We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb guest house in a great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Arthur Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb guest house in a great location”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

The Arthur Guest House is located in a quiet location on the sea front in Tywyn. Rooms at the front look out to the sea, I had a room at the back of the guest house which had views over an open grass area, Tywyn town and the mountains beyond.

The double bedroom was a good size. Decor modern and fresh, the room was spotlessly clean throughout with a good size en-suite and shower.

The full English breakfast was superb, with high quality produce cooked to perfection. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and a wide selection of alternative choices were available.

The proprietors were friendly and accommodating, especially around my request for an earlier breakfast on the first morning.

I'd have no hesitation in recommending The Arthur Guest House to anyone and look forward to returning in the future.



Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
41
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Once again we have returned to the Arthur for a brilliant, cosy, relaxing, friendly stay with such great hosts. The breakfasts were good as well! Already I have planned to come again and have booked their excellent large front room overlooking the promenade.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbhygiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this lovely guest house. Very comfortable, in a quiet location, and overlooking a well-kept and pleasant sea-side promenade. Our bedroom was spacious, bright and well-maintained. Was particularly impressed with the little details that bigger establishments overlook - for example, the breakfast was superbly cooked using quality ingredients; the bedroom TV had the full range of Freeview channels and a remote control that actually worked! As we are keen walkers who used the train to get about, the Arthur is ideally located for accessing Cadair Idris and the western side of Snowdonia. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chashley1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Jack and Maggie run an excellent bed and breakfast , good rooms , large beds, good bathrooms, big towels, superb breakfasts, nothing is too much trouble. Early breakfast, diets etc. I have now stayed at 5 bed and breakfast establishments in Tywyn and this one is superb. It is also very good value for money having recently paid the same amount in Shrewsbury for a room only.

Room Tip: Ask for the front double room for a superb view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesBir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A very pleasant and comfortable 3 night stay..... lovely and clean... very friendly... a superb location being right on the seafront.... little personal touches made all the difference to make our stay even more enjoyable..... a lovely couple who make time to ensure your stay is enjoyed..... will definitely stay again.... our very best wishes and thanks again... and our thoughts are with you and your son... Gary, Suha and Georgina
(PS) Am trying to find one of those musical 'surfs' on the net...... not much luck so far!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meso115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Beautiful house tastefully decorated, bright and airy rooms, everything spotlessly clean. Exceptionally comfortable bed.

One of the best breakfasts I have ever tasted, served by a warm and welcoming couple for whom nothing is too much trouble.

Great value for money.

What more could one ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I was in this beautiful hotel for three night and definitively will come back next year. I was in a single room with see view, perfectly clean and modern. The hotel is lovely decorated, the breakfast is delicious (they also offer a vegetarion breakfast if you like) and the owners make you feel at home. Thank you Maggie and Jack for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
3.8 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
631 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
340 reviews
5.8 mi away
Prysgoed
Prysgoed
#1 of 5 in Llwyngwril
48 reviews
3.5 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#5 of 11 in Aberdovey
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arthur Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthur Guest House

Property: The Arthur Guest House
Address: 6 Marine Parade, Tywyn LL36 0DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Arthur Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing