We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Easy to find, yet off the main centre of Ruthin.Friendly reception,very informative.Hotel was quiet so we were asked what time we would like breakfast.We decided to eat in the hotel, the food was excellent although there was only one vegetarian main course, my wife said it was probably the best vegetarian meal she had had in a hotel,again we were asked where we would prefer to eat and whether we would like the tv on.Breakfast was excellent, portion size just right and nicely prepared.We stayed in the Beethoven room which is a good size with a comfy bed and good sized bathroom.
Yes it may be a" caravan park" but this in no way detracts from the hotel, the views are terrific.
The staff were genuinely friendly,really helpful and interested in any feedback.
Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mill4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall. I was really pleased to read your comments as the team at the hall have been working extremely hard to improve the standards of service and the general experience for our guests.
We look forward to having the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    38
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
47
52
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We would not have booked if we'd known it was on a sprawling caravan park

Room Tip: If you want a caravan park this is overwhelmingly what it is an noisy on Saturday nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DM3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall. We do appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative as without this we cannot improve our service in the future.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Hall, finding it located within a holiday park. We are currently working with booking.com to update the description offered on their site to ensure that all our customers are aware of this before booking and can therefore make an informed decision as whether to travel.
Following feedback from our customers, we have implemented Saturday evening entertainment which has proved very popular, however I am aware that if you were not expecting this it would be annoying. I will ensure that this is also mentioned within the description for future customers.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend. Rooms are fantastic all beams and panelling. This used to be a country mansion built by an opera singer at the turn of the century. Its very quirky in design but has been modernised to a good standard. Rumour has it that the singers daughter (a hunchback) haunts the place (the witch of woodlands), didnt put in an appearance while we were there. Few minor niggles, no time for breakfast advertised, found out after getting up too early none till after nine. Didnt fancy a full English, but they accomodated and made me something else, well done. Hot water went off due to boiler problems, but was sorted within a few hours.
Be warned that they do functions at the weekends so your ideal quiet country house weekend may be invaded. There was a christening while we were there but the proud parents invited me and the wife to the buffet, very kind. No food available on a sunday so ordered a delivery from a local chinese, great food.
We booked another weekend as we were leaving as we enjoyed it so much. It has only recently opened as a hotel and once the small problems are ironed out i feel it will be a great place to stay, due to its quiet location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandSue999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall. As you have mentioned we have only been reopened for several months and having experienced a change of management, we are still ironing out any creases.
I have forwarded your comments regarding breakfast to the management to ensure that all guests are informed of timings upon check in.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Rooms were beautiful at the Woodlands but the shower in the Wagner room was cold with no pressure. We were asked to shower in the gym facilities, which is not good. We were offered another room which we took the Shakespeare room, which was lovely but only a bath, the bathroom light did not work and the toilet roll holder kept falling off the wall, other than that the hotel is lovely and the entertainment on the Saturday was very good. The break fast choice was very poor. On the Monday morning the only cereal on offer was Cocoa pops!!! who eats this type of cereal, certainly not us. We probably won't go back again because of these issues.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall. We do appreciate all feedback as without this we cannot improve our service in the future.
I am sorry to read the problems you experienced during your stay with us. It is of course understandable that things can go wrong, however it is how we deal with them and what is done to put them right that makes the difference and it is clear from your comments that we have areas where work is required in terms of our service levels. Your comments have been discussed with the Manager and processes put in place to ensure room checks are more robust and alternatives are offered. I have also passed your comments regarding problems with the room to the maintenance team to ensure these are rectified.
Having only reopened within the last few months and experienced a change in management, we are aware we still have some teething problems which we are doing our best to iron out. I do hope that despite the problems you encountered we may have the pleasure of your custom again in the future, whereby the experience will be more worthy of a 4 star standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Enjoyed a really pleasant stay, lunch was superb in the conservatory, pleasant surroundings and wonderful view. Welcoming and helpful staff. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynseyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Sorry about the length of time in rsponding to your feedback, we've only recently managed to get on to the management side of Trip Advisor! But better late than never and thanks very much for the positive review. We hope to see you again in the future.
John H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

short break with family, horse riding, walking, mountain biking in the area. Quiet hotel, bit out of the way and hard to find.

Good size rooms, fantastic views. Good breakfast. Unfortunately no food available Sunday night or Monday

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your great review, it's good to get positive feedback and we now offer food on Monday and Tuesday evenings.
John H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

My husband and I along with my extended family stayed here for a family celebration. The Hotel is beautifully refurbished although the public toilets in the bar area do need to be addressed. The staff were a little slow and being from the catering industry myself it was very noticable. We stayed in the Tower room which we've stayed in several times before and I love it. The views over the park are beautiful. Yes it is a caravan/chalet Park but were talking 5* . Its not the usual run of the mill holiday park with children running around screaming in fact this park is actual home to many of the mid to elderly residents who take pride in the place. I visited here many times throughout the year and never seen any screaming children or loose dogs etc. Once it sorts its staffing issues out and addresses some niggling decor problems then the Woodlands Hall Hotel will be a fantastic place to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonseddo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
2.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
10.6 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
15.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
6.2 mi away
The Raven Inn
The Raven Inn
#1 of 1 in Llanarmon-yn-Ial
120 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#9 of 15 in Ruthin
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel

Property: Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Address: Llanfwrog, Ruthin LL15 2AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the beautiful setting of Woodlands Hall Holiday Park lies Woodlands Hall. Conveniently located just 2 1/2 miles from the historic town of Ruthin and Ruthin Castle and just 35 minutes from Chester. If your looking for a golf course, north Wales is well known for some great courses, as well as local fishing, walking and sight seeing. A magnificant 19th Century building with original features the hall provides 6 bedrooms all unique in design. All bedrooms are located on the first floor whilst the ground floor plays host to a bar and restaurant. We highly recommend the restaurant and on Friday and Saturday evenings booking a table is advisable as well as the Sunday afternoon traditional roast dinners All rooms have free wi fi, as well as the bar area. Perfect for enjoying a quiet drink or meal or live entertainment on every Saturday evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing