We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable short break - our first boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manorhaus Ruthin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manorhaus Ruthin
Ranked #4 of 16 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable short break - our first boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

A Living Social offer brought this hotel to our attention and after checking the good reviews we chose to try it out. We were not disappointed especially as this was the first boutique style hotel we have stayed at. Everything was spotless, we chose Oriel 7 which was one of the superior rooms and it did indeed have everything one would need plus extras like a DVD player (lots to choose from in the in house library). We ate in the restaurant one evening, the food was delicious, prices could be considered on the high side £26.00 for two courses (we were too full to manage a dessert) but if you can treat yourselves whilst on a break away give it a go. Ruthin is quite a good base for visiting the North Wales coast with Conway/Llandudno less than one hour's drive away. Ruthin Gaol is supposed to be worth a visit but unfortunately was closed on the Saturday when we had hoped to visit, I guess that's the down side of taking a break out of season. Thank you to James who was looking after things whilst the owners were on holiday, he did a grand job!

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms to choose from, good descriptions of each room on web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-CSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    65
    24
    9
    1
See reviews for
15
257
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I stayed in the colorful Oriel 4. While the bathroom is a tad small, the accommodations were excellent. The staff was attentive and very helpful. Morning breakfast was very nice, and the Welsh sausages were delicious! Ruthin is a wonderful market town, and the arts center should not be missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

We had 3 nights at the Manorhaus on a special 3 nights for 2 deal. We were made to feel most welcome by the very friendly staff-Yasmin you made our stay, thank you! Our room oriel 2 was light and very comfortable and very quiet. The facilities for a hotel of this size are exceptional - library(books,CDs and DVDs), sauna and steam room and the basement cinema. Add to that a superb restaurant and what else could you want? We booked the cinema one night and the staff were happy to serve our desert and coffee to us downstairs. The restaurant is not necessarily cheap -£32 for 3 courses but it was very good. Don't understand the review about not being suitable for business visitors - when we were there we were chatting to 2 regular business visitors who loved the place. Just goes to show, it doesn't matter what you do, you can't please all the people all the time.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulnAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This is our third visit to the Manorhaus and we were not disappointed. We were greeted by Chris one of the owners as Gavin was at their new hotel in Llangollan (sorry to the welsh about spelling ) There was a magnificent real Christmas tree in the entrance. We were shown to our room we stayed in Oriel 7 again a favourate of ours, beautifully decorated with a large coach, tv dvd player and radio alarm clock, a small bathroom with bath and shower.~The pictures on the wall and throughout the hotel are from local artists and i am sure if you can afford to buy you can! The breakfast is lovely with freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals and fresh fruit, and then a selection of lovely home made breakfasts we had the full english excellent. We travelled by the local bus on Saturday to Wrexham only every hour but it was relaxing sitting and letting the driver do all the work.We booked the cinema which is situated in the basement, the stairs leading down have all been improved as has the lighting leading to the cinema it has a real feel of a real cinema and very easy to operate there are two sittings 6.30pm and 8.30pm After watching the film we went upstairs and sat by the log fire and had coffee with delicious home made sweets and relaxed. I would definately recommend this hotel for couples who would like a romantic weekend (or longer) which is very intimate.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JANSDIARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

I am going to be brief, if you are a couple or family ect do stay here I am sure you will enjoy. If you read the bad reviews you might notice somthing in common all of these guests were traveling for buisness purposes. If you travel with work or world wide and you are used to a 24hr reception, all you can eat breakfast buffet. Customer service, minimalist clean functional rooms and a lift. Room service around the clock. You are probably going to the wrong place. We stayed two nights here and then one in the star at the bottom of the quaint little village that is ruthin as my wife could not take any more. We found the staff in the star to be more pleasant. The rooms were more modern and clean looking. The food was to die for. As for the Manorhaus we were disapointed and would not concider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 135thehotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

The room though a little small was well appointed and the wet room was nice. There are plenty of drinks provided with the tea and coffee making facilities and lovely fluffy towels. The dressing gown and flip flops were a nice addition.

The hotel is quirky with art works around, a library (including dvds for your room) and a sauna & steam room. The restaurant is good, including breakfast. The bar and lounge too - the chairs are much comfier than they look! But a real gem is the cinema that can be booked by guests. It was lovely to sit in comfort and watch our choice of film for free and without anyone else. A treat!

It was a lovely escape from normal life and I would recommend it. Ruthin is a nice small town too. We went on a KGB deals which made it even sweeter.

Room Tip: Probably best to choose a room away from the road if you can. It was a little noisy on a Saturday ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

This place is excellent - friendly and extremely helpful staff and owners, and a great room. We had the suite (Room 5) which is great, next to the Library full of books, CDs and DVDs to borrow. There is also a small Spa which you can book, and it's right in the middle of Ruthin which is a great little town. Ruthin has several bars around the main square (1 min walk away) and 2 great restaurants, but the restaurant in this hotel is the best place to eat in town. It's about £26 for 2 courses and well worth it, with lots of good wine too (the wine is £20+)
Best feature of all however is the little cinema in the basement which you can also book, and watch any of about 70 films all available - amazing!

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are 4 and 5 which are suites and a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ged S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.1 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Manorhaus Llangollen
Manorhaus Llangollen
#6 of 28 in Llangollen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#7 of 16 in Ruthin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manorhaus Ruthin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manorhaus Ruthin

Property: Manorhaus Ruthin
Address: 10 Well Street, Ruthin LL15 1AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Manorhaus Ruthin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manorhaus is a boutique style eight-bedroom townhouse restaurant and gallery in the centre of Ruthin, a historic market town nestled in the Vale of Clwyd. A Grade II listed Georgian building, its original features have been juxtaposed with stylish modern interior design and 21st Century facilities, including mini fitness room; guest library with magazines, books and dvd's; private cinema; sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manorhaus Ruthin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manorhaus Hotel Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing