We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cartref Hyffryd

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Your view !
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ruthin, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rhys Y
1 review
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Went for the weekend and had a lovely time. Cath was very helpful when we had questions and the location was very peaceful. Ideal for a quiet getaway to the countryside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thanks Rhys , it was lovely to meet you and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globetrot...
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here this past weekend while visiting family in the area. It was perfect for what we needed. We have a young person with ASD and it is important for us to be able to arrive somewhere and not have to wait around to get in and settled - I advised that due to work we would be arriving late and that we'd like to get in and settled as soon as possible. This was no problem for the owner (Cath) who left the key easily available so we could get straight in and settled on arrival. This sounds like a small thing, however to a person with ASD it is vital when arriving somewhere new.
The pictures on line are a great reflection of the property and this made the preparation for visiting much easier. For others this may not matter but for us it was priceless so thank you.

We were lucky to have beautifully clear sky's on most of our trip - this allowed us to enjoy the wonderfully beautiful mountain views from the decking and the accommodation windows. Wonderful to sit on the decking with a cup of tea and look out - also spotted a spectacular buzzard catching some food!

Kitchen well equipped if you wanted to cook - with a couple of supermarkets just down in Ruthin (few miles east) where you can get what ever you need - or if you want to eat out their are lots of eateries a few miles away in each direction.

We have been looking for somewhere to stay up in North Wales that suited our individual needs and this certainly matched what we needed. We would recommend to others and we hope to stay again soon.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us , It was an absolute pleasure to have you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unspoilt peaceful location,
Liked least: The never ending winding single lane road to the location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review Norman ! It was lovely to meet you and I'm glad Mitzi the old Tom Cat didn't give you too much grief !
We look forward to welcoming you back .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review! We enjoyed having you and have finally had wifi extended to the van ! Hope to welcome you back sometime. Cath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cssviji
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for Money with Stunning views”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband, myself, my in-laws and 3 year old stayed here for our short (3 nights) Wales visit trip. There are both pros and cons.

Firstly, The caravan space has been very effectively used and we loved the way it was set up. The view is stunning and exactly as shown. Surrounded by grazing sheep, you get a complete country feel. While we stayed, we faced most weather types and the caravan was still warm and strong. Cath was prompt in responding to any queries and loved their welcome welsh cake. There is basic cooking utensils, hair dryer (guess it works, we did not use it though), DVD player, other than whats shown in pic.

We were asked to do late check in (as there was a check out on the same day) which was little difficult as we wanted to first check in and go about with our plans So we had to wait a while till the cleaning was done.

Cath and the owners dropped in and ensured we had a comfortable stay.

We had not stayed in caravan earlier so we were not sure what would be made available and what not. So we were little unprepared in bringing essentials like (Utensil cleaning liquid, toilet tissues, etc...) But luckily Ruthin Tesco Store is within few miles. So we stocked up all essentials from Tesco.

You would also find free range eggs being sold by their neighbours outside their homes in boxes. You can just pick them on your way from the boxes by popping money in the box. This was new for us, as we had not experienced this earlier!

The water also flows in from canal directly so there is color variation every day. Though the owner confirmed that its safe, we went for mineral water as we did not want to take chances during our holiday.

There is sufficient hot water for shower just for 3 Adults (approx) and for others you need to wait for a couple of hours for water to heat up again. So better to shift some of them to shower in the eve and some in the morning. That resolved the problem for us.

One issue was the flush. Once you flush, it takes a lot of time for water to fill up before you can flush again. Not sure if this is the case in every caravan, but we found it little difficult.

Ideal for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. If you want a real country feel....go for it! Do not forget the books (and post codes of all attractions for your tom tom) as there is no internet or phone signal!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and country feel
Liked least: Toilet flush
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Hi , I would like to assure everyone that our water comes from a spring band not a canal . We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our efforts to welcome you . Unfortunately during busy periods we do have to ask guests to vacate for 11 am and to arrive after 3 pm so as to ensure we can get in and get the necessary cleaning and changeover done , so the caravan is presented as we would like to find it . It was lovely to meet you all and would love to welcome you back any time . Cath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
1 review
“Cosy, warm with amazing views in an area of outstanding natural beauty”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed here with another couple over the first May bankholiday weekend.
It's the perfect place to escape all the hustle and bustle from the city. We didn't even have mobile reception there ;). The caravan is perfectly located on a beautiful spot over looking the valley and Brenig Way. It is centrally heated and equipped with all modern cons which kept us warm and cosy depsite the rough and windy weather.
The owners Cath and Mark were very welcoming and took care.

Despite having lived all weathers there from rain, hail, sunshine and rainbows we really enjoyed some good walks. It's not without case a proclaimed area of outstanding natural beauty :) (AONB). As mentioned the Brenig Way (32mi) runs along the valley in front of the caravan and to find some walks and downloadable maps, search for: clwydianrangeanddeevalleyaonb org uk - walking.

It's the perfect place to relax mind and soul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareMcCo...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet and relaxed stay with stunning views.”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Organising our stay was a lovely process made easy with excellent communication from Cath.
The caravan was comfortable with everything we needed for our stay and the views were stunning.
The area has much to offer and we really enjoyed walks, pub lunches and visiting historic Ruthin. Such a beautiful area of Wales.
We will definitely be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chilled out nature of the place, losing myself in the scenery
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing