We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5th visit & hopefully not our last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've just spent Saturday evening here with our family. The weather was perfect, as was the service, food in Berties & the overall experience was wonderful. Both Ruthin Castle & the small town of Ruthin are magical. There aren't many places in the UK you can find this experience. Even though this was our 5th visit, we can't wait to visit again! Our package included afternoon tea, which despite rather a long wait for the food to arrive, was excellent on arrival. Most of the staff are quite young, but their professional attitude & customer skills are also excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a suite for the extra cost.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,193)
There are newer reviews for Ruthin Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,364 - 1,370 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

wow what a place - set in fantastic gardens, superb building and staff that provide a wonderful service - nothing was too much trouble. The sun shone so we ate outside. The food was delicious, with endless supplies of tea and coffee. Peacocks wandering up to the tables. Then we had a walk round the gardens. What a relaxing afternoon we had. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Ruthin Castle Hotel, Best Hotel I have ever Stayed in. The Rooms are well set out and Excellent views from the Windows. Staff are Wonderful and the food is to die for if a little expensive. Beautiful Grounds and Very Scenic. Wonderful Everyone must have a least one night there

Room Tip: All Rooms are Good Very well thought out and Have Hairdryers, Iron and Iron board in the room. Servi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 742Jaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

was at the Ruthin castle hotel for a wedding,first impressions are very grand but the management side of things appear chaotic,waited 10 minutes to be served by a pleasant but obviously untrained barman who was painfully slow due to nerves and lack of training on the payment side of things,on second visit to bar they had somehow managed to run out of glasses!!!We then moved to the "banqueting hall" where things really went down hill,another pleasant but untrained member of staff who looked on the point of meltdown informed us that there was no draught cider due to hole in line [for 2 weeks apparently] no ice,shortage of glasses and various drinks,things did improve when a guest demanded another member of staff was sent to help out,this area of hotel was also dirty and badly maintained.As was a sunny day most guests were outside but there was very little seating in this area and for some reason what looked like a £30.00 argos gazebo in the corner?Overall 4* prices and 1* service just not good enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback about your recent visit to us. It truly saddens the whole team to hear that your experience was not perfect. The service that you describe is by far well below the high standards we set ourselves and achieve. We appreciate all feedback as we are able to use it to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We came to Ruthin Castle today... A big family meal!!!

What a disappointment.... Starters tiny! Soup was watery, Melon was warm (suppose to be chilled). Beef was tough, roast potatoes under cooked and the veg.... NOT ENOUGH! When a family member asked for more veg, we were told "no, that's got to do u all" A small amount for a table of 10 plus! On to dessert... Apple crumble- tinned fruit and no crumble!!! Eaton mess- no meringue, just cream and one berry!!!!

Service..... In one word, just terrible! Not once did they ask if the meal was ok....... Not even a smile! Will I return?? Not a chance!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 18srw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback about your recent lunch with us. It truly saddens the whole team to hear that your experience was not perfect. The service that you describe is by far well below the high standards we set ourselves and achieve. We appreciate all feedback as we are able to use it to improve and develop our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place was such a special weekend stay for me and my husband on our 1st wedding anniversary in June 2014. Bedroom was gorgeous with a beautiful view, the food in the hotel restaurant was fantastic excellent value for money, staff were so professional and friendly, the grounds of the castle are lovely. The spa day was one of the best I've had, facilities are such excellent quality, felt like 5 star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and friends had a brilliant stay at the hotel this weekend. Welcoming, friendly and amazing value for money. The ancient stone archway greets you before driving down the long winding road through the grounds to the hotel entrance. Squirrels and rabbits going about their business.The entrance is guarded by two huge stone lions. Inside the hotel are many lovely rooms and antiquities . Our rooms were fresh, bright and newly refurbished with an extra large bed which was so comfortable and slate tiled bathrooms with roll top baths and big headed showers.
The afternoon tea is too die for and the evening meal in Bertie's restaurant delicious. Families of peacocks stroll through the grounds, delighting onlookers with their beautiful coloured feathers. The grounds have a secret courtyard and next to the hotel is a large field with a circle of 12 large stones perhaps from times gone bye.
A short stroll takes you into the quaint little village with friendly shop keepers and ye olde Wetherspoons if you want a cheap pint.
Thank you Ruthin Castle we will definitely be back for a third time.

Room Tip: If you like a room with a view ask if you could have one.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
373 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,633 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,252 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
702 reviews
20.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range: £78 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing