We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish groupon afternoon tea”
Review of Holt Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holt Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rubbish groupon afternoon tea”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Bought as a treat to myself, partner, mum and nan, my nan doesn't get out much and is quite picky when eating so thought a nice selection of sandwiches and cakes that she would like something! Nope! Sandwiches was very odd and never been served salad sandwiches?! Slightly embarrassed as every other afternoon tea I've had has been beautiful, not this one! Tea on dirty chipped mugs (yes mugs) cakes was shop bought and of low quality, sparkling wine was probably the best thing and I don't like sparkling wine. My nan ate 1 sandwich and half a scone. On the way home I offered to call in at a chippy as she hardly eaten, at least she enjoyed that. I'd choose a different location as the food was poor and not good value for money even on a groupon and the place is tired and dated.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard1982, General Manager at Holt Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. Generally the feedback for the afternoon tea has been excellent. We took the decision to use mugs based on customer feedback, however we have now reviewed the policy and from now on we will be offering customers either mugs or coffee cups. We have also thrown away the offending cups and can only apologise for the cups you were served. Please rest assured your customers have been passed onto the kitchen.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    97
    59
    17
    26
See reviews for
104
105
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

stayed here on the 07/06/14 as a friend had their wedding day an night do here ,, was very disappointed with the room tiles on wall in bathroom were a yellow colour tiles round toilet were broken one actually moved when u went to the toilet .. very expensive but defiantly not worth the money .. drinks were expensive and not very nice either ..
did tell them bout bathroom still not heard nowt back ..

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiora24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard1982, General Manager at Holt Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We have now started upgrading all our bathroom suits. Over the next 12 months we will strive to have every bathroom up to what will be an excellent standard. We for obvious reasons have started with the bathroom you stayed in. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Easy to find. Be aware of the large pot holes on the drive. Expensive for what it was. Restaurant was not up to much. The carvery special wasn't very nice. pre-heated veg tasteless gravy. Was attending a function over the week-end and was very disappointed with the buffet for the price we paid. bathroom facilities for disabled people were very poor. Shower over the bath not acceptable. breakfast very poor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabb523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Had excellent afternoon tea for two today. Great afternoon tea and service. Front of house superb!!! Lovely friendly staff for whom nothing seemed too much bother.just like many reviewed had our bubbly immediately but could have chosen to have it later. The food arrived almost right away and there was plenty of choice. Great choice, nice sandwiches, cake and scones very fresh and tasty. Plenty of our tea,which wa served in a choice of china mug or china cup and saucer. Really nice touch. Definately back soon with my husband. Glad we found the voucher thanks Holt Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdvocate1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I reserved two rooms for the 10th of May when i rang up i April I had £60 taken as a deposit and a reservation letter was sent to me confirming the date of 10th May, when I arrived I was told as you did not come yesterday the full amount of money has been taken from your account my reaction was why when my booking was for the 10th they insisted it was for the 9th so i placed the letter on the desk that confirmed the booking was for the 10th May the lady said I was the one who sent that letter and it is for the 10th, I will see if we still have any rooms My reaction was i hope so i have driven here from, Somerset we were given two rooms but it was a very bad start to our stay and put a damper on our visit we booked a table for 6 o clock for a carvery but by 6..30 we were fed up of waiting two couples walked out they had waited longer than us i asked why the delay and was told the veg is being reheated i will find somewhere else to stay if i visit Wales again

Room Tip: Make sure you keep all your booking letters and maybe double check
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandora10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard1982, General Manager at Holt Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly can I apologise for the mistake made with your booking. A new head receptionist, Karren, has been appointed to ensure that such errors do not happen again.

I have also passed on your comments to the restaurant staff who are fully aware how important it is to ensure that our customers receive excellent customer service at all times and on this occasion we did not deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had sparklie afternoon tea for two today. What a treat. Lovely friendly staff for whom nothing seemed to be a bother.We had our bubbly immediately but could have chosen to have it later. The food arrived almost right away and there was plenty of filling in all of them. The scones and cakes were all very fresh and tasty. We had top ups of our tea,which wa served in a choice of china mug or china cup and saucer. How good is that? I will try and go again soon with some more friends.Well done Holt Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desiree m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely afternoon tea at Holt lodge. Bought it through groupon as a Mother's Day present for my mum , well worth the money , lovely fresh sandwiches , plenty of cakes and fresh hot coffee. The lady that served us was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble , lovely hotel will definitely be returning . Thankyou for a lovely afternoon x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 33Rach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
3.3 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
4.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holt Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holt Lodge Hotel

Property: Holt Lodge Hotel
Address: Wrexham Road, Holt, Wrexham LL13 9SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holt Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into our world, where everything we do revolves around you..... Attentive from the moment of first contact; we strive to ensure your every need is met and make it our business to see you are happy and comfortable and it's this attention to detail; our willingness to do just that little bit more, that makes us so different to other hotels in the Wrexham area. Make Holt Lodge your sanctuary to return to after a busy day's work; shopping or sightseeing; take the weight off your feet and snuggle into our big comfy sofas. Perhaps enjoy a refreshing pick-me-up, whilst pondering later dining plans. Whether for business or pleasure; for the day; one night or several, our brief remains constant - it's all about you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holt Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Holt
Holt Lodge Hotel Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing