We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming place”

Caffi Wiwer Goch - Red Squirrel Cafe
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Newborough
Certificate of Excellence
Description: NADOLIG LLAWEN A BLWYDDAN NEWYDD DDA. MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR. Weare now closed till Saturday 4th February 2017. We are a small independent cafe. We take pride in serving freshly ground coffee, espresso, latte macchiato etc and offering a range of speciality filter coffees. We also have a range of black, green and herbal tea or delicious hot chocolate made from melted chocolate! To eat we offer, all day breakfast, burgers, bagels, panini and baked potatoes. For those with a sweet tooth there are pancakes, waffles and cakes. We also serve a range of cold soft drinks and milkshakes. All our food and drink are freshly prepared.
Restaurant details
Description: NADOLIG LLAWEN A BLWYDDAN NEWYDD DDA. MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR. Weare now closed till Saturday 4th February 2017. We are a small independent cafe. We take pride in serving freshly ground coffee, espresso, latte macchiato etc and offering a range of speciality filter coffees. We also have a range of black, green and herbal tea or delicious hot chocolate made from melted chocolate! To eat we offer, all day breakfast, burgers, bagels, panini and baked potatoes. For those with a sweet tooth there are pancakes, waffles and cakes. We also serve a range of cold soft drinks and milkshakes. All our food and drink are freshly prepared.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very welcoming place”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I came across this place after spending many hours walking around the Newborough Forest and warren area. I had a wonderful coffee, sampled some interesting tea, and had a good natter with the very welcoming staff. I came away feeling good and refreshed and would thoroughly recommend it.
Jane from Bolton
(p.s. have uploaded the pic I took also).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    23
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location on the cross roads with pretty outside tables where it was just warm enough for us to sit. Friendly service - the proprietor even nipped home to find a bowl so that our dog could have a drink of water. The sandwiches were tasty although some home made cakes for afters would have been nice.Their advice on where to see Red squirrels was spot on and provided us with at least 20 mins of pleasure as we watched them jump from tree to tree and feed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what our holiday needed”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the cafe owners holiday rental next door but one and were delighted to take them up on the free delivery on several occasions.
They serve gorgeous real coffee, milk and white hot chocolates.
Delicious bagels ('The Grazer' - melted goats cheese, walnuts, honey and apple being my favourite), paninis, all day breakfasts, handmade cheesecakes, muffins, pancakes, waffles, and more.
The staff are really welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble and even re-opened when we turned up as they were closing and served a gang of us with sandwiches, coffee and cakes.
Brilliant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DOOdledoo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We "fell over" the Red Squirrel Cafe on the way to Newborough Forest & beach. Its right on the corner in the middle of "town". We were delighted to smell & taste real coffee(the full selection) & gorgeous hot chocolate. We wished we were more hungry to have a wider tasting but can recommend the breakfast barms & the waffles. The place has only been open since February but the proprietress is steadily expanding the menu to include good quality vegetarian cuisine.We thought it very reasonable & if you fancy a takeaway we would recommend you pick up a coffee and a freshly made sandwich & go eat it on the glorious beach two minutes away. We promised to put the cafe onto Trip Advisor & believe it thoroughly deserves to be mentioned.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grainne59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffi Wiwer Goch - Red Squirrel Cafe also viewed

Newborough, Island of Anglesey
Newborough, Island of Anglesey
 
Brynsiencyn, Island of Anglesey
Newborough, Island of Anglesey
 
Aberffraw, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Caffi Wiwer Goch - Red Squirrel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing