We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Food Review (Treardur Bay Hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Northern Chap
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bar Food Review (Treardur Bay Hotel)”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice bar with a good selection of ales, family friendly, unfortunately the food here in the bar was terrible.

We ordered the fish and chips, assuming we would be getting fresh produce (being by the sea and all that). Wrong, all frozen.... frozen packet fish, not cooked properly, wet & soggy, very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    191
    107
    54
    44
See reviews for
160
239
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I recently had to stay at the Trearddur Bay Hotel for a number of weeks while on business. It's a very good hotel for the business traveller and, I suspect, for holidaymakers too. Rooms are comfortable, spacious, and every room that I stayed in had been refurbished in the recent past. They were all individual too. I think I stayed in about 5 or 6 rooms and never had the same layout and ambience twice. Very clean and tidy too. Food: there's the bar with bar-type snacks and a restaurant for slightly more up market fare. Both are good at what they do. Bar menus are pretty standard but the food here was tasty and looked good. The restaurant also - I ate there most nights and couldn't fault it. Good restaurant quality food without astronomical prices; a good wine list and pleasant and professional staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have just come back from Trearrdur Bay Hotel after a short break.
We stayed in Rm 5 which has a balcony, overlooking the bay on a Dinner bed and breakfast basis, and could not fault it.
The Bay restaurant was where we ate and, all the meals and service were superb, in particular the Welsh lamb which was cooked to perfection. For breakfast there is everything from fresh fruit, cereals, muffins, cold meats plus full welsh breakfast as standard, you can of course choose other breakfast cooked to order. The staff are very helpful and polite.

Whilst we were there we were fortunate to have an air display by the Red Arrows who were practising at nearby RAF Valley. Excellent stay at our favourite hotel in Anglesey.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are the best although more expensive they are also worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Some where I'd always wanted too stay, but wouldn't pay the normal rack rate, so when found a cheap deal , we booked. Very nice room, although over looked security guard's caravan! Wouldn't have been very happy if paid £155. Been and done but wouldn't stay again, nice but not worth the price . Breakfast just about kept warm, eggs over cooked and looked horrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Nice hotel, lots of parking, great location. Staff were very helpful and polite. Room was very nice although I would of preferred a balcony for the price I paid. I was in room 6 which was a Deluxe double, rooms 1 to 5 on that floor have a balcony for the same price. Lots of lighting in the room, which I like. Lovely views from windows. Restaurant was fully booked so we ate in the bar, which was very full as well. Food was nice and reasonable price in the bar. The pool is a short walk from the hotel and very clean. Breakfast was a help yourself style, lots of choice and well presented. We really enjoyed our stay. Free Wifi was great too.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaronIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The large room that I was given on a recent visit was good. Both bathroom and room were clean and sleep quality was very good.The restaurant food was also good though somewhat unimaginative.Staff were friendly and helpful.
However other aspects led to a less than enjoyable stay.
I had a room with a balcony. The window was of the slide and tilt design. The problem was that it neither slid nor tilted correctly. To get the window open (this was the access to the balcony) took a great deal of pulling and pushing. The result of which was that the large window became skewed and at an angle of 45 degrees to the horizontal. When I tried to close the window I was again faced with the problems that I had had on opening it.
When I did get to the balcony I couldn't stay out there. Just about 8 meters away was an extractor unit from the kitchen so all the smells of the kitchen were blown directly in my direction.
Whoever designed the extensions to the hotel deserves the wooden spoon as an award. It is true that there was a view of the bay from my (skewed) window however a house had been built presumably after the original hotel had been built and this house blocked a great deal of the view.Immediately below the balcony no attempt has been made to beautify the area in any way.and it all looks shabby.
To get to my room I had to climb and descend several flights of stairs and cover quite a distance from the reception area.There was no lift : even had there been one it would have taken a genius to design the way it would travel as the way to the rooms was like a maze over several different levels. Anyone with more than small hand luggage is faced with quite a task.
There is a swimming pool. This however is some 40 meters from the main building and quite separate from it - something that would discourage many people used to hotel swimming pools being in the main building of an hotel or at least accessed by a covered walkway.
The immediate area around the hotel is not really attractive being spoilt by ad hoc buildings dotted at random all around. One wonders if the planners had ever visited Trearddur before granting planning permission. A little away from the immediate vicinity is the type of countryside that one expects in north Wales beautiful,rugged and tranquil.
All this said however the hotel has its quota of loyal fans a fact I discovered in listening to various remarks made by other guests.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is located and watch for those kitchen extractors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent the day at the beach and went here for food early evening, i found the service good the food was average nothing special, the price was average. why do restaurants never add butter or grapes to a cheese board?

Room Tip: only ate here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trearddur Bay
20.0 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
22.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
21.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
13.8 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trearddur Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trearddur Bay Hotel

Property: Trearddur Bay Hotel
Address: Lon Isallt, Trearddur Bay LL65 2UN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trearddur Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trearddur Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trearddur Bay Hotel Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing