We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodations, breakfast and wifi connection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Preswylfa Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Preswylfa Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodations, breakfast and wifi connection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I'd echo all the other comments about how fantastic the place is and how welcoming the Garveys are. The week before we arrived Jane had broken her wrist, but that didn't stop her and Lawrence providing a five star service. Although on holiday, I had quite a lot of work to do. Wifi access was free, which was incredibly helpful, and access to the dining room was offered whenever I needed a table to work at.

Room Tip: Broadwater has stunning views across to what we always call Crocodile Hill and Broadwater of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
30
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Return visit in June,hospitality from Lawrence and Jane was excellent as always. Both supper and breakfast were substantial and catered to all tastes. Jane can adapt her culinary skills to meet the needs of her guests. The whole focus is on the needs and comfort of the guests.Bonus is the car parking.

Room Tip: Go for theBroadwater if you are a couple, views superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We found the Preswylfa to be a little gem in the town of Twyn.Excellent rooms and added touches of cold drinks and small fridge in the room was very welcome in the hot weather. .Breakfast was super along with the evening meal. and if travelling by train the house is located very near to the train station which will be a big plus in the future when visiting family in Twyn.
Thank you Lawrence & Jane.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Once again I have visited, this time with my wife, and as expected we both found the most sincere welcome and a great wish to make our stay happy and comfortable - despite the very hot weather. The choice, made the night before, for breakfast is very, very extensive and it is cooked for you - no buffets here! The evening meal, if desired, is a single choice but Jane will try to cater for any special requirements and again it is home cooked for you from ingredients that are certainly fresh. The beds are very comfortable and a comprehensive (very clean) hospitality tray is provided with a small fridge in Broadwater (en suite, double, rear) and in Cambrian (en suite, twin, front) and is to be provided in Marconi (private facilities, single, front). We thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Broadwater is the largest, quietest room with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent a night at Preswylfa before my husband had a day's driving on the Talyllyn Railway. Jane and Lawrence couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful, coping charmingly with early breakfast requirements and let me stay on later into the morning until transport could come for me as I was on crutches! We had a two course meal on arrival which was delicious and a lovely way to relax after the journey. Rooms were well appointed and our double room had a beautiful view of the valley and hills. There are plenty of stairs as this is a terrace house but I managed even on crutches. The private parking behind is really useful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Jane and Lawrence were great hosts with a warm welcome on arrival and giving a friendly atmosphere over our four day stay.. Nothing was to much trouble for them and they adapted to our needs as and when required - amazing in this day and age! The evening meals were good home cooking and very enjoyable with time spent chatting over the days events. We stayed in the Cambrian Room, at the front of the house , with all facilities good and had no problem with the traffic noise. We are from Greater London so the traffic was a fraction of the level we are used to living with, so, highly amused by early evening there was hardly any cars around at all. We would certainly recommend and already considering revisiting next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

A very good Bed and Breakfast.
Jane and Laurence Garvey are very friendly and welcoming hosts, we stayed in the Broadwater Room on the 4th and 5th July 2013.
It is a lovely large airy room with superb modern en-suite facilities.
Preswylfa is on a fairly busy road junction and with the weather being so hot and the windows open there is certain amount of noise, but coming from the country we possibly noticed this more than others would. There is very convenient parking at the rear of the property.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Preswylfa.
A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edst08general
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
3.7 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
11.5 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.8 mi away
No photo provided
Dolgoch Holiday Homes
#1 of 3 in Tywyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preswylfa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preswylfa Guest House

Property: Preswylfa Guest House
Address: 2 Bryn Mair, Tywyn LL36 9AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preswylfa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit us at Preswyfla Guest House. We are conveniently located close to the main line railway station in Tywyn and within easy walking distance of the High Street, beach and other local amenities. Jane and Lawrence Garvey welcome you to their family home and aim to provide a relaxing, welcoming atmosphere and facilities of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Preswylfa Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing