We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired looking, and in need of TLC”

Anglesey Model Village & Gardens
Attraction details
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tired looking, and in need of TLC”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Not sure what to expect, our group 6 paid a visit to this quaint and tired looking model village.

Plus:
- Good parking
- Moving train
- Location

Cons:
- Price
- Size of attraction
- Quality of maintenance of models

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    31
    20
    54
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penmaenmawr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We took our 3 year old grandson to the model village we arrived at 1.30ish to be told by the man at the entrance " oh I was just about to close its so quiet " we payed £8 to enter hoping to have our lunch in the tea room but the only did drinks and cake . The area is very tired and could do with some TLC the best bit being two trains which do a circular run of the garden . And the drive yourself little train . The whole experience took less than half an hour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfechain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upsetting”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We visited this place quite some time ago now but still feel upset at the way we were treated and feel I should enlighten other families. I paid for a family ticket 2+2, my children were teenagers but there was no age limit stipulated on the +2, The man ?owner ran after us and stated in front of other visitors we should have paid full price as he didn't realise my children were older. He implied we were trying get away with not paying. I was mortified. He left us alone to walk round but I just wanted to get out of there after been so humiliated. We walked out without looking at anything. I went to the counter and practically forced the extra money on them as I have never tried to sneak in anywhere and was made to feel as if we had.His wife tried to apologise and said to please excuse her husband. The place did not look anything special anyway, we whizzed around to get out quickly but even at a leisurely pace it wouldn't taken 10 minutes, When are these places going to realise that just because kids are older they are still dependents and don't bring in a wage so should be classed as kids. A family ticket should mean just that. The owners need some updates/lessons in how to treat their visitors. The experience completely ruined our day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank iysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham abbey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Was very disappointed with visit to this model village
It took less then 10 minutes to walk round. £3 per adult entrance fee as you walk around the very skinny path with everyone else trying to see these old exhibits after less than 10 mins you come across the exit back to the car park don't waste you money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Model Village”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Enjoyed by adults and children alike. Make sure weather good for visit. Have visited many times over last 8 years, well maintained but havent noticed any new buildings

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank caravanmysteryvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anglesey Model Village & Gardens also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Anglesey Model Village & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing