We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stopover”
Review of The Gables

The Gables
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trearddur Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gables
cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Very good stopover”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at The Gables on the night of Thu 13 Feb 14 and it was just what we needed. Chris and Patrick gave us a warm welcome and the large room was just what we needed to dry out after a very wet cycle ride. Our bathroom was of a good size and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast the next morning was first class with a good choice on the menu. The Gables is very good value at £65 a night per room - and this probably reflects the rather dated furniture and fittings. We would certainly recommend the Gables to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penarthguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Despite some fairly horrendous weather we enjoyed every minute of our stay here for a night before sailing to Dublin. Patrick and Chris really looked after us, even 'phoning the port to ensure our ferry was sailing on a stormy Monday! We really felt at home.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunskirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Gables for a weekend break . Patrick the owner was very attentive and made us feel most welcome. The breakfast was great . There are plans for a bit of an uplift with regards to the decoration. You can easily walk to local restaurants including the Seacroft which we would
recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcopolo186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for a two nights with our daughters 16 and 13 yrs and had a really great weekend. The location is just perfect for the local beach and restaurants as well as a short drive to the lighthouse, supermarkets and retail park. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean with fresh towels both days. Patrick and Chris were kind friendly and helpful making you feel relaxed and at home and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with all the trimmings. Would highly recommend and definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lex-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Well positioned to be near the ferry for Ireland. We had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed and a nice breakfast. Be careful of the very very hot water as the sign in the bathroom says it is hot.
We were recommended to eat at The Seacroft but we found it to be mostly fried food and the place was cold and the chairs uncomfortable. Prince William may have dined there but he must be made of stronger stuff than us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Old-fashioned B&B - like staying in your grandmothers house, though not in a good way. Service was not great - only the cleaners were there upon arrival and they didn't really know what was happening. Location is ok, but not really near the water for quite a high price - have paid similar prices in Wales overlooking the beach. Breakfast is pretty good though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a lovely property near the beach and lighthouse in Trearddur Bay, Anglesey. The owners couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We loved the place and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Our room had twin beds and was on the ground floor. It couldn't have been nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trearddur Bay
0.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
619 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Beach Motel
The Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacroft
Seacroft
#2 of 5 in Trearddur Bay
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 25 in Holyhead
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: The Gables Lon Towyn Capel, Trearddur Bay LL65 2TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Trearddur Bay
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Trearddur Bay
The Gables Trearddur Bay, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing