We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class in every way.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ruthin, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peter w
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class in every way.”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very upmarket accommodation and facilities with most amenable hosts.Have no hesitation in unreservedly recommending this property for groups of like minded friends or family groups although teenagers may struggle unless they enjoy walking and outdoor life.We had a superb few days in beautiful countryside.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed here as a family group and had a wonderful time!
Lovely, peaceful location with beautiful surroundings, yet within easy driving distance of the coastal resorts and tourist attractions of North Wales. Walks and bike rides are available straight outside the door (the dogs loved this).
Very nice accommodation with everything a family or group could want. Huge dining table in the kitchen diner, comfortable seating in the lounge and the whole house was spotless!
If it's a quiet, tranquil, away from it all location you want then this is for you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great house in beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed for 1 week - the location is great for walks with several straight from the doorstep. Stunning views over rolling hills. Secluded but close to Ruthin which has shops, restaurants and supermarkets. House is extremely functional, clean and spacious. Fantastic stay, would highly recommend to friends and family, and anyone wanting to explore North Wales.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scudwilso...
beccles
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Xmas week ”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed as a family over the Xmas week, and loved every minute.
The barn itself is beautifully decorated, perfect for a family gathering, with a large kitchen and large lounge area.
Beautifully decorated Xmas tree already for our arrival and the fire roaring away. Great hamper of goodies also left for our arrival, very thoughtful.
Ruthin is only 2miles away for shopping , but we had a Tesco delivered without a problem.
Very polite and friendly owners, who answered any questions we had prior to arrival without hesitation, and would of done the same during visit had the need arisen.
Would certainly recommend the barn to any family's looking for a get together.
Great hot tub, lovely for looking at the stars in the evening.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTrec1
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation in a fantastic setting”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the accommodation with a specific event and date in mind and Ysgubor Cook suited our needs perfectly. The layout and facilities were first class and the hot tub came in very useful on a couple of occasions.
The accommodation is set to a very high standard with WIFI included, the large kitchen dinner area was perfect for 8 adults coming and going as we did.
There is ample parking (we had a vehicle each!) with room to spare
The owner were very friendly and helpful but not overbearing

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The single bed
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ang9710
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay - perfect Family holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Ysgubor Cook. The Barn is stunning - it has everything you need and is furnished to a very high standard. The hot tub was a great hit with the Children and our dog loved all the walks right on the doorstep. The town of Ruthin is only a short drive away and it is a good base for days out in Snowdonia and the Coast. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and definitely hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gfunkatro...
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Barn-storming”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our trip to Ysgubor Cook was fantastic. The barn itself is beautiful, well equipped and everything is finished to a really high standard, a real home-from-home.

Caroline was fantastic host throughout, from sending us clear directions before the journey to leaving a welcome basket of essentials, she really couldn't of done any more to make our stay better.

If you want to get away from it all this really is a great place. We stayed with friends and our young families and had a great time exploring the local woods on foot and local towns which are only a short car journey away.

Already planning our next stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing