We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Preswylfa Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back Again”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was my third visit to Preswylfa to stay with Jane, Lawrence and Ben, so it must be good, and as usual had a wonderful stay, I was looked after like a member of the family, and Lawrence many thanks for going to the trouble of bringing my breakfast down to the locomotive shed so early.
And as they say in the classics…I'll be back.
Philip L.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, I have stayed in the Cambrian and the Broadwater
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preswylfa2, Owner at Preswylfa Guest House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks Philip it was a pleasure having you stay again and we would not want you to go hungry. Hope you had a good journey home and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
31
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

You will be assured of a comfortable, friendly and welcoming stay here. Notable for an excellent choice and quality of the breakfast.
The location is ideal if you arrive by train at Tywyn, as all you have to do is cross the road from the station to get there. Only 5 minutes walk to Tywyn's other railway, the narrow gauge steam Talyllyn Railway, which Jane and Lawrence will be happy to recommend to you for a day out.

Room Tip: I enjoyed sitting in the Cambrian room's bay window, watching Tywyn go by ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTF42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preswylfa2, Owner at Preswylfa Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed the room, the breakfast and the Talyllyn Railway. We will be pleased to welcome you again hopefully soon. Jane and Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I only had a short stay but I felt comfortable there and would recommend it wholeheartedly.
The rooms are well decorated, and Lawrence and Jane were ever helpful, even the cat welcomed me in.
I need a return visit to complete sampling the many breakfast options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I between us have stayed in every room in the house! All are well presented and comfortable. Jane and Lawrence do their utmost to make the stay enjoyable and have helpful suggestions for local eateries and things to see. There are thoughtful touches in the rooms which complete the package. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annherself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preswylfa2, Owner at Preswylfa Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It was lovely to have you back and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your kind comments. Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lawrence & Jane are lovely hosts who go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. Even their cat makes you feel welcome. We are particularly grateful for them converting a basement room for our daughter to stay in at short notice due to her plans falling through.
The room we had was large, well decorated, comfortable, with stunning views. There was an extensive selection of complimentary teas, cold drinks and even real coffee in our room plus a fridge with fresh milk in. Breakfast was excellent (& although we didn't eat there in the evening the meals looked good too).
The house is in a perfect location for the Tallylyn railway -an experience not to be missed & there is a good selection of places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Broadwater suite is where we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnykin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

On arrival we were welcomed by a friendly couple who throughout our stay made us very welcome. The room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. Would definately recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to stay in a good location in Tywyn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Once again a very warm welcome, excellent stay and a great breakfast. The rooms are cosy, and the hotel is in a great location for the centre of Tywyn. Opposite the train station and a short stroll from the sea. Don't worry about the train station being noisy, as It's not a busy station.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
3.7 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
3.5 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 11 in Aberdovey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.4 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#7 of 11 in Aberdovey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preswylfa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preswylfa Guest House

Property: Preswylfa Guest House
Address: 2 Bryn Mair, Tywyn LL36 9AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preswylfa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit us at Preswyfla Guest House. We are conveniently located close to the main line railway station in Tywyn and within easy walking distance of the High Street, beach and other local amenities. Jane and Lawrence Garvey welcome you to their family home and aim to provide a relaxing, welcoming atmosphere and facilities of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Preswylfa Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing