We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed!”
Review of Merton Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merton Villa
Ranked #1 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what was needed!”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here late September for one night as a surprise for my Mum's 50th. Both my sister and I stayed here, I had a twin room and my sister a double. We were both very impressed by the size and cleanliness of our rooms. We were greeted warmly and and felt comfortable as soon as we'd walked through the door. We both had a cooked breakfast which was lovely. We were very impressed by the overall cleanliness and the presentation throughout. We would both definitely recommend a stay at Merton Villa if ever you are around the area. It's in a great location and is very reasonably priced!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
41
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My family and I stayed here in late August, 2012, traveling all the way from New York City. We booked at the last minute, and were very happy to find a place in Tywyn. The Merton Villa and the Ralph family made us feel incredibly at home in Tywyn, and Wales. The hotel is centrally located in Tywyn, convenient to the main train station (a 3 minute walk) and the beach (10 minute walk). The hotel is also 5 minutes from the attraction we came for, the Talyllyn Railroad, the oldest preservation narrow gauge railroad in the world, featured in the Railroad Series of W. Awdrey (Thomas the Tank Engine). The rooms in the hotel were impeccably clean, quiet and comfortable. The full breakfast was excellent. I can't say enough about the Ralph family, and how welcome they made us feel. They arranged for cab rides to neighboring towns, found an ATM for us when we ran low on pounds sterling, and even washed a few of my son's shirts, when he ran out. If we ever have the good fortune to return to coastal Wales, we would certainly want to stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a two-bed room, facing away from the street, towards the garden. Very quiet, easy to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andres i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just to back up what others have said , superb accomodation , spotless , great breakfast and nothing was to much trouble . Also great location would highly recommend to anyone , will be back again . Many thanks Dave & Angie .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We enjoyed 2 nights here,the family were very welcoming we stayed in the double blue room which was clean and the bed was very comfortable and I loved the hot shower,and the full English breakfast filled us for the day,highly recommended to anyone,many thanks April and Darren

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilandDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

stayed here 11-8-12 for 1 night,wish we could have stayed longer the ralph family are so friendly after about 5 mins was like you had known them for years,food was great, rooms were faultless,they just make you feel so much at home,thank you so much will definitly stay again,
p.s. i almost forgot stan asked me not mention him,ooops

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed there last weekend for three nights. Superb accommodation, clean, warm and luxurious. Service was extremely friendly and made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.....and the breakfast should be award winning!

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Spent 4 nights here with my mum during Race the train 2011. I can't reccomend this place enough the rooms are spotless, the catering and hospitality was second to none they even let us wash our muddy trainers out in their beautifully planted garden! The best part of the stay was meeting the family who made us feel so at home. So a big thankyou to the Ralphs! X

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
3.6 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
631 reviews
10.9 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
3.4 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
10.3 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Villa

Property: Merton Villa
Address: Merton Villa High Street, Tywyn LL36 9AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Hotel Class:4 star — Merton Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merton Villa has a four star rating by the Welsh Tourist Board and all of our rooms are en-suite. We are situated on the West coast of Wales, in the town of Tywyn, which is in the county of Gwynedd within the Snowdonia National Park. Tywyn has a lot to offer, both for families and adventure seekers, and our guest house is situated just a short walk away from many of the local attractions and the blue flag awarded beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merton Villa Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing