We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always friendly”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Dwygyfylchi, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always friendly”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We eat in the bar at the anchorage every couple of weeks and are never dissappointed with the quality of the food, the friendly attentive service. The bar menu has options for every type of diner, my mother likes tasty small portions, my husband loves good meat dishes and I change according to mood, ( and weight status!), we are all catered for exceptionally well .
We eat out most Mondays and The anchorage is one of the few places we go to where you can always rely on, good food and a warm welcome!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graffips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    44
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
43
28
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Poor quality workmanship completely spoilt refurbished room. Service abysmal. In the middle of nowhere. Food very average. 2 sachets of shampoo in the bathroom, had to ask for soap. At £89.50 for a room, this is a rip-off.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suetweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Booked three rooms on a Saturday night for a Christening nearby the next day. On pulling up outside first impressions were pretty good, reception was empty, being run by a nice lady who was running the public bar next door as well. Booking in was painless and quick, we were in the annex a building next to the main hotel, the rooms were clean and tidy in slight need of a bit of maintainance but the wife was happy after the usual finger test.
Only concern was the bed being slightly "tired" and the roll together factor meant we didnt have a good nights sleep, but not a bad one!. Bathroom again was clean, although a faulty valve on the shower meant no hot water on the shower although the bath water was piping hot. We ate in the bar at night eight of us all had different things,no complaints from anyone all the food was hot and well presented the sweets adding another inch to my bulging waistline. The main restraunt in the hotel seemed busy but a tad pricy for our budget. Bar prices were a little heavy but the next pub being along way down the road you are a bit of a captive audience so to speak. Breakfast was good although a little bit more care on the breakfast table would have been better.
Overall a quite enjoyable stay albeit too brief to give a better account, the view from the front of the hotel was lovely, the hotel could do with a bit of modernizing and a bit of updating but all of our party enjoyed themselves, for reference ages were from 15 through to 80

Room Tip: The annex is very quiet and away from the hotel, but if its raining take a brolley. Room 38 was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

6 friends went for evening meal. We all chose something different from the menu and were all very satisfied with portions and presentation, Meals came within 15 minutes and were piping hot. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Anchorage to visitors to the Island.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

a few of us decided to go out as a birthday meal the anchorage was to be the meeting place for a drink and an enjoyable meal supposible,we arrived to a not very busy bar we each orderd your meals over half of us had poor meals the other half had meals such as fish and chips & currys not a great deal of cooking involved there,a very poor show considering the price of the food,we will not be visiting the anchorage for a long time again, next time try a bit further down the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jono-wales123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here on and off over a four week period, we stayed in comfortable modern rooms, a college did stay in an another room which was a little dated. The staff were great and always had a smile on there face, the little blond barmaid always cheered us up after a hard day digging out, the food both evening meals and breakfast was exceptional. I can reccomend the pancakes !! The only negative was there simply wasn't enough ships crests on the wall for my liking. BZ Anchorage !! look forward to our next holiday next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Went for a Sat treat to save the Mrs having to cook. The staff kindly showed us to our table and took our orders. Whilst it was very busy, we did not wait for long for our meals to be served. The food is best described as low fuss,tasty, and very good value,the kids menu is however a little basic and could be a little more imaginative. The staff are always pleasant and a very pleasant evening was had by all. Also there is always an exellent choice from the bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley
1.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
631 reviews
13.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
320 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
311 reviews
11.0 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
20.5 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Four Mile Bridge, Valley, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Valley, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing