We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moelfre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After being promised a beach/sea view, we were not let down. What a beautiful view of Lligwy Beach from our tent. The staff were very helpful, and chatty. Despite some terrible thunderstorms while we were there it did not ruin our stay one little bit. The site was basic (just what we wanted), and all the facilities were very clean and the grounds well tended too. The area was lovely. In the village of Moelfre, about a 30 minute walk (on the roads), there is a fantastic chippy/café. Great if you are hungry as the portions are huge. The local pub Kinmel Arms is also nice and welcoming. I know some previous visitors have put they didn't appreciate the rules the site has, but to be honest the rules were not thrust in our faces as others had stated. The only thing is, Yes the vehicle access is closed at sunset, but you still have access on foot. This is really not an issue, as from a safety point of view it's a great idea. If you want a quiet site in a fantastic location, I would highly recommend this site.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezza69Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafarn R, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Delighted to hear that we were able to fulfill your request for a beautiful view of the beach from your tent and you found us very helpful and the facilities very clean. We agree with you; the area is lovely and the site is in a fantastic location - we hope you will return to explore some more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    27
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
57
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed five days June 2014. We usually stay on five van CL sites and the occasional Caravan Club site. So we were a bit overwhelmed by the enthusiastic and friendly welcome by the Dafarn Rhos office staff. We were escorted to our pitch and asked if we needed any help. When we started to position our caravan it was plain that the recent heavy rain had made the pitch soft. A staff member came over and asked if we would like to go elsewhere. Yes please. Another guy with a big smile and a tractor turned up and towed our van to another pitch, levelled the van with his planks and asked if he could help more. We have never had this level of service in years of camping and asked if he would like to put our kettle on...!

The camp site is spacious with great views of Lligwy Beach. The 85 pitches, split over several fields, are a decent distance apart with big open spaces in the middle of each field. The grass is close cut and the cuttings removed so you don't get bits of grass in your van. The site is "comfortable" and very peaceful. Excellent views of the sea, beach and surrounding hills.

Peaceful is the key here. There are rules, but they are rules for US. I like to wake up to bird song and the sound of distant waves. I enjoy the peace of a glass of wine by sunset. I like going to bed and sleeping peacefully. I don't like other peoples music banging away, shouting, screaming, barking and all the audio nightmares you often get on larger caravan sites.

The facilities are quite adequate. Hot plentiful showers. Clean toilets. Useful pot wash. Info and laundry shed. Laundry a bit pricey considering you are not allowed washing lines.

Some people complain about the rules and curfew. To our mind they are a blessing that maintains the essence of camping - which is going out into the countryside to be close to nature and landscape. If you want to play loud music ( I used to be a DJ! ) return to the site at 2 am shouting, slamming car doors and letting your children and animals make as much noise as they like - go eleswhere. Go to Benidorm. If you like a peaceful campsite, with plenty of water and electric points, clean showers, lots of grass, A pitch positioned a minute or two from a fantastic sandy beach, and loads of pleasant walks directly from your pitch, I would recommend this site.

Room Tip: Higher pitches, better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHammond2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafarn R, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Very pleased to read that you experienced a friendly welcome and good service from all of us at Dafarn Rhos. Glad to hear that you also enjoyed the excellent views from the site and appreciated our efforts to maintain a very pleasant and peaceful stay for all. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Great site, clean and very close to the beach, but..... When you are told that you have to be back by 8:15 (sun set) or you'll be locked out....it was a deal breaker for us. As nice as the site might be, we really didn't want to be tied to a curfew.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafarn R, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you Amanda for leaving your comments. We are glad you think it is a great site and clean, which is what we all work hard at to achieve. We are very sorry you were not happy with the vehicle gates being locked at sunset, which at the time of your visit was 8.15pm. The walking on and off site gates are accessible all day and night, and there is a special parking area for our site customers vehicles returning after dark. The site is a very rural and uncommercialised site and as you have mentioned very close to the beach. As you will be aware there are no street lights on site and therefore it gets very dark after sunset. The locking of the driving gates at sunset makes it safer for all customers and they don’t get disturbed, particularly young children sleeping, by anyone in a car; with the noise of vehicles driving around and car doors being shut. In mid June the driving gates lock at 10pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed her for two weeks, aug 2013. Excellent pitch, fab location right on the beach, clean site, helpful staff. Be warned, there are lots of rules here but most of them allow the site to be so well run. However, when my husband and I were both using the toilets we asked our daughter (6) to sit outside the toilet block with our dog (on a lead). She was told by one of the staff to return to her caravan and that dogs could not be walked on site. My daughter explained the situation and that she was not allowed to be left in the caravan alone (especially with a dog - although our dog is very placid, I still wouldn't take the chance). She was told again to return. Thankfully my husband overheard this and came out to walk my daughter & dog back to our caravan.. Incidentally, we were not walking the dog so to speak, she had come with us. How people are meant to move their dogs around the site without them actually having their paws on the ground is beyond me.
Despite this, I would highly recommend the site. It is very nice indeed, and most if the rules make perfect sense, but not all!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocham72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for 5 days in summer 2013 and found this site to be perfect for our needs. Electric hookup, good facilities and great level pitches with plenty of room. Our big tent (8 berth tunnel), MPV and trailer left plenty of room to sit out and enjoy the sunshine.
The direct access to the beach at Lligwy Bay was excellent, with the bonus of a beachside cafe.
There's no shop on site, except for a few items of stock, so be prepared for a short trip out. Moelfre is only a mile away though and you can get what you absolutely need there, or fish & chips and a pub with a sea view if you can't be bothered shopping!
I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking to camp on Anglesey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here 2009 for 3 nights, weather was great and loved the site, so decided to go back this June for another 3 nights, weather was great again and the sites even better now, Seems to be better run now than last time, We camped on the bottom field this time near to the gate that leads out to the beach, this was ideal for us as we took the dog and was handy for her walks. The staff were great, the lady in the office was concerned about me being further away from the toilets as i am disabled, and the guy who took us down to our pitch was really friendly,
The Disabled Toilets are a credit to them and made my stay all the better. the only downside was the dog got sick, and come to think of it, it got sick when we stayed in 2009, we recommended the site to my sister in law, who has just come back today, she loved it, but her dog got sick as well,i don,t know where they picked up the bug ? could be from the beach just don,t know,anyway anyone taking a dog i would keep them on a short lead, even on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken211155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Camped here with my son, initially for 3 nights but extended to 5, as we liked it so much. Spacious pitch, helpful staff and really close to the sandy beach - don't forget your swimsuit! Electric showers so always hot water, very clean toilets, laundry at a small charge, the usual stuff. No shop as such on site (long life milk and a few cans of pop), however there is a little shop in Moelfre (plus a fish and chip shop/café and pubs) and Tesco express and other shops not too far away in Benllech. Its a good base for days out - we went to Caernarfon and Holyhead and villages along the coastline, but it was just lovely sitting relaxing, enjoying the view. We were in one of the quieter areas and that suited us fine, my regret was that we didn't have electric hook up and I had to put up with camp-site hair, but hey, went with the no makeup regime. A thoroughly relaxing time, I want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dowsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moelfre
5.2 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
9.6 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
676 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
15.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site

Property: Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Address: Lligwy Beach | Moelfre Anglesey, Moelfre LL72, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Moelfre
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Moelfre
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Dafarn Rhos Caravan And Camping Site Moelfre, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing