We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Eagle

The White Eagle
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rhoscolyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My daughters had phoned the White Eagle and ordered some gift vouchers for me for my birthday. We went at lunchtime to book a table and they were incredibly busy but put us down for the evening although we might have to sit out on the balcony. When we arrived for our meal they had organised a lovely table for two by the window, with a birthday banner and decorations! We had the pulled pork starter between us which was excellent and then, as it was a special occasion, we had the seafood platter for two. This certainly had the wow factor when it arrived! We found it was all perfectly cooked and thoroughly enjoyed it. Only small points we would make were that it could maybe have some mussells on it (which don't cost a lot) and the portion of chips could have been bigger as it was a dish for two people. We then decamped to the balcony for cheese and biscuits whilst admiring the view and finishing our drinks. All in all, considering it was such a busy time of the year, we were very impressed and would certainly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    301
    129
    75
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good View and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had spent all day on the beach and ended up here after it was recommended. Lovely views, staff helpful, food wonderful. The only down size was the children's kids menu, mine are at the age where they would like to eat what we eat but not the full amount, it's just too expensive to waste on them. I would definatley go again and recommend this place on its view alone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never lets you down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Great lunch at the White Eagle.

Arrived early (12:00) to avoid disappointment as it gets very busy later on.

Service at the table was good and the food was tasty and well priced. If you're keen for a big feed, take on the haddock and chips.

There is a good selection of toys for little ones to play with.

Only way the Weagle could improve is if the garden was gated for the children.

Will continue to visit and be impressed!

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good return visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Third time I have visited over some 3 years - great food and sympathetic service
I had a great Sunday roast - a mountain of pork which was well cooked and really tasty
Great location too
We will be back!
Nico

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food, fab location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

and friendly staff! even better that dogs are very welcomed. It's a short stroll from the beach. The food was lovely ( sunday dinner and a great big plate of it) the lamb was well cooked with proper thick slices of meat.
It is well catered for children, a lovely decking area for that perfect sunny day but even in todays overcast and windy afternoon it was lovely. Will definitely be coming back. Very reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hyperwelshangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Eagle also viewed

Rhosneigr, Island of Anglesey
Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey
 
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to The White Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing