We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, characterful hotel, we're going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A wonderful, characterful hotel, we're going back!”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I took my wife here as a surprise birthday treat. We arrived on Friday afternoon and were immediately taken with the building, once inside the staff, decor and character didn't disappoint either.
We ate in 'Berties' restaurant in the hotel on that night, absolutely lovely. The surroundings are beautiful, the staff very friendly and helpful without being intrusive, and the food was of a very high standard.
On the second night we ate in the Library bat, which is quite informal, but with a similar quality of food.
The hotel buildings and grounds are interesting to explore, the surrounding area is beautiful, with plenty to do, we liked the whole thing so much I booked to go again early next year. Really, a special place

Room Tip: We were in a Castle 3 star, perefectly adequate with a nice big bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onyerbikeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Many thanks for your comments about the hotel, we are always glad to hear when people have enjoyed there time at the castle and I hope you will return in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    635
    267
    151
    84
See reviews for
265
1,334
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My 2 sons, aged 13 and 14 and I experienced a wonderful adventure back in time at Ruthin Castle's medieval feast. We spent the night at the hotel in a 3 star family room which was far more like a suite with 2 well appointed bedrooms separated by hall and a very large bathroom. the main bedroom contained a king size bed whilst the second bedroom had twin beds. Both rooms had flat screen TV's and Tea and coffee making facility was available in the main bedroom. The beds were comfortable with luxurious pillows and soft doonas. At night we joined in the fun at the medieval feast, where we, along with most of the other guests joined in by dressing in medieval costume. The staff for the medieval feast were all in character and costume and played the night like a step back in time. We were entertained by a jester and serenaded with welsh song whilst being served by wholesome wenches. The food was bountiful and delicious and was a traditional welsh feast featuring braised lamb. The dinner was well themed as was the entire evening making the medieval feast truly a memorable medieval experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you for you comments about the hotel and the mediaeval banquet it is nice to see you enjoyed your time and should you wish to step back in time again the banquets are usualy on once a week in are open to the public wheather there's two of you or twenty of you.
once again thanks for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleengland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great room - we had a delux room and it was huge and comfortable, totally in keeping with the age and architectural style of the hotel.
Bar - lovely, food was excellent, well presented, service was impecable
Berties restaurant - overpriced and lacking in atmosphere, plastic flowers on the tables?!?!
Hotel grounds - lovely, peaceful and with peacocks roaming freely
All in all a lovely break, but avoid the restaurant, eat at "On the Hill" instead - it was fantastic

Room Tip: delux rooms are newly refurbished and have been well done
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guinnessforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Many thanks for leaving comments about the hotel, I am glad to see you enjoyed you time and your comments about the restaurant will be looked at to see if there is any improvements we can make, with regard the price, the food in the restaurant is priced inline with local restaurants, whilst we would recomend "on the hill" to guests wishing to eat in the town, it is completely differant in style and offers a differant type of eating enviourment which is sure to please most people, but i would recomend a least trying the food in berties as our chefs work hard to maintain the two rosette standard which we achived 4 years ago and have retained through out that time.
once again thanks for you comments and I hope you will return in the futue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellesmere port
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We actually got married at Ruthin castle back in 2007 and decided to go back for an overnight stay. The castle grounds and interior are simply gorgeous, the rooms are also very nicely decorated and fit very well for this period building.It makes for a relaxing and pleasant stay. All of the staff are friendly and curtious. My husband and myself highly recommend this hotel as it is luxurious without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debnrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you for your comments about the hotel, we are glad to see you returned to the castle and you enjoyed your stay, we hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My partner and I stayed here in Sping last year and found it to be absolutely delightful. We managed to get a fairly cheap weekend deal and were given a "castle room" rather than one of the themed rooms. The room itself was fairly basic but comfortable and it had a view of the grounds. We opted to eat at "Berties" one evening and the food and service were excellent. By far the best thing about the hotel is the grounds, we had a good two hour stroll taking in the whole of the grounds and it was absolutely charming, the peacocks are abundant and there are lots of little "hidden" areas to discover. I would definately go back and would reccomened the hotel for a romantic mini break.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you for you comments about the hotel, we are glad to see you enjoyed your time at castle and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed in the Prince of Wales suite. We expected a lot more for our money then what was delivered. Some of the lights weren't working, the hair dryer was broken and there was a lot of dust on the canopy of the bed. We had tea in the library and the finger sandwiches were stale. Ate dinner in Berties and had the steak which was chewy. We don't mind paying extra for a suite, but this was not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lelyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you for your comments about the hotel, I can see we did not exceed your expections on this occasion and your comments will be passed on to the relevent departments to see what improvements we can make. although we have no control over a light bulb and when it decides to fall, and the hair dryer must be swiched on before it will work which is down to the guest using it to do. all comments left by guests on review sites are looked at and improvements made whenever possible. once again thank you for taking time to leave your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had a great night away.

The staff were lovely, particularly the restaurant staff. In fact dinner was a real delight.

Our room and bathroom was a little shabby, but that was ok.

There was a wedding crowd, and they were very noisy at 4.00 am. Not the hotel's fault, but still very irritating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedWest066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you for your comments about the hotel, I am happy to see you enjoyed you time, the hotel is hoping finsh the second phase of our refurbishment at the begingng of 1212 sol all our rooms will be of a 4 star standard. once again thanks for you comments and i hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
351 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,531 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,138 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
112 reviews
15.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Property: Ruthin Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing