We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another lovely visit!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Owl barn and entrance porch leading to the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Owl barn and entrance porch leading to the courtyard
Sunset at House in the Yard Newborough Beach looking over to Llanddwyn Island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The Owl barn and entrance porch leading to the courtyard
Sunset at House in the Yard
Newborough Beach looking over to Llanddwyn Island
The Owl Barn!
Owl Barn - Lounge
Owl Barn - Lounge
Owl Barn - kitchen dresser
Owl Barn - Kitchen diner
Owl Barn - kitchen diner
The Owl Barn - double bedroom
Owl Barn - family bathroom
Owl Barn - bedded room
Owl Barn - twin bedded room
View from outside The Owl Barn overlooking the marshes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newborough, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
josephkel...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another lovely visit!”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Eight of us rented two of the lovely cottages for a special "foodie" weekend. It was a return visit for four of us and new to our four guests. As previously we received a warm welcome from Libby and Mark. The cottages are of a very high standard being both clean, well furnished and spacious. Although it is not within their normal remit we enjoyed the home baked cakes and breakfast (delivered on both mornings) - a relieve after being out dining in two very good restaurants short taxi drives from our accommodation. Throughout our visit Libby and Mark ensured that everything was organised and nothing was too mush trouble. Friday afternoon the weather was lovely so we all enjoyed a walk on the magnificent beach (ten minutes drive away) and in the bitter cold of Saturday enjoyed an informative and warm time at the Halen Mon factory tour. House in The Yard is a lovely retreat away from the stresses of work and a excellent place to set of exploring all that the area offers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
We are delighted to have such a complimentary review. You certainly did have extremes of weather from Friday’s glorious sunshine to Sunday’s snow! Thank you once again for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury Anglesey Retreat”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

What a lovely quiet location for our week in Anglesey. Mark & Libby made us feel very welcome & we especially enjoyed the homemade lemon cake & fresh eggs.
The barn is so well equipped that we couldn't wait to get back and relax after a day out exploring the island. Holly our Labrador enjoyed the garden and saying hello to the chickens.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2018
Thank you Gaynor for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we may see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hughdini...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant base on Anglesey”
Reviewed 22 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Owl Barn for the weekend to enjoy some quiet time at the end of term with our son who is studying at Bangor. Mark and Libby were very welcoming and kept us supplied with logs, walking tips and anecdotes to support all the hard work they have put in to make this a special place to stay. Yet again Sawday has got it right. The Owl Barn is very spacious for four. We also managed to invite a group of our son's friends back for supper and fitted nine of us round the table happily, then it was back to cosy relaxing time by the Jotul log fire. And the dog loved it too, especially the long walk across Newborough Beach and out to the Pilots Cottages at the tip of the Island of the Blessed. Top tip for anyone who owns, or is thinking of owning a Tesla. Mark and Libby have just installed the first electric vehicle charging point at a cottage on Anglesey. What better place to re-charge - self, or vehicle!:-) We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at HITY and for promoting our newly installed Tesla chargers! We look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babs15881
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent pet friendly place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

So glad we found this beautiful place,we stayed in the Owl Barn for 4 nights which was very spacious,very clean and very comfortable, not forgetting the beautiful furnishings. The location is great for the beaches and local places of interest. Mark and Libby are the perfect hosts and are nearby if needed, on arrival we received eggs from their chickens, a very tasty lemon cake and milk in the fridge. We took Trixie our
little dog who loved walking in the woods, we had a great time and came away feeling relaxed.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review - we're so pleased you both (and Trixie!) enjoyed your stay with us and left feeling refreshed and relaxed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipfle...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent pet friendly accommodation and location”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Mark and Libby made us very welcome, the milk,eggs and cake were are lovely touch. The accommodation is very well equipped,clean and tidy. The location is within stunning surroundings and makes an excellent base to explore Anglesey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Lovely to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us and we're so glad to hear you had a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deb993
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have recently returned from a stay at The Owl Barn with my family. The cottage is in a lovely quiet setting yet only a ten minute drive to the beautiful beach at Newborough, which has some great walks.While at The Owl Barn it was reassuring to know Libby and Mark were around if required. During our stay we were made to feel welcome and found the cottage very clean, comfortable, spacious and with everything you need. We would definitely recommend The Owl Barn and hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review it was lovely to meet you and the girls and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
1 review
“A truly excellent place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Absolutely loved this place, immaculate, peaceful and relaxing! Our 6 year old thought he was in Dreamland with the gardens, treehouse, swing and chicken's! Mark and Libby are so hospitable, so relaxed and extremely​ helpful. We will definitely be back on our return to Anglesey. Please book you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We were delighted to have you all to stay and are pleased that you had such an enjoyable time. We hope that we will see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing