We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming and elegant house in a wild and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Tan Y Cytiau Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tan Y Cytiau Cottage
Main Living Room Main Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Tan Y Cytiau Cottage
Main Living Room
Main Living Room
Dining Room seating up to 8 people
Kitchen
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Loft Living Room
Loft Twin Bedroom
Fantastic Sea Views
Luxury Bathroom
Luxury Toilet
Tan Y Cytiau Cottage
Alfresco Dining with Views of the Mountains and Sea
Time for a BBQ and Fun in the Garden -  Lovely Views
Sunbathing on the Lovely Sunloungers and Terrace
Chill and Read the Papers over looking the Sea
Beautiful Lush Gardens to relax and Great for Children to play
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel_Mu...
Godalming, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A charming and elegant house in a wild and windswept location.”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A beautiful Arts and Crafts house that was spacious and sympathetically furnished. The view across the sea to the Llyn Peninsula when we arrived was stunning. The weather closed for the rest of the stay and we were nearly blown away on Holyhead mountain and at South Stack.
The only drawback was the noise from the people renting the cottage as the bedrooms were very close. It would be wonderful to go back with a larger group and rent the whole building.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quality In Every Way”
Reviewed 13 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful setting and a Five Star House setting.
Our Wedding Anniversary was made memorable as a result.
A perfect location with breathtaking views.
The quality of facilities and recent new decorating is remarkable.
The Beds are really comfy and the "rain" shower gets you ready for the day.
Sue Powney is a revelation.
Her care to make your stay enjoyable has no bounds.
We cannot recommend this enough.
Make sure you eat at Dylans in Menai.
South Stack Lighthouse and RSPB Birds are a few minutes walk.
You need a Car to enjoy this location and travel around Anglesey and beyond.
We will be going back in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combined House and setting.
Liked least: Nothing to disloke.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolcoat...
Montaut, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fur coat no knickers”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We arrived at this beautifully presented and clean house in an amazing location on a cool evening in November. We turned the heating to 'continuous' to warm ourselves as there are many drafts through ill fitting doors, two days later the owner presented herself for the first time with the words 'who's been tampering with the heating, you could have blown the tanks' rather than 'welcome'. Apparently the heater is on a timer and you are only allowed a few hours morning and evening. Next day the heating controls were padlocked! A bit disappointing on this exposed windy site. For entertainment you can listen to the conversation of the people in the adjoining cottage on the first floor only separated by an internal door. Or watch and listen to the comings and goings of the people who share your hall on the other side, There are quite a few holiday lets packed in to the property. The rooms are beautifully decorated with many tasteful ornaments adorning every available surface. It appears to be all for show, scratch the surface and there is little substance. There were only two small sauce pans to cook for eight people. The cutlery is cheap and nasty and only nine sets so don't bother with a starter, same with the chipped crockery. I was told not to worry as it will all be changed for next season, so if you holiday late in the year prepare for the worst. There are no mirrors in 3 of the bedrooms to do your hair or make-up. When I asked where we could leave wet coats and boots in this cottage on the clifftop, I was told they should be hung in wardrobes in bedrooms. I suggested some hooks in hallway would be useful I was informed 'this is not the look we're going for' This pretty much sums it up, all for show rather than comfort and convenience of guests. Fur coat, no knickers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: attitude of owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2014
Review read, and the title of the review is totally unprofessional and not necessary, to keep it brief the guests wished for the heating to be on a large country cottage on three levels for 24 hours a day, the outside temperature was 13 degrees and sunny with no wind and all our other guests were sitting in the gardens and walking around outside with no coats. The timer is set to 6.30am - 11am and then 3pm - 11pm - leaving a small gap in the day for the use of logs and coal for the lovely open fire - also heaters can be given in extreme cold weather but rarely asked for as the house has new glazing throughout, new commercial boiler and radiators in every room , new Axminster carpets and beautiful Laura Ashley bedspreads. Never had a complaint about the crockery or cutlery - all good quality from different large department stores and all new.
Please be assured we offer the best quality and standards to all our guests and quite shocked to hear such awful comments. I felt we were very helpful and when the guests asked for a few extra requests we were more than happy to assist with these requests at all times - Best Wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Mote
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Blooming Brilliant”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I seriously couldn't believe my eyes - so much space, stunning views and a kitchen that was really well stocked with amazing pots and pans (yes that matters to me when I have to cook for 7 people every night :) )
Beaumaris was a lovely place and living smack in the middle of it was just fantastic - whether you fancied an ice-cream or a castle visit!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Area and style of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HPB53
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, peaceful, spacious , fantastic views, huge well equipped garden.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Tan Y Citiau Cottage to be met by Sue who showed us around the property before we settled down to the un packing followed by a welcome cuppa and slice of home made Bara Brith provided by Sue. We were a party of 6 adults and one 9 month baby. There were enough rooms to accommodate us all. The kitchen was small but well equipped and there was a utilility room adjoining the kitchen. The property had 2 fridges which was useful for our larger party. The washing machine and dryer were put to good use. There was a washing line in the owners garden which we were able to use. One tiny point is that a clothes airer would have been useful and as far as I can comment this is a minor detail. A car is a must at this location to access the 2 local beaches of Porth Dafarch and Trearrdur Bay. The roads are more like country lanes so not suitable for pushing prams or pushchairs.The cottage is within walking distance albeit uphill to the RSPB reserve and South Stack lighthouse and is on the route of the Anglesey coastal path. We also walked the circular trail around Holyhead mountain which was quite a challenging walk even for a seasoned walker. We liked this remote ,peaceful property which felt like a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location/garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing