We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Arthur Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed with our teenage children in the apartment at The Arthur. It is light and spacious with 360 degree views of the mountains, sea and town. The whole apartment is immaculate and equipped with all you need to enable you to travel light, and everything worked. There is a heating control in the apartment in case of cold weather, but even with the cool Welsh temperatures we didn't need to turn it up, and, in fact, were quite hot at times. Our kids were happy with free wi-fi, plenty of TV channels, and easy access to the putting green, crazy golf, tennis and beach, all of which are literally on the doorstep. The bedrooms were large with plenty of storage, the beds comfortable and plenty of linen/quilts/towels were available. The bathroom is large & bright, has plenty of hot water and has a separate bath and shower cubicle. The electricity was charged as an extra at the end of the holiday, but this was a flat rate of £2 per day and so not expensive.
Jack and Maggie, the owners, are extremely helpful and friendly.
I would definitely recommend this as a good value holiday. We had spent the previous week in a large caravan in Tywyn, and at just £150 more than the caravan, the apartment's facilities, weather-resistance, space and comfort made it well worth paying extra for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMRNo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
42
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Beautiful, clean rooms with all the facilities you would expect. Hosts could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful. We had Room 3 which overlooks the seafront, stunning views. The room next door had a bacony which would be lovely on hot summer evenings. This is an excellent guest house in a stunning location, beautiful sunset views over Cardigan Bay. We will most definitely be back to the Arthur.

Room Tip: Choose one at the front with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed at the arthur for 2 days,without doubt the best b&b we have stayed in,the rooms are large modern and fresh.There was a selection of dvds to watch and the breakfast was outstanding.Wounderfull hosts,excellent sea views would highly recommend.Left my camera lead there by mistake and they sent it to me free of charge,what more can you ask for,will be booking again next year.Patrick & Julie from south wales.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My friend Val and I have stayed at The Arthur three times now. Maggie and Jack are so welcoming, accommodating and friendly. Nothing seems too much for them. They have provided soya milk and gluten free bread and even cards and chocolates for our birthdays!You can even buy original watercolour paintings if you are so inclined! We will continue to visit whenever we can.
Anne Harding

Room Tip: Room 3 has a wonderful view of Cardigan bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This was the fourth time we have stayed here, and it only gets better - there is now a fridge available behind the bar for storing cold drinks, and cold drinks and ice cream can be purchased - you write down what you use. The ice creams looked wonderful, though we didn't get to try any this visit - we were too full from sea-front fish and chips :-)

The owners really do everything they can to make your trip perfect. The breakfasts are the best I have had anywhere, and a really good selection of fruit and cereal too. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the showers are great (especially the MASSIVE one in room 5!). Margaret and Jack remember us every year, and to my son a trip to Tywyn and the Arthur is as much a part of his year as his birthday or Christmas. He loves watching a DVD each night from the selection provided, and he loves that Margaret lines up his cuddly toys under the quilt! We'll be back again next year as usual!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Booked from Chester a couple of days before going and inadvertantly turned up on the wrong day. However even though it was in the busy season they found a room for us and made us very welcome. The sea view was lovely and the room nicely appointed with a good bathroom. The breakfast was excellent and although there was no parking on site, across the road we had no difficulty finding a safe place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed at this wonderful property for two nights and had a faultless stay from start to finish, accompanied by terrific and hospitable hosts.

The property is located on the seaside, with parking available outside (on the road) or behind on the premises. Upon arrival I was assisted by one of the owners with my bags and ushered up to my room instantly to relax / freshen up etc. The owner explained everything about the room, their facilities and breakfast arrangements, including the honesty bar area which included soft drinks, ice creams and sorbets.

My room was located on the second floor via an average size staircase which incidentally is well lit up by sensor activated lights rather than the standard ‘on all night’ lighting. It didn’t overlook the seaside as it was facing the rear of the property (overlooking the rear of the property and a small activity park – mini golf, putting golf, quoits, table tennis and tennis) but that didn’t bother me and assured a quieter stay (no external street noise etc.). It contained a large, comfortable double bed with two bedside tables and headboard mounted lamps, a small table used for the coffee / tea station, a collapsible luggage rack, a large wardrobe (with coat hangers), a small flatscreen TV and an accompanying DVD player (with a large range of DVD’s freely available in the hallway) and a sitting chair. (NB: No telephone or refrigerator [a standard omission from the majority of accommodation properties], but a guest fridge was located in the bar area.) Free Wi-Fi was also available with a strong signal. The only minor flaw with the room was the venetian blind that covered the window, as this lets in a fair amount of light in the morning and (I feel) could do with another curtain to assist it.

The ensuite was clean, a bit on the small side but functional without being neither cramped nor constrictive, and contained the basic toiletries, a toilet, vanity sink with mirror and a shower. This was a bit small but large enough to accommodate me and still have manoeuvrability, with great water pressure and temperature, and very clean.

Breakfast was included and consisted of a variety of cereals, juices and yoghurts, fruit compote, prunes, tea, coffee, toast (with a variety of jams and honey) and a cooked selection (sausages, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, beans and tomatoes). The whole lot was good quality, served promptly and was generous in its serving size. This was served downstairs in the front dining area adjacent to the guests bar area and was comfortable and spacious.

They don’t have any dinner services, but they recommended a small, local restaurant called “Walkers” which was very nice, very hospitable and good value for money.

Overall this was a fantastic, two nights stay with a great pair of hosts (which made it so much better and personal), good value for money in very comfortable and welcoming surroundings. I would thoroughly recommend this property to other travellers and, if I ever return to Tywyn, I would definitely stay here. Furthermore I would be disappointed if I couldn't.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJEargasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
10.4 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
60 reviews
11.6 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
478 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leahurst Bed & Breakfast
8.2 mi away
Brackenhurst House
Brackenhurst House
#1 of 1 in Fairbourne
66 reviews
11.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arthur Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthur Guest House

Property: The Arthur Guest House
Address: 6 Marine Parade, Tywyn LL36 0DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Arthur Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing