We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed in mid-Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
Ranked #3 of 16 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed in mid-Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This marvellous cottage is set in a beautiful, peaceful location and the rooms are very tastefully appointed. The breakfasts were first class, as was the opportunity to talk at the breakfast table with the other guests and Marilyn and Dave, who were excellent hosts. They (literally) pointed us in the direction of a terrific hill walk up to the Jubilee Tower and had masses of information about the attractions of the area. The joys of this landscape are well-known but, for this reviewer, Ruthin was a well-hidden secret. It's a lovely market town with fine buildings and facilities, including a craft centre with exhibitions of national importance and a fine café. We shall be returning!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Picardy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
105
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I needed a break from stresses at home and Plas Efenechtyd was the perfect solution. I had stayed there once before and knew it was the place to go for peace and quiet, beautiful surroundings and extremely welcoming hosts. The room was very comfortable and the ironed sheets were a luxury!! Breakfast included eggs from the resident hens, local bacon and home made bread and jam. I can't think of anywhere better to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned form a perfect weekend at Plas Efenechtyd B&B. From the booking and advice on the best way to get there, to the welcome and help with the bags on arrival. From the advice on where to eat and drink, to the quality breakfasts. All perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was a delightful lodging off the beaten track with great hosts. The room was spacious and well furnished, and the bed was very comfortable. The hosts accommodated our schedule, and provided maps and suggestions for exploring the area. Great find!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for two nights as a couple for a weekend break away from it all. It certainly offered all we needed and more. The room was warm and cosy with excellent quality furnishings. The bed was sooo comfortable - I want one at home..Breakfast was lovely..The house has gorgeous grounds and I imagine it would be lovely in summer with everything in bloom. Dave and Marilyn are exceptional hosts and make a real effort to meet all your needs. Yes it is a little off the beaten track but after the shock has worn off you soon get used to the single track lane that leads to the house. If looking for somewhere to stay in the area that's a little bit special - go to Plas Efenechtyd Cottage

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank su51bfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrangeville, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

If staying at an old farm house in the middle of the Welsh countryside is what your looking for, you can not do any better than Plas Efenechtyd Cottage. We were there 5 months ago in May 2013. Sometimes when time passes, your memory of a particular location only improves and you realize just how fantastic it really was. You are really in the middle of the Welsh countryside and it doesn't get any more beautiful than that. My only regret is that we weren't there later in the season when everything would be in full bloom. Dave & Marilyn were busy working making their home a special place but they still had time for us. They're 2 fabulous people, ones I'd like to only get to know better. They were fun to listen to and to be around. While the old farmhouse has it's quirks and may not seem perfect for everyone, I had the best nights sleep of any where I've ever been. I think the imperfections is what made my wife and I feel so comfortable and at home. While some may find it difficult to locate, others will find exactly what they're looking for as we did. Dave and Marilyn really don't need my review. Their reputation speaks for themselves. Great Bed & Breakfast! Have fun finding it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnnyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great house, great night's sleep, great views, great breakfast.
Great home made jam, home grown fruit, home baked bread & own hen's eggs.
Great hosts.
See a pattern? I'll be back when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chops_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
1.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eyarth Station
Eyarth Station
#6 of 16 in Ruthin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
11.0 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 28 in Llangollen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B

Property: Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
Address: Efenechtyd, Ruthin LL15 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the beautiful Vale of Efenechtyd, this 4 star B&B is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with homemade bread and locally sourced produce including eggs from our own free range hens. Our two en-suite rooms have stunning views of the Clwydian Range and we are just two miles from the medieval town of Ruthin where you’ll find a wide choice of great pubs, restaurants and independent shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing