We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bull Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stopped here on our way home from shopping and were really surprised with the lovely food. The 3 of us had carvery with puds and drinks.the bill was just over £40. Very reasonable. The staff (young girls) were really friendly and polite and we recieved table service even though it was a carvery. Food was good. And hot :) although the broccoli was a bit overcooked. Puds were home made and delicious. Overall I was very happy and will go again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    30
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
35
36
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We went to the Bull tonight for a 65th birthday treat for my husband.Pleasant staff behind bar,ordered food and waited nearly an hour with no sign of our meal arriving and no condiments or cutlery as yet forth coming.I approached the girl behind the bar and asked how long would our meal be,"oh haven't you had it yet" she says and went into the kitchen. Was then told it would just be a couple of minutes,,,well I'm sorry but it doesn't take an hour to cook a rib eye steak.and serve a curry which would have already been prepared..I really think we had been forgotten about,was informed we could have a sweet free because of our long wait but even when we had finished our meal no one came to the table to clear away.The bar staff were far too busy chatting too the males at the bar. Must add that the food was good just a pity it was spoilt by such poor service.Mrs M Bradshaw Anglesey.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valley hotels

Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed for one night the 26th October. On arrival we were welcomed by a lovely lady behind the bar and shown to our room. The room was newly refurbished with a superking bed and was extremely clean and inviting. En-suite was spot on with a new electric shower, washbasin and toilet, smelt lovely on arrival. Loads of wardrobe, drawers and shelf space (rare these days in hotel rooms). Bed was new and very comfortable as were the pillows. Plenty of tea/coffee/milk provided, also biscuits and bottled water. A lovely little feature was a vase of fresh flowers in the room. Good selection of TV channels. The upstairs corridors had been refurbished and new carpets laid with flowers/plants in various places.
We ate in the refurbished restaurant in the evening and the food was lovely and all freshly cooked!
Breakfast was excellent, a lovely choice, all freshly cooked and the full english was massive.
Apart from your fruit/cereal/yoghurts/juice to start with, it was all brought to you, not self service like many hotels.
The whole pub area has also been refurbished with new carpets etc.
We used to go to the restaurant years ago to eat out whilst at the caravan at Trearddur Bay, and I believe it has been on the decline over the years.
The new owner has put so much into this establishment recently and deserves the custom.
OK its still being refurbished and hiccups will happen but I stay at top class private and also chain hotels around the world and this one is very, very acceptable. All the staff go out of their way to help with any little problems you may have.
I would not hesitate to stay again, thank you
PS....... would have loved the picture in the room opposite the bed! lol x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bowshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The restaurant at the Bull has been given a makeover so it's now fresh and much brighter. We really like that there is an 'open' kitchen and it is possible to see the chefs at work. I had creamed garlic mushrooms to start which were absolutely delicious, followed by a rump steak which was beautifully cooked. Little touches were added such as a sprig of rosemary in the grilled tomato which looked really pretty and added a lovely flavour. For pud I had the sticky toffee pudding with ice cream, just the right amount and lovely sponge. My fellow diners also enjoyed their meals. The service was attentive but not too much and very friendly and helpful. We will certainly visit again soon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank holyheadlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night. The pub side of the business was excellent with friendly efficient staff. The hotel side of the business however does leave a lot to be desired. The room was clean but very tired looking. On the up side breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Sunday carvery is extremely good. A great choice of meats including turkey. The vegetables are perfectly cooked and for the price, it is probably. Cheaper than cooking at home.
Not a bad idea to book a table first.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ynys mon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Not having visited the bull for a couple of years we decided to give it a try having seen from th outside how much work the present management are putting into the place to try and get it back up on its feet. The food was excellent and the portions generous. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food for 8 of us arrived together, piping hot. Well done, I hope the bull continues to improve and gets back up and running to achieve the reputation it had quite a few years ago!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ollie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley
2.5 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
12.4 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Property: Bull Hotel
Address: London Road, Valley LL65 3DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Valley, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing