We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manorhaus Ruthin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manorhaus Ruthin
Ranked #4 of 16 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colwyn Bay, North Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

highly recommended. The breakfast is top class, staff v nice n helpful. We made use of the cinema room n spa room, both brilliant. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    65
    24
    9
    1
See reviews for
16
259
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at Manorhaus for 2 nights 5/6 Feb 2012. We didn't know what to expect as we had purchased a deal from Money Supermarket .com @ £99. We need not have worried as the place is lovely. Our room was at the top of the house (the stairs are not steep and not a problem to climb) and was probably one of the smaller (cozy) rooms, however what it lacked in size was made up for in style. The bed was king size and VERY comfortable, and we had an en suite wet room. Every need was catered for, tea/coffee tray (well stocked) T.V DVD with a choice of dvd's from a library. The room also provided towels, lovely toiletries, dressing gowns and slippers which came in very handy for the sauna/steam room facilities. My wife is a clean freak and has been known to get out the rubber gloves and clean before unpacking, however there was no need at the Manorhaus as the place is spotless. On Monday we spent some time walking in Loggerheads and on our return to the Manorhaus we booked the sauna and thawed out. We had a delightful evening meal in the resaurant (excellent food) and ended the night watching a movie in the private cinema (booking required), a real treat. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice, my wife says the eggs benedict was to die for. If I had any criticism it would be that the tea pots at breakfast are not very big, but then I am a bit of a tea tank. All in all a perfect place to spend a couple of days to relax, would not hesitate to recommend and will definately return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have just stayed for 2 nights having found a deal on the internet. A beautiful building with individual extremely comfortable rooms. The hotel offers good facilities such as sauna/steam room ( robes and slippers provided in room) , private basement cinema, libary packed with a great selection of reading material, music and DVDs. We had a meal in the stylish restaurant which was very enjoyable.
We were given a parking pass for a nearby longstay carpark which was valid in the whole Denbighshire region as there isn't onsite parking. Check in is strictly not before 3pm. We really enjoyed exploring the historic town of Ruthin and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: you can seeall the art themed rooms on the website and request if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scampado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a hotel that will surprise you with it decor. Each room is called a gallery ( Oriel in welsh) and showcases an artists work. A little too contemporary for our taste, but clean with good quality furnishings.. The food was fabulous, absolutely first class. One of the best meals we have ever had, Well done

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colwyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Loved our stay, the room and facilities were perfect for a short break away!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

At very short notice I decided to spend New Year away from home in a hotel. As a single man not in the first flush of youth I have avoided such things in the past, not wanting to feel like Banquo's ghost at the party.
Websurfing, I came across Manorhaus offering a New Year Gala dinner and rooms. There was availability so I booked for two nights - New Years Eve and Day in Oriel 7.
First the room - comfortable and spacious for 1 with a huge bed and good sitting area around the sofa. It was at the top of a fairly steep narrow stair, so one needs to be reasonably fit! Bathroom was small but had reasonable space - however the shower was over the bath with a high step over to get in. Good towels and toiletries. The artwork was reminiscent of Lichtenstein (Roy, not the Principality!)
I used the steam/sauna and gym. The former was fine (needs to be booked in advance) but would benefit from a shower. The gym in the basement was small and the least satisfactory feature - the cross trainer was broken and the treadmill is not powered so I found it difficult to control.
The gala dinner was excellent, from the canapes in the bar to the indulgent pudding. Great scallops and mutton. Not cheap, but well worth the money. It was busy (mostly non residents) but even as the only single there, I did not feel uncomfortable - neither bothered nor neglected.
A la carte dinner the next day was also very good - a good but not huge choice. Breakfasts were also good.
Service throughout was attentive, friendly and not obtrusive. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleronnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I loved staying at Manorhaus, the room was spotless, the bed very comfortable and we were very warm, particularly loved the sauna, nothing was too much trouble for Chris or Gavin. The room was cleaned every day, you could have clean towels whenever you wanted. We had breakfast on both days and had a full English which was nicely cooked with the eggs done as you wished, with plenty of variety, we didnt have any other meals, but as we are both pensioners we only needed a snack later on. We didnt find many things to do with Ruthin being a historical town, but we did go into Llangollen which is only 15 miles away and was worth the visit even if only to see horseshoe pass., We would definately recommend the hotel to anyone else.

Room Tip: Our room Oriel one was handy for everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
9.7 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Manorhaus Llangollen
Manorhaus Llangollen
#6 of 28 in Llangollen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#8 of 16 in Ruthin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manorhaus Ruthin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manorhaus Ruthin

Property: Manorhaus Ruthin
Address: 10 Well Street, Ruthin LL15 1AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Manorhaus Ruthin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manorhaus is a boutique style eight-bedroom townhouse restaurant and gallery in the centre of Ruthin, a historic market town nestled in the Vale of Clwyd. A Grade II listed Georgian building, its original features have been juxtaposed with stylish modern interior design and 21st Century facilities, including mini fitness room; guest library with magazines, books and dvd's; private cinema; sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manorhaus Ruthin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manorhaus Hotel Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing