We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wetherspoons I've Been In”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Wetherspoons I've Been In”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Had a lovely meal here on a recent stay in Ruthin. We stayed at Ruthin Castle but the meals were far too expensive, so we walked into town to eat at the Castle Hotel. Meal was lovely, no complaints at all, staff very attentive which is quite unusual, in our local Wetherspoons were the tables are left dirty and usually have to track someone down to clean it.

The decor is wonderful in keeping with the Castle origins, and the info about old Ruthin on the walls. We ate our meal in one of the quiet back rooms, had our drinks on the outside terrace overlooking the hills, then had coffee in the lovely white drawing room. I would highly recommned it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to The Castle hotel
We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and we as a team agree with you that it is possibly the best Wetherspoons!
Thank you once again
Kelvin clayton
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    139
    33
    13
    2
See reviews for
64
180
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here over the bank holiday after attending a wedding at Ruthin castle. It was a superb location, rooms are clean and recently refurbished. Staff very helpful and friendly. Delightful would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilde32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review
Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff
and are very much appreciated.
Kind regards
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We decided to try this Wetherspoons on Grill night and were pleasantly surprised, the makeover to the Hotel is absolutely fantastic, the service and the food were exceptional. Well worth the drive there,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz4rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a response
So pleased you enjoyed your visit here on steak night
and enjoyed our refurbishment of the building
hope you will return in the future
Kelvin clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I booked this place as I wanted tostay in a b and b in the centre of Ruthin to visit friends etc and have known the area for over 20 years. Did not realise how expensive it was. I booked through a website called laterooms and have found the whole experience a rip off despite it turning out to be a wetherspoons hotel. I didnot realise it was not b and b although they say it is clear - it is not and I paid through the nose for a single very dark room run on American lines, card for lights and entrance and no sockets - managed to burn my hand on the kettle trying to get at the only socket in the room to charge my iphone. I would not have booked if Ihad known no breakfast included in the very expensive room single - thought it might be double occupancy. As only one night was prepared to pay but as wetherspoons a cheaper place to eat and lots of bargain meals very surprised at their running a very expensive room only hotel. The car parking was non existentent as the places all taken by happy diners. Just so annoyed at being sotaken in when ~I am experienced in b and b's. The room was good and clean and the ensuite o k but the shower tiny just as well I am only small myself but a squeeze.

Other b and b's much better value in the area but could not in tomy preferred one. Had a wonderful meal at it called theStar wonderful tapas!

Only saving grace in this hotel was the kind young lady who helped me with the wifi in the restaurant at breakfast as she knew what to do to help me. It is an old building and very confusing to find your way around having to lug your luggage through all the happy diners. Never again.

Room Tip: Make sure if you use this hotel you are guaranteed a car park space and a room with light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorneslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
In reply to your comments following your recent stay.
You booked via laterooms which clearly states A JD WETHERSPOON HOTEL on all pages and on the e mail you print off.It also states clearly the room rates available and the room rate you are paying prior to making your final decision to buy the room.
Our rates also state room only.
Our room rates are very competitive in the area and on Saturday night at £54 offered value for the standard of room offered other hotels in town did have single rooms available in the £120 price range for a single although that did include breakfast.
Car parking is available although we only have 11 spaces for 17 rooms so at the time of your arrival 7pm all spaces had gone however I understand Heather our duty receptionist did direct you to the car park behind ours which is free from 5pm to 8am.
Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us
Kind regards
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel has improved beyond all recognition since Wetherspoons took it over in 2012. Over £2m pounds has been spent on it and it has paid off. The rooms have all been upgraded and are now nice and warm and very comfortable. The food and drinks are at very competitive prices in a comfortable environment, Clearly a favourite for locals and the surrounding area as the bar and restaurant were full.The whole hotel was immaculately clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well located for walking around the town and for journeying around picturesque North Wales and all its many attractions.The car park is free for residents and there were sufficient places. We shall certainly book here again as our first choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your recent stay.
Indeed the hotel has changed beyond recognition to those who new it of old.
Our high quality refurbishment and attention to detail in the old building has restored this building for many years to come.
We hpe to see you again sometime in the future
Kind regards
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed from the 28th to 30th march for a friends wedding! I am a wetherspoons employee and had heard bad press about the companys hotels but i have to say this hotel was beautiful! The staff were very helpful. And the food was good too! And you couldnt get a better location, it really is beautiful! Thank you so much

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juice2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
thank you for your response following your stay.
I wont say much more in case it appears we are bias as employees however
surprised that you had heard bad press about our 26 hotels they are of a very high standard take a look at our latest new ones in Whitby and Beccles to see them.
Kind regards
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Why does Tripadvisor make you go for 'average' or 'very good' with nothing in between?

Stayed here over the weekend, old building but rooms are 21st Century. Comfortable, clean and the staff were all very friendly & helpful. Didn't eat in the pub restaurant as we attended a wedding down the road. Breakfast was pretty good and much better value than the endless succession of hot breakfast buffets that most hotels go in for.

The rate was £69 for a double room only, which isn't cheap but then in Ruthin choice is very limited, so that's just economics. I would probably stay there again and if asked where to stay in Ruthin I would say the castle for top dollar and the castle hotel for anything else. So yeah, better than average I would say 'good'.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eebeegeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay and I agree with you that your review is certainly better then avaerage.
We do offer a high quality product at a very competitive price and many guests do comment that the real value of our rooms is much higher due the spec and fit out of the rooms.
Glad you also enjoyed your breakfast.
Kind regards
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
9.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
251 reviews
10.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
114 reviews
9.3 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: St Peters Square, Ruthin LL15 1AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom property was purchased and totally refurbished by J D Wetherspoon in January 2012.All reviews pre January 2012 do not relate to our operation of the business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing