We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely long weekend away!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Valley, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Cathe...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely long weekend away!”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My family (13 of us) stayed for a long weekend and we all had a great time! The owner was there to meet us and took the time to show us around the property and how everything worked and suggested places to go etc. The house is well equipped and clean and has a utility room with an extra toilet. What was especially great for us was the outdoor space and the countryside views. The hot tub was spotless and in full working order and the bbq hut was fantastic (coal was provided by the owner). It was sunny when we were there and so ate the bbq outside but it would be cosy to eat inside the hut in colder weather. The kids had so much to play with....the playground, basketball, skittles, little cars, balls etc not to mention all the DVD’s and the Wii. The young adults loved the pool table aswell.
All in all, a great place to stay in Anglesey

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenique A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Innocent, not guilty.”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
5
people found this review helpful

After spending a seemingly good week at the property, despite minor set backs such as blunt knives, empty hot tub and broken toilet seats, we were accused of breaking the already obviously broken basketball hoop and pool table that was secretly balancing on a faulty leg. Part of our deposit was withheld because of the accusations saying we were the ones who broke it, when we did nothing of the sort and were subjected to obvious safety hazards.

Be aware.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mspwal
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“***BEWARE THIS PROPERTY*** ***BEWARE THIS OWNER***”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in March 2018
4
people found this review helpful

***BEWARE THIS PROPERTY***
***BEWARE THIS OWNER***

Myself and my extended family spent a week at this cottage. We are all professionals and use and respect properties as though they are our own.
The week was riddled with problems. The cottage is presented to a sub-standard condition, and is essentially dirty. We all left early!

After giving the owner feedback, she accused us of causing the mess and withheld the £200 bond. She claimed it needed 21 hours of cleaning. I do not contest it did need this amount of cleaning; what I do contest is that we caused it!

The owner turned up unannounced at the property, and she is not interested in any constructive feedback about the property, despite some of our concerns about the property being downright dangerous.

She also accused the previous occupants of stealing computer gaming equipment and us of taking the visitor’s book! This is no way to run a business, and I urge people to think long and hard before booking this property…

Please look at my attached photographs of the condition of the cottage, they will speak for themselves.

I will now list some specific issues we had with this place, in no particular order:-

• Hot tub not working
• General cleanliness: - Dirty carpets, radiators, cutlery drawers, fridge door/hinges, bathroom and showers…bedding that smelled of grease.
• The electrics tripped in the property on a couple of occasions, the fuse box signalled the BBQ hut was at fault (which we couldn’t use because of this)
• The baby crib was broken with exposed screws sticking out of the wood.
• The conservatory roof leaked onto the dining table when it rained
• The guttering for the conservatory is not actually attached and is currently lay on the lawn underneath the conservatory window.
• The shower head in the en-suite bathroom was full of black mould; the bath/shower surround was mouldy.
• Toilet roll holder was broken.
• The extractor fan did not work.
• Towels in poor condition… small, old and tatty.
• Broken toilet seat in the main bathroom
• The table tennis table was broken and damaged at the bottom of the garden
• Broken TV stand/TVs not working properly
• All kitchen knives were blunt (we could not slice any bread!)
• There was no coffee pot/cafetiere
• Mugs were cracked, colander and graters rusty and broken.
• There were staples coming out of the back of a sitting chair in the single bedroom.
• The shower pressure was poor
• There was no hand wash or toilet blocks
• No hairdryer at the property
• Pool cue broken
• There were musty smells in the end double and single rooms
• Ripped wallpaper
• A broken wooden panel on the outdoor ten pin bowling alley which was dangerous.
• The lounge sofa arm was broken.
• Light fittings in the conservatory missing bulb covers.
• Back of remote control missing (batteries falling out)
• Window in double room with nursery not opening properly, the other one rusted
• There were rats in the garden. There are no rat traps around the surrounds of the property.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay at Cae Glas and I am very sorry you were disappointed with this property.
I can see we have discussed the issues you experienced at length, however, due to the fact the owner has reported damage to the property, we have been unable to resolve your complaint to your satisfaction.

Should you wish to speak to us directly, we ask that you contact us on 01244 345700.

Kind Regards,
The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valley hotels

Linda W
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rats, dodgy electrics, no hot tub, rude owner”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
6
people found this review helpful

This is the first time I’ve left a holiday early in my life. In fact, we all did. The only occupants that didn’t desert this sinking ship were the many rats living around the property. If you’re thinking of booking here - please think again. I stayed here with family in April and there were so many problems I don’t know where to begin. We raised all the issues with the owner, Donna, before, during and since the holiday and she was extremely uncooperative and unreasonable. Sykes Cottage were no help either. Caveat emptor clearly. The owner gave us 10% discount for the lack of hot tub but then kept our £200 bond for reasons best known to herself. We are all reasonable, honest people - among us were a police officer, teacher - and have never been in a dispute such as this before. Please check out my other trip advisor reviews - this is the first negative one.

First the hot tub - one of the reasons we booked the place - was not working and apparently it wasn’t working for the previous guests, suggesting not much effort had been made to get it fixed.
Second, the aforementioned rats. They say if you can see one rat, there are another 30 hidden. We saw three.
Third, the kitchen. The rings on the cooker would not heat up enough to get a pan to boil. All the sharp knives were blunt and there was no bread knife. The fridge was so warm that food became mouldy after a couple of days. This may well have been partly why 12 out of a party of 14 caught various stomach bugs while there. It certainly can’t have helped.
Four, the electrics are dodgy and we had a couple of power cuts. This seems to have stemmed from the cart lodge - meaning we couldn’t use this at all.
Five, it is advertised as having seven TVs. And it has seven TVs. Just not seven TVs that work.
Six, the area round the shower was black and mouldy and the loo seat was broken - we pointed this out and Donna later had the brass neck to suggest that we had broken it.
Seven, the general decor, hygiene, sheets and towels were all substandard and not what you would expect for a £1,800/week property.

While we were there the owner came round without asking our permission or even letting us know. She did this on a day when all but one of our party had gone out, taking all the cars, suggesting she was waiting for the house to be empty. And after that we were unable to find the visitors book.

Anglesey is a beautiful place and I would wholeheartedly recommend it but just not Cae Glas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your chosen property.
I can see we have spoken with you directly at length regarding your experience, and regrettably due to the fact the owner has reported damage to the property, we have been unable to resolve your complaint to your satisfaction.

Should you wish to speak to us directly, we ask that you contact us on 01244 345700.

Kind Regards,
The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deb442018
Leeds, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would NOT recommend this cottage”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018
7
people found this review helpful

For anyone thinking of booking this cottage, please think twice for the following reasons;

It advertised a hot tub but it didn't work
It advertised a table tennis table but it was in bits at the bottom of the garden
The sheets were so old they were bobbly
The mattresses were so old you could feel every spring
There was a crib for a brand new baby which fell apart when we took it off the floor. Thank goodness we didn't need to use it!!
The conservatory roof leaked!
The general cleanliness of the cottage was below standard. we found old food under one of the beds. The shower heads were black with mildew. The drawers in the kitchen hasn't been cleaned out in ages.
We saw two rats in the garden.
I could go on.
The owner has handled the feedback appallingly and as a consequence hasn't returned our bond despite several times of asking. Be aware handing any money over to the owner of this cottage. Dreadful way to run a business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your chosen property.
I can see we have spoken with you directly at length regarding your experience, and regrettably due to the fact the owner has reported damage to the property, we have been unable to resolve your complaint to your satisfaction.

Should you wish to speak to us directly, we ask that you contact us on 01244 345700.

Kind Regards,
The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Faulty hot tub”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this cottage at the beginning of March this year. We booked this cottage because of the hot tub. We was away with friends for a 40th birthday weekend. When we arrived on the Friday the hot tub was out of use & we was not informed of this prior to our visit. We stayed a total of 3 nights & only had use of the hot tub for one day as it was too cold. The owner was not interested & rude. Would not recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickiC369
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent New Year Visit”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

13 of us visited for a new year break for a week, and it was a very nice place to stay. The added features of an indoor barbecue and games room were definitely big plusses. The location was very close to RAF Valley so those who enjoyed plane spotting had a good time watching jets going over in during the days they were flying. It was also fairly near to a beach (around a 20 minute walk) which took you by the side of the runway of the airport which was also very interesting.

The bedrooms were all of a good size and there were plenty of towels and bedding etc supplied. There was also plenty of cutlery and crockery, which given the size of our group, and lack of a dishwasher was essential.

The only thing I would say about this that wasnt positive, is that it would probably be better for 2-3 small families rather than adults, purely due to the lack of a dishwasher and only having the one master bathroom - There are two bathrooms but one is an en-suite, so it meant 9+ adults using the one bathroom, which could be an issue for some groups - it wasnt for us as we worked around it quite well, but others may be more fussy.

Overall it was a lovely break away, the cottage had a lot of facilities and was close by to a lot of Anglesey's attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing