We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
Ranked #4 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B & B”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you need overnight accommodation in this area you cannot go wrong with this. It is a wonderfully peaceful location, the room was very tastefully appointed and the breakfast was excellent - their own eggs, home-made jams and fresh home-made bread. Dave and Marilyn are also excellent hosts and made us very welcome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
106
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Llangynhafal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My other half fancied an impulse weekend away to mark the pleasant (and rare!) combination of a significant reduction in our weekly outgoings and a really positive weather forecast. We'd stayed in Efenechtyd parish before, for a few days in an excellent farmhouse b & b about ten years ago, so we knew the area; and the memory of the lovely, quiet and largely undiscovered local countryside made her think of a return visit, and the excellent reviews of Plas Efenechtyd on this site gave her the idea of giving it a try this time.

We could only manage a short (40 hour) stay, but we could certainly see why the reviews were good. A lovely house in a beautiful and tranquil setting, beautifully decorated and presented rooms, one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in for years, and a seriously delicious breakfast - the star points of which, for me, were fresh fruit and Greek yoghurt with the cereal and lip-smacking chive and pepper sausages. All at a very reasonable cost, and with a really warm welcome from the hosts to top the experience.

I'd have given this property an "excellent", if it weren't for the lack of a guests' lounge which, for me, is always the icing on the cake in a b & b however good everything else is; for me, bedsits are a bit institutional, like student life. But if that doesn't bother you, you'd really struggle to find grounds for criticism about this quality establishment in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DynSaesneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This marvellous cottage is set in a beautiful, peaceful location and the rooms are very tastefully appointed. The breakfasts were first class, as was the opportunity to talk at the breakfast table with the other guests and Marilyn and Dave, who were excellent hosts. They (literally) pointed us in the direction of a terrific hill walk up to the Jubilee Tower and had masses of information about the attractions of the area. The joys of this landscape are well-known but, for this reviewer, Ruthin was a well-hidden secret. It's a lovely market town with fine buildings and facilities, including a craft centre with exhibitions of national importance and a fine café. We shall be returning!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Picardy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I needed a break from stresses at home and Plas Efenechtyd was the perfect solution. I had stayed there once before and knew it was the place to go for peace and quiet, beautiful surroundings and extremely welcoming hosts. The room was very comfortable and the ironed sheets were a luxury!! Breakfast included eggs from the resident hens, local bacon and home made bread and jam. I can't think of anywhere better to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned form a perfect weekend at Plas Efenechtyd B&B. From the booking and advice on the best way to get there, to the welcome and help with the bags on arrival. From the advice on where to eat and drink, to the quality breakfasts. All perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was a delightful lodging off the beaten track with great hosts. The room was spacious and well furnished, and the bed was very comfortable. The hosts accommodated our schedule, and provided maps and suggestions for exploring the area. Great find!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for two nights as a couple for a weekend break away from it all. It certainly offered all we needed and more. The room was warm and cosy with excellent quality furnishings. The bed was sooo comfortable - I want one at home..Breakfast was lovely..The house has gorgeous grounds and I imagine it would be lovely in summer with everything in bloom. Dave and Marilyn are exceptional hosts and make a real effort to meet all your needs. Yes it is a little off the beaten track but after the shock has worn off you soon get used to the single track lane that leads to the house. If looking for somewhere to stay in the area that's a little bit special - go to Plas Efenechtyd Cottage

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank su51bfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
1.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#8 of 15 in Ruthin
21 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manorhaus Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin
#3 of 15 in Ruthin
382 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Raven Inn
The Raven Inn
#1 of 1 in Llanarmon-yn-Ial
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B

Property: Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
Address: Efenechtyd, Ruthin LL15 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Vale of Clwyd, this 4 star B&B lies in the heart of rural North East Wales. We are proud of our hearty breakfasts which feature homemade bread, homemade jams and award winning marmalades and locally sourced produce. There are two en-suite rooms with views over the local countryside and beyond. One room can be made up with twin beds or as a double. The other is a double. Each room has TV, tea and coffee making facilities and really 'comfy' beds. There is also free WIFI throughout the house. We are tucked away down a narrow lane just two miles from the medieval town of Ruthin. There you’ll find a wide choice of great pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Tranquility, great views and great value: you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing