We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and a lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Preswylfa Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just a few lines to say what a warm welcome we recieved and a very comfortable stay at Preswylfa Guest House in Tywyn. My wife and I stayed there for a weekend when we went to a friends wedding in Tywyn, at the start of Summer.
In spite of the weather being a little grim when we arrived, we were soon cheered up by our pleasant, airy surroundings and the very friendly atmosphere. This continued throughout our stay and the weather was stunning by the end of our stay too.
The breakfast's have to be among the best I've had anywhere (sorry mum!), and were a great way to start the day.
I'd certainly recommend Preswylfa and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Preswylfa Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

As a family we had stayed with Lawrence and Jane in 2010. the previous week I had stayed in a 5 star hotel in Chester. I would suggest Lawrence and Jane offer the same quality in all aspects of their hospitality. They provide excellence and adapt to individuals needs. Breakfast is substantial and can to adjusted on a daily basis to your individual requirements. Supper is excellent and the quality of locally sourced products is reflected in the brillant meals. The home made biscuits and cookies provided on the hospitality tray in the rooms were sublime.
Lawrence and Jane are five star hosts full of useful local knowledge and information.
They go the extra mile for guests. All the rooms are lovely but the Broadwater Suite is the one to go for the views.The location is great for the town, station and TR with the benfit of off road parking. A must stay for visitors.

Room Tip: Broadwater Suite for the views, tranquility and wildlife.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here from 24th to 27th August. Very nice B&B, superb breakfasts, nicely cooked, comfy room with nice outlook and lovely home made cookies provided too. Good location right next to the station with parking to the rear of the property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mousie401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed from the 10th to the 12th August 2012 and believe this to be one of top guest houses we have stayed in. Lawrence and Jane have used their experiences of guest houses to create the ideal stay and are very knowledgeable about the area. Very friendly from the welcome to the goodbye could not do enough for us. Breakfast's excellent and lovely touch to have home made cookies in our room for the second night of our stay. Carpark at the back with plenty of room meant no worries about leaving the car. The location very good - opposite the railway station where a 6 minute train can be caught to travel to Aberdyfi/Aberdovey. The local curry house (Dine India) served good food and within walking distance of the guest house. Had two good nights sleep and would recommend to anyone you won't be disapointed.

Room Tip: Broadwater suite situated at the back of the guest house with lovely views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Recently stayed (July 5 & 6) and had an excellent time: good evening meal and excellent breakfasts. Room was comfortable and clean. Parking at the rear, very close to the station and not far from the Talyllyn Railway (where we were heading). As has been said, even though on the road, it wasn't noisy at night. Hosts Lawrence and Jane were very helpful. We would stay again if we return to Tywyn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_R99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were a little worried when we arrived to see how close to the road we were in this B & B, but we needn't have been - the double glazing keeps all the noise out, and Tywyn is not exactly a rowdy place anyway, especially at night. Preswylfa is exceptionally comfortable and Jane's cooking is worth going a long way for. Do try at least one evening meal, as well as her very satisfying breakfasts. Jane and Lawrence are marvellous hosts, and very good company, as well as doing a very good job of running a guest house. We have stayed in Tywyn many times before, but we will certainly be returning here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

An excellent B&B in a convenient location near the railway stations and the beach. The breakfast was ample. The room was very nice and comfortable. The hosts were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
3.7 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
660 reviews
9.7 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leahurst Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#1 of 1 in Abergynolwyn
10 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
3.4 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#3 of 11 in Aberdovey
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preswylfa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preswylfa Guest House

Address: 2 Bryn Mair, Tywyn LL36 9AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Price Range: £35 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preswylfa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit us at Preswyfla Guest House. We are conveniently located close to the main line railway station in Tywyn and within easy walking distance of the High Street, beach and other local amenities. Jane and Lawrence Garvey welcome you to their family home and aim to provide a relaxing, welcoming atmosphere and facilities of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Preswylfa Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing