We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This is really a pub. Some bedrooms are in the mien building and others are in an annex. This is a windy, cold place and walking from the annex to the main building, though only about 25 meters, can be a sobering experience. The rooms are well appointed, warm and fresh. Beer is good but the food is not. Over cooked and made as cheaply as possible. Would I stay again? Only if I could eat else where.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Glug43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    44
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
27
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a disaster with a holiday cottage a short drive away. They were great with us and our four children, very welcoming, helped to sterilise and store bottles. Nothing was too much to ask. The family room was recently decorated but the rest of the hotel was a little dated. Everywhere however was cleaned to a high standard. Bar food was a bit basic for the price but was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsvap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Anchorage. Our room was spacious and had a beautiful view overlooking the pasture in the back. The pub was wonderful - including a couple of stray cats that are now in residence! The restaurant served excellent food - we ate in the dining room, although I'm sure the pub fare was just as good. The staff wasn't over friendly, but the location, room, food and drink made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 860happytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Anchorage for 3 nights inAugust while visiting family. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The room was a good size with a nice view. It had all necessary facilities. For the price, it was an excellent stay. We had a lobster dinner one night which was tasty and good value for money. Would recommend for a relaxed B and B stay. Great beaches in the local area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The best I can say about The Anchorage is that the view from a few of the bedrooms is excellent. We stayed at this hotel as I knew it from thirty years ago but in comparison to other hotels on Anglesey it was very overpriced, in fact when we came to pay the proprietor 'forgot' to discount the bill (for a special weekend offer) until I reminded him. Our bedroom was situated in an annex of the hotel and to gain entrance you had to enter a code for the keylock - unfortunately the door's self closer wasn't working and the building was open to anyone so the code was superfluous.....

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebird44954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This has been a regular place to eat for my family over the years and again the bar food did not disappoint. It is a well-run, family owned business, who pride themselves on the service.

The service was quick the food was good. There was no problem changing salad or veg options. Unlike many other places where is brought in, portion controlled and only requires heating up, the food in the Anchorage is prepared freshly on the premises with the only exception being a few of the desserts. Portions are a good size and there's something for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazz-1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A very tasty meal to be had by all I have not been hear for a long time and was not disappointed food good staff good and a good night out oh yes good beer I had a nice time we all went home full and will be going there soon

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley
0.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Four Mile Bridge, Valley, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Valley, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing