We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family weekend”
Review of Clwydian Wigwams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruthin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clwydian Wigwams
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just returned from Clwydian Wigwams and had a great time. As an family we booked all 4 pods and so had exclusive use of the kitchen and shower block.
The pods and facilities were spotlessly clean.

The owners were very friendly and allowed our youngest to feed the lambs and calves which they thoroughly set in a beautiful location

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wychypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was our second stay and we were not disappointed. There are found glamping 'pods' equipped to hold 5 people, with heating, toilet and a small kitchen sink area. Toliet/shower block and kitchen is clean and well equipped although I would recommend you take a toaster if you want toast as the oven (Which you can use as a grill) has seen better days. Toliet/shower block is multi-sex and there is little room or a seperate area to get dried/changed. The site is secluded and quiet and gives some great views across the welsh countryside. The owners are very helpful. If you have a fire in the evening the wood provided would not be enough to keep you going all evening, so either bring some of your own, buy some more or forage for dead wood. Additionally bring some warm clothing for the evening as the temperature can drop and it can be a little windy. All in all a great place for a short break and a good base to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have just camped on this site with family and friends. Although we had lovely weather for April, it was fantastic to have a new well equipped kitchen block to use with unlimited hot water - a bit of comfort to escape to! The nights were cold so it became a bit of an oasis! We also enjoyed having a fire each night. The kitchen and shower/loo block were kept all beautifully clean with plenty of room and equipment for everyone - including things like washing up liquid and loo paper. The friendly owners live very nearby and were on hand if we needed it - nothing seemed too much trouble. There was plenty of space to pitch our tents and park our cars and we were surrounded by sheep (behind fences!) and fabulous views. We walked in the local hills (part of the Offa's Dyke Ridge walk) and visited Denbigh and Ruthin, both very near by car. It was so peaceful and a perfect place to take a break.

Room Tip: The wigwams did look luxurious and very warm but we camped in the cold! My tip; when camping in Apri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfie181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I booked the wigwam for my husbands 30th birthday. The wigwam is warm, spacious and comfy! The separate kitchen and shower block is clean and suitably equipped. The only thing I would suggest is that the showers stayed on a little longer than 10 seconds! But it's no hardship pressing the button a little more frequently.
We will definitely go back and hope to take our friends.
It was a great weekend- thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatepackingloveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed as a group of 12 taking up all four wigwams / camping cabins and had a lovely time. Having warmth, electricity, hot water, fridge, kettle and toilets in the wigwams there is no roughing it! Everyone enjoyed the evenings around the firepit (available to rent on site).

The site is within easy reach (by car) of Ruthin for shops, park, takeaways and other attractions. On other days we travelled a bit further and visited Betws-y-Coed and Llandudno.

The wonderfully friendly and helpful host just added to our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimpleSim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Easy to find this small camp site with wigwams in situated on a farm in the heart of northern Wales not far from Ruthin.

We were greeted and shown to the wigwam and my 3 year old son was offered the opportunity to watch the animals being fed if he was around at 730 the next morning. The wigwam was everything advertised on the site wigwam holidays - it had a sink and a working toilet. Outside there was a table and chairs. We were able to hire a fire pit the first night and a chimnea the second for a few pounds - definitely saved us from dragging one around!

The site has showers, toilets and a well equipped kitchen all very clean.

The site was quiet and picturesque with panoramic views of the welsh countryside with the sound of sheep to keep us company. It was a brilliant experience for my partner's and son's first camping trip - my son loved the adventure and the tour of the animals that the farmer kindly provided on the first morning.

The site is located about 15 minutes away from the quaint town of Ruthin which is well equipped with shops, restaurants and local amenities - my son enjoyed the play park!

The family who run the site are friendly considerate hosts who keep the site clean. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruthin hotels
2.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ty Derw Country House Bed & Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#8 of 15 in Ruthin
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clwydian Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clwydian Wigwams

Address: Graig | Llanelidan, Ruthin LL15 2TB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ruthin
Also Known As:
Clwydian Wigwams Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing