We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to try harder at these prices.”
Review of The Waterfront Restaurant - CLOSED

The Waterfront Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bury
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Need to try harder at these prices.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting this bar for 10 years now and have seen it change hands so many times we've lost count! This season's new start seems to have got a lot right.
The winter refurbishment has been very good. The creation of a lounge type section is great and doing away with the cafe style chairs and tables was inspired, this is now a comfortable, pleasant place to sit and have a drink or meal with views to die for !
What a pity the same cannot be said for the outside space. The terrace overlooking the sea is the jewel in the crown for this place - why spoil it with ashtrays full to the edge with water with butts floating in it? .... and don't get me started about the lump of chewing gum stuck under the table where I sat - ugh, like being back at school ! To make this a 4 star review this space needs sorting out.
The staff were really pleasant, polite and friendly, particularly the young man who came to collect our plates - it was nice to be asked if the meal had been ok.
The food was really tasty, we had a chargrilled vegetable hot sandwich which was excellent and we were really pleased that they didn't have any problems substituting chips for fries. The prices are high,though - we would eat a full meal here but it would be inside and I'm afraid not as frequently as we would like due to the prices.
On a hot sunny day there really is no substitute for sitting here with beer admiring the sea, the view alone is 5 star !!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarkie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First visit to wales and would gladly come again, visited the waterfront restaurant and had a lovely meal while watching the boats on the sea, what an idyllic location!!! the staff were very helpful and very polite. Would definitely recommend to friends about this place! Good job

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviddiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Could do better!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I am afraid the meal was a great disappointment for a restaurant in such a wonderful position. The staff were very kind but certainly needed more training. We had to constantly ask for things i.e. can we have black pepper, our crusty bread which came with our starter etc. No parmesan was offered with the spaghetti I could go on. We even had to open our own bottle of wine! For the cost that we were charged for the meal this service was very unacceptable. In other words, over priced and greatly underplayed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Joy!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and great service...such a beautiful location to relax and unwind...and great food too. Turkey and mushroom pie with the shortcrust pastry was delicious. :)!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jxhnno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nicely done”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A is for ahead of any nearby competition for value and has the feeling of belonging before walking inside. The beach needs resilient establishment's and has the WATERFRONT among it's gems.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey
Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey
 
Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 
Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey
Valley, Island of Anglesey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing