We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality”
Review of The Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were a party of three men cycling around Anglesey over Easter weekend and ended our trip at this Motel. You have to ignore the unprepossessing sight of a snooker hall and enjoy the warm welcome in the Driftwood bar and restaurant offered by the efficient staff. Having cycled 120 miles the most welcome feature was the spa bath in the en suite bathroom , followed by the comfortable bed and crisp linen. The bar offered a good pint of Directors, and Hobgoblin enjoyed by all of us, but the menu with full lobster at 20 pounds was the winner. The location of this venue gave access onto the classic beach within minutes where we swam early the next morning. This is the place to stay at Trearddur

Room Tip: the accommodation block has 3 floors, the upper floors accessed by external staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachMotel, General Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words every review is valuable.
I have passed your comments onto the Staff & posted your review (anonymously) on our face book
Page.
Hope to see you again soon
King regards

John Hanby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Knowing there are several restaurants in Trearddur Bay, we opted to try The Driftwood (which is at the Beach Motel).

We were not disappointed, they have at the moment a 'special menu' which provides a range of starters, mains and puddings reasonably priced, but excellent quality and value.
We opted for the 'garlic mushrooms' as a starter and can honestly say we haven't tasted better. Our mains were Chicken Korma and Rump Steak, delicious, only negative is the size of the portions, to big for us, far to big, but really really well cooked, well presented and totally delicious. The staff were very attentive, and certainly happy in their work, which was evident by the way they looked after, not only us, but everyone else in the restaurant. The restaurant and menu catered for all ages.

The initial reason for choosing to eat here was my husbands idea, as he always enjoys the excellent choice of keg beers in the bar area.

Would we eat here again, most definitely.

Extra thanks to the Chef, Pete, and Mine Host John... well done, look forward to visiting you again.

Room Tip: Apologies we cannot review the room facilities as we didn't stay the night, as we were only dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chris0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We went to The Beach Motel again just for one night this time. The room (4) was big and so was the bed. It had a hair dryer, TV and even an iron and ironing board. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate what more could a person want. It had with a wonderful whirlpool bath with bubbles and shampoo. Wifi was free. It was a Thursday night, quiz night with free sandwiches for those who joined in. The restaurant food was plentiful and of good quality. There was also good beer and very good company. Breakfast was plentiful too. A really enjoyable trip all round.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We only went for food in driftwood but I was so disappointed I had fish and chips and the fish was over cooked the staff were slow at serving us and there were only a couple of people there witch I would not understand how these staff would cope on a busy summer holiday day, I would recommend a try but I will not be rushing back anytime soon

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhysparry3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachMotel, General Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi
Thank you for your comments. did you say anything on the night so we could rectify the matter?

I would be grateful if you could contact me by phone 01407 860332 or email jhanby@thebeachmotel.co.uk for further info

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel has comfy rooms and friendly staff. The rooms are spacious and warm with comfy beds. The shower is good. The food is acceptable and reasonably priced. The only downside is the door to the rooms, these are external doors and when the wind blows, which seems to be a lot, the wind whistles through the gap. I would stay again but make sure I had some ear plugs.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeachMotel, General Manager at The Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hi
Thank you for your comments.
I have not been made aware of any problems from window noise.
But now it has been brought to my attention I will certainly rectify this problem.

If you stay with us again within the next 12 months we will sort out some form of recompense for you.

regards
John Hanby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Took my wife on a Valentines week-end to this motel as a surprise! We weren't disappointed
it was all that we could wish for. Beautiful room, excellent staff and fantastic food!! We were made to feel at home with all the 'Bay' people who frequent the London pub and even though the weather was stormy it was packed. The beach is within walking distance and we will return with our five grandchildren in the summer (if the staff don't mind!!) You can have interconnecting rooms which is great. All in all a great place to stay and visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This motel exceeded our expectations completely.
The room was spotless and very spacious, the bed comfortable..
No cause for complaint at all.
We enjoyed a delicious breakfast both mornings.
And a delicious evening meal both deals too!
We were more than happy with the value for money angle, and we actually couldn't eat the huge meals we got both evenings.
Every single staff member we encountered were really pleasant and friendly and they simply could not do enough for us.
When we checked out we promised another visit in better weather conditions, and its a promise we intend to keep!

Room Tip: We asked for a room close to the reception, but if you are a light sleeper (we are not) then the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trearddur Bay
0.4 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
19.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#2 of 3 in Valley
129 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Motel

Address: Lon St. Ffraid | Holyhead, Trearddur Bay LL65 2YT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Price Range: £64 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run motel that offers great value accommodation in the heart of Trearddur Bay, Anglesey. We are just short stroll from Trearddur Bay's beautiful blue flag beach and only a 10 minute drive from nearby Holyhead. We have clean, modern rooms that are all en-suite with tea & coffee making facilities, a flat screen TV, hair dryer with free wifi and parking. Our bathrooms are fitted with showers and whirlpool spa baths, perfect to relax in after exploring the island or a day on the beach. Our Driftwood Restaurant & Bar serves delicious homemade food, local cask ales and our famous traditional carvery on a Sunday. For those using the ferry, we are happy to arrange late arrivals and early departures prior to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel Trearddur Bay
The Beach Motel Trearddur Bay, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing