We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great facilities!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moelfre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great facilities!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just got back from a short break at this campsite with a friend. We really enjoyed our stay. Location is beautiful, great views over the sea from the pitch and a 2 min walk to the beach. The facilities were by far the best I have encountered on any campsite-spotlessly clean at all hours of the day. Staff were very friendly. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHLOPTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafarn R, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We are pleased that you and your friend enjoyed a short break at Dafarn Rhos and liked the great view over the sea from your pitch. Thank you for your kind comments about the friendly staff and the spotlessly clean facilities. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    27
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
59
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We are a professional couple who went to Dafarn Rhos for a well deserved break with our two dogs. We decided to return to this campsite as we stayed there in 2013. The site is beautiful, very peaceful and attracts respectful campers. A good nights sleep is a given. When we stayed there in 2013 the dogs had a great time, we only had them on their leads walking around the campsite, they played happily around the tent.
Upon arrival this time my husband was handed the "rulebook" but we didn't see the need to read it as we had stayed before and didn't have any issues. Within an hour of setting up camp we were 'told off' like naughty school children by who we believe to be the owner for not having the dogs on leads although they were lying down next to the tent. We received a 'lecture' was informed if we had to be told again then the dogs would have to leave the site!
The following day we returned from a lovely costal walk, the dogs exhausted along with my husband. I made the fateful error of walking the dogs (on leads) to the toilets rather than leaving them in a hot tent. I was two minutes at the most. Moments after returning to the tent, the 'owner' marched over and began her continuous lecture regarding me taking the dogs to the toilet area. I apologised straight away and said I hadn't realised it was a problem as they were on leads and under control. This apology went un-noticed and the 'owner' continued with endless examples of worse case scenarios. The 'owner' spoke to us like we were children and was very condescending to the point that we informed her of her manner and decided to leave the campsite early.

IF YOU HAVE DOGS STAY AWAY FROM THIS SITE, IT IS NOT DOG FRIENDLY AT ALL.

The owner is very rude and makes you feel on edge the whole time of your holiday, which is a pity as the rest of the staff seem professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafarn R, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We were pleased you returned to Dafarn Rhos as you say it “is beautiful, very peaceful and attracts respectful campers”. Respectful campers understand the need to abide by the site terms for dogs. Unfortunately, you decided that the terms did not apply to you and your dogs, as they were off their leads, running free across other pitches as you had thrown a ball for them and taken to and tied up outside facilities. You were reminded on several occasions about your dogs, but kept on choosing to ignore us. It left us with no alternative but to tell you, that you would be asked to remove the dogs from site if we had to speak to you again about them. We do not like having to repeatedly remind anyone of any of our terms, but occasionally it does happen, and of course it is never a pleasant situation for either party and never taken well however it is said or by whom.
We do welcome dogs and their owners who respect, not only our terms for allowing dogs on site, but consider other campers on site, who may or may not have dogs. The terms for dogs are clearly mentioned on our website and when booking. On check in everyone gets a map with general information and our terms and conditions, which includes information for dog owners - which has been the same for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After being promised a beach/sea view, we were not let down. What a beautiful view of Lligwy Beach from our tent. The staff were very helpful, and chatty. Despite some terrible thunderstorms while we were there it did not ruin our stay one little bit. The site was basic (just what we wanted), and all the facilities were very clean and the grounds well tended too. The area was lovely. In the village of Moelfre, about a 30 minute walk (on the roads), there is a fantastic chippy/café. Great if you are hungry as the portions are huge. The local pub Kinmel Arms is also nice and welcoming. I know some previous visitors have put they didn't appreciate the rules the site has, but to be honest the rules were not thrust in our faces as others had stated. The only thing is, Yes the vehicle access is closed at sunset, but you still have access on foot. This is really not an issue, as from a safety point of view it's a great idea. If you want a quiet site in a fantastic location, I would highly recommend this site.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezza69Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafarn R, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Delighted to hear that we were able to fulfill your request for a beautiful view of the beach from your tent and you found us very helpful and the facilities very clean. We agree with you; the area is lovely and the site is in a fantastic location - we hope you will return to explore some more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed five days June 2014. We usually stay on five van CL sites and the occasional Caravan Club site. So we were a bit overwhelmed by the enthusiastic and friendly welcome by the Dafarn Rhos office staff. We were escorted to our pitch and asked if we needed any help. When we started to position our caravan it was plain that the recent heavy rain had made the pitch soft. A staff member came over and asked if we would like to go elsewhere. Yes please. Another guy with a big smile and a tractor turned up and towed our van to another pitch, levelled the van with his planks and asked if he could help more. We have never had this level of service in years of camping and asked if he would like to put our kettle on...!

The camp site is spacious with great views of Lligwy Beach. The 85 pitches, split over several fields, are a decent distance apart with big open spaces in the middle of each field. The grass is close cut and the cuttings removed so you don't get bits of grass in your van. The site is "comfortable" and very peaceful. Excellent views of the sea, beach and surrounding hills.

Peaceful is the key here. There are rules, but they are rules for US. I like to wake up to bird song and the sound of distant waves. I enjoy the peace of a glass of wine by sunset. I like going to bed and sleeping peacefully. I don't like other peoples music banging away, shouting, screaming, barking and all the audio nightmares you often get on larger caravan sites.

The facilities are quite adequate. Hot plentiful showers. Clean toilets. Useful pot wash. Info and laundry shed. Laundry a bit pricey considering you are not allowed washing lines.

Some people complain about the rules and curfew. To our mind they are a blessing that maintains the essence of camping - which is going out into the countryside to be close to nature and landscape. If you want to play loud music ( I used to be a DJ! ) return to the site at 2 am shouting, slamming car doors and letting your children and animals make as much noise as they like - go eleswhere. Go to Benidorm. If you like a peaceful campsite, with plenty of water and electric points, clean showers, lots of grass, A pitch positioned a minute or two from a fantastic sandy beach, and loads of pleasant walks directly from your pitch, I would recommend this site.

Room Tip: Higher pitches, better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHammond2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafarn R, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Very pleased to read that you experienced a friendly welcome and good service from all of us at Dafarn Rhos. Glad to hear that you also enjoyed the excellent views from the site and appreciated our efforts to maintain a very pleasant and peaceful stay for all. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Great site, clean and very close to the beach, but..... When you are told that you have to be back by 8:15 (sun set) or you'll be locked out....it was a deal breaker for us. As nice as the site might be, we really didn't want to be tied to a curfew.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dafarn R, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you Amanda for leaving your comments. We are glad you think it is a great site and clean, which is what we all work hard at to achieve. We are very sorry you were not happy with the vehicle gates being locked at sunset, which at the time of your visit was 8.15pm. The walking on and off site gates are accessible all day and night, and there is a special parking area for our site customers vehicles returning after dark. The site is a very rural and uncommercialised site and as you have mentioned very close to the beach. As you will be aware there are no street lights on site and therefore it gets very dark after sunset. The locking of the driving gates at sunset makes it safer for all customers and they don’t get disturbed, particularly young children sleeping, by anyone in a car; with the noise of vehicles driving around and car doors being shut. In mid June the driving gates lock at 10pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed her for two weeks, aug 2013. Excellent pitch, fab location right on the beach, clean site, helpful staff. Be warned, there are lots of rules here but most of them allow the site to be so well run. However, when my husband and I were both using the toilets we asked our daughter (6) to sit outside the toilet block with our dog (on a lead). She was told by one of the staff to return to her caravan and that dogs could not be walked on site. My daughter explained the situation and that she was not allowed to be left in the caravan alone (especially with a dog - although our dog is very placid, I still wouldn't take the chance). She was told again to return. Thankfully my husband overheard this and came out to walk my daughter & dog back to our caravan.. Incidentally, we were not walking the dog so to speak, she had come with us. How people are meant to move their dogs around the site without them actually having their paws on the ground is beyond me.
Despite this, I would highly recommend the site. It is very nice indeed, and most if the rules make perfect sense, but not all!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocham72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for 5 days in summer 2013 and found this site to be perfect for our needs. Electric hookup, good facilities and great level pitches with plenty of room. Our big tent (8 berth tunnel), MPV and trailer left plenty of room to sit out and enjoy the sunshine.
The direct access to the beach at Lligwy Bay was excellent, with the bonus of a beachside cafe.
There's no shop on site, except for a few items of stock, so be prepared for a short trip out. Moelfre is only a mile away though and you can get what you absolutely need there, or fish & chips and a pub with a sea view if you can't be bothered shopping!
I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking to camp on Anglesey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moelfre
5.2 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
15.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
9.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site

Property: Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Address: Lligwy Beach | Moelfre Anglesey, Moelfre LL72, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Moelfre
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Moelfre
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Dafarn Rhos Caravan And Camping Site Moelfre, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing