We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Monfa”
Review of Monfa Guest House

Monfa Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monfa Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent Monfa”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

If it's a guest house you want with great location, quality breakfasts, extremely clean rooms, friendly and accommodating hosts (Paula and Shaun) who go out of their way to make your stay comfortable, then the MONFA is for you. Returned the last six years for Race the Train weekend and will be back next year. Give it a try!
Dave and Sue Bridgnorth

Room Tip: They can accommodate all from single people, couples and families
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    8
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
26
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Booked this for the "race the train" weekend, from the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome, comfortable rooms, great breakfast and have already booked up for next year...... kids looking forward to it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lovely place to stay, the rooms were clean and spacious and Paula and Shaun could not have been better. We were there for the 'race the train' weekend and upon completion of the race Shaun handed us a lovely cream cake and some biscuits which was really welcome. Breakfasts were lovely and Paula is so nice, very chatty and friendly but not overbearing. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowenaMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My inlaws booked the guesthouse for a special birthday for one family member (bearing in mind or was an 80th) travelling from Yorkshire we arrived later than expected due to traffic on the m62 - not unusual - and my father-in-law rang ahead to state that we would be arriving late. When we did arrive I called the guest house to find out where to park as it is double yellow lines all outside. I was greeted with a sullen, moody and downright rude attitude. The manager (a man) started having a go saying that plenty of others wanted the room. I explained we were outside and wanted to know about parking and the owner replied "park where you want" and hung up. We ventured into the guest house but decided not to say anything other than apologise for arriving at 9pm. (I don't think this is late) after being on the road for 4 hours we did not need what come next. The owner then accused us of being in the pub when we last called. We were astonished by this as it was my father-in-law who had rang ahead to say that we would be arriving late. We were really upset and asked the owner if he wanted out business and he said no and marched us out. To be quite honest we were glad he did this as the decor in the house was incredibly dated and we were greeted by barking and growling dogs when we arrived. The stench of smoke was incredibly strong and the house was far from clean. The owner was irritable, nasty, intimidating and downright rude. We stayed in a much better guest house further down the road who were more than happy to receive our business and it was a much nicer place. The guy who owns this place is simply looking to make a quick quid or two and hospitality is the last thing on his mind.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at the Monfa Guest House for the popular "Race the Train" weekend; I had a single room with a separate private bathroom which was on the small side, but comfortable and adequate for my needs. Paula and Shaun were very welcoming, and the breakfasts were excellent. The location is nice and quiet, yet very convenient for all that Tywyn has to offer, and even on what must be the busiest weekend of the year I had no difficulty in parking almost directly outside.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in Monfa Guest House for 5 nights at the beginning of August. We stayed in a family room which was spacious and very clean. Paula and Shaun have been great hosts. They could have not done more to make our stay enjoyable. Shaun's breakfast is amazing. On two days we have been leaving the B&B very early to go on day trips. Because we missed breakfast, Shaun cooked us a tasty evening meal instead. We had a brilliant holiday. The location is fantastic for exploring and walking. Thank you Paula, Shaun & Brandon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiffy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from our fifth visit to Monfa. Different room to that we usually have, but still excellent. Paula, Shaun and family as friendly and accommodating as ever with Shaun Breakfasts as superb as usual. Lookinh forward to visit number six.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
0.8 mi away
Leahurst Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#4 of 11 in Aberdovey
42 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dolgoch Holiday Homes
#1 of 3 in Tywyn
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Monfa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monfa Guest House

Property: Monfa Guest House
Address: Monfa Pier Road, Tywyn LL36 0AU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B. All rooms en-suite. One double,one twin and one family room. All rooms have view of sea and/or Snowdonia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monfa Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing