This was our first stay at a B&B and Catherine & Steven have set the standard extremely high. Can't wait to come back. Thanks for a fab stay, we were totally spoiled!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'wing' which was compact but perfectly formed for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thescriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

What can we say, except simply "thank you". We also thank Annabel for her lovely comments in our guest book - and we love to hear time and again how comfy the beds are, and what a good nights sleep our guests have in them. It was a delight to meet such a lovely family, and we will always welcome guests such as yourselves with open arms. See you all soon again we hope. Catherine & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Well of all the years I have been reading reviews on trip adviser, before booking a trip, this is the first time I have written a review. Our break was so enjoyable I feel I have to share it with readers and Catherine and Steve were the perfect hosts the very least they deserve is a few moments of my time to convey my experience at the Siop y Rhos. Both myself, my partner and our 6 year old daughter spent a few days in Anglesey and stayed at Siop y Rhos. As soon as we arrived Catherine and Steve were there to warmly greet us and within minutes tea and cake was served, which I thought was a lovely touch and very homely. I knew I had made a good choice. Our room was spotlessly clean(which is often hard to come by) and catered for all our needs. There was a good choice on the menu for breakfast, which was scrumptious and the conversation with Catherine and Steve was effortless as if we had known them for years. They had a wide knowledge of the area and were able to recommend places to visit. Nothing was ever to much for them if you needed anything.The building itself is in its own beautifully lawned grounds, away from the noise of the main road which is just what I wanted and my daughter fell in love with their three dogs Hardy, Biff and Laurel who were so well behaved and only around if you wanted them to be. There is also a path that leads to the beach which only took us about 15 minutes walk. We just want to say a big thank you to Catherine and Steve for adding to the enjoyment of our stay. Lovely hosts with an ideal retreat, so much so we are returning. Siop y rhos is a credit for all your hard work. Thanks from Janine, Julian and Amelia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

And a big THANK YOU to you all too, not just for your lovely review, but for the enjoyment and pleasure we had whilst you were here. As you said, the conversation flowed and we could have sat and had breakfast with you and spent all day simply chatting away. Time flew and work waited! 7 year old Amelia is a delight, and Steven and I loved the little games in the morning. She is a credit to you both - please do come back, we'd honoured. Thank you again, Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Booked this last minute and delighted I did, great location with uninterrupted views across their grounds to the sea. A very warm welcome and this added to the great accommodation which is pristine and homely. We had a double room with ensuite, which was cosy with fabulous views across to the sea. There is also a shared guest lounge which we had to ourselves for this early week break. Breakfast was tasty, well presented and service with Great conversation but not intrusive. A fabulous base to explore Anglesey and very restful after a day of rediscovering island treasures.

Catherine and Steven have 3 dogs although you would never know if they are the best behaved dogs ever and no doggy smells anywhere but when you do see them they are the most civilised pets ever- just like their owners.

They have clearly out a lot of thought and attention to their B&B and seriously this place meets my own neat freak standards for a holiday accommodation business and they deserve all the accolades people hugeness them. Certainly will return as feel they offer more than just a staycation venue to get your head down-well done Steven and Catherine we will return xx Gail & Rob, Liverpool

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darkangelrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely words. It is true, we do have 3 little dogs although they have never been in the B&B or the self catering accommodation. Most guests have no idea we have them, and children who arrive with a great fear of dogs, without fail they leave Siop y Rhos without their fear anymore and love to play with them. We try our utmost to make sure everyone who comes to stay here enjoys what we & Anglesey has to offer, and it really is a bonus when guests like yourselves come. You will always be welcome here. Thank you. Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Booked this last minute and delighted I did, great location with uninterrupted views across their grounds to the sea. A very warm welcome and this added to the great accommodation which is pristine and homely. We had a double room with ensuite, which was cosy with fabulous views across to the sea. There is also a shared guest lounge which we had to ourselves for this early week break. Breakfast was tasty, well presented and service with Great conversation but not intrusive. A fabulous base to explore Anglesey and very restful after a day of rediscovering island treasures.

Catherine and Steven have 3 dogs although you would never know if they are the best behaved dogs ever and no doggy smells anywhere but when you do see them they are the most civilised pets ever- just like their owners.

They have clearly out a lot of thought and attention to their B&B and seriously this place meets my own neat freak standards for a holiday accommodation business and they deserve all the accolades people hugeness them. Certainly will return as feel they offer more than just a staycation venue to get your head down-well done Steven and Catherine we will return xx Gail & Rob, Liverpool

Room Tip: Get a room with a view we liked room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doubleshot-Gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hi Catherine and Steve. We have just booked our third visit to this wonderful place. Kelly and I first visited here two years ago and we fell in love with Anglesey and siop y rhos. From the moment we first arrived we were greeted by big hellos and warm smiles from Catherine and Steve. from then on the stay just got better and better. the accomodation is first class. the rooms are of high quality, very clean and tidy. all the mod cons and even a little chocolate on the pillow. nice touch. you have full use of the lounge area which has a log burner for them cosy nights. the beds are comfy, the rooms are toasty and the showers are lovely and hot.the breakfast is one of the best we have ever tasted. there's cereal, toast, fruit, teas coffees, pancakes or the full English which is out favorite. Steves sausages are something else. the location is beautiful with some gorgeous beach walks. ann's pantry and the pilot boat pub are great for a stop off and refreshment.Catherine and Steve are the two most friendliest guesthouse owners we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. they truly make you feel at home . they are just really lovely people and they complete the whole package. there's not a lot more they can do to improve it!! see you in June!! Col and Kelly x

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Owner at Siop y Rhos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Well, 'flipping heck' - what can we say (Catherine asks with a great big beaming yet bashful grin on her face). Thank you so much for the fabulous review - we must pay you later. But seriously though, thanks guys, and congratulations to the two of you (a little birdie tells me that after getting engaged here on Lligwy Beach, that you're tying the marital knot this April). How lovely for you both, and we do hope that the sun shines all day for you. Good luck and see you in June x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

2 couples, staying for 4 nights at the end of November.

Siop y Rhos, is a short distance from Moelfre, close to a beach and reasonable walking distance from a pub. Everywhere is Anglesey is a reasonable traveling distance so there is no need to fret about where you are, however that means that comfort and welcoming hosts make a place stand out against the rest and this is what Siop y Rhos has in abundance.

From the moment we came up the drive Catherine and Steve made us truly welcome. Comfortable, tidy and smart rooms, a shared lounge with our friends and plenty of choice with breakfast make this a place to stay. You can even make friends with Laurel, Hardy and Biff.

Rooms were kept clean and tidy, comfortable beds and the shower was sufficiently powerful enough. The ensuite for one of the downstairs rooms is due to be moved and upgraded this winter.

The hosts know the area well, gave us a good range of recommended restaurants and we had plenty of good conversations with them.

I wholeheartedly recommend any one to stay here.

Room Tip: any will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGW140165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Siop y Rhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siop y Rhos

Address: Siop y Rhos Near Lligwy Beach | Moelfre, Moelfre LL70 9PZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Moelfre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Moelfre
Price Range: £58 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated as Gold Standard by our guests, Siop y Rhos provides immaculate accommodation in a stunning location with extensive parking, 3 mins from the beach and a pub/restaurant, an excellent night's sleep, and an extensive breakfast menu to 'dine for'. We pride ourselves on ensuring our guests feel comfortable, relaxed, and thoroughly enjoy their stay ensuring that they come back time and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siop y Rhos Moelfre, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing