We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
WANT A VIEW FROM THE TERRACE
Watch the dolphins in the bay from the balcony!!
Tywyn Beach miles of sand
The sea front Tywyn
The famous Talyllyn Railway
Fabulous sunsets viewed from the beach
Tywyn Prom
The famous peat 'bog' on Tywyn beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tywyn, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
caroline...
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very good property in a lovely location. We had a very nice holiday with lovely weather.
Would have been good to have some blinds or something over the French doors because when the sun shines it gets extremely hot & if you open the doors you get the noise of the sea. Just a abit annoying when trying to see & watch TV.
If your looking for a secure garden this property only has a rope around which looks nice but doesn't stop your dog from getting distracted from people & dogs on the prom.
Lots of strict rules to follow on dealing with household waste & how the property is to be left on departure.
Overall good property with fabulous views.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irenewrig...
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for relaxing”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a great holiday in Beach Retreat,very clean,everything you would need for a relaxing holiday.Even the weather was good.one bed was perfect,the other was a little hard for my liking,but the bedding was lovely,and all the rooms laid out very tastefully.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl L
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We couldn't believe our eyes when we arrived at the Beach retreat in Tywyn in Gwynedd. The property is literally on the beach. It's 'upside down' so the living room is upstairs. The view of the sea is just breathtaking, and quite frankly you could have a wonderful holiday just sitting on the balcony. Beautifully furnished and decorated and a short walk to the local amenities.We loved it .

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopoli...
1 review
“Excellent place!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Beach Retreat is located on the seafront in Tywyn, it doesn't appear much on arrival, however, once inside it is a hidden gem. A very spacious lounge with log burner, a well equipped kitchen, 2 good sized bedrooms, the bathroom has an amazing shower! A sun lounge off one of the bedrooms & a balcony from the lounge with great sea views.
We'll definitely be visiting again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaA31...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday Home & Location - Doggy Friendly!”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great value for money, this hidden gem of a home is situated in a truly stunning location with the beach & sea on your doorstep & backdrop of Snowdonia to top it off. Our week was blessed with sunshine and sunsets full of family relaxation & laughter, everything we needed was on our doorstep. The Retreat is modern, clean & airy and equipped with every home comfort you could ask for including WiFi, we were touched with our welcome gifts, what a lovely gesture. Aberdovey is only a 4 mile walk along the gorgeous stretch of beach coastline, a pretty, bustling harbour & only a 6 min train ride back to Tywyn & Machynlleth a short drive away hosting its Wednesday market & antique shops was a pleasure to visit. Excellent service from Lounge Holidays & thank you to the owners of this stunning home.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Home & location
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Hi Amanda, thank you for taking the time to leave this FAB review, I feel that The Beach Retreat certain deserves the 5* rating and your kind comments. Thanks again Iain @ LOUNGE HOLIDAYS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumlaw
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful to be right on the beach, easy swimming and sea views.”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We know this beautiful area of Wales really well but had never rented a house right on the beach before. We could have a day walking in the mountains and a refreshing swim before dinner when we got home, and there was plenty of hot water for a warming shower afterwards. Having wetsuits available to borrow was also great fun. When the weather was less good, we could still watch the sea from the spacious upstairs lounge and having the kitchen adjoining meant 'the cook' did not feel left out. We liked the sea themed décor too.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the balcony with a cup of coffee and a book to read.
Liked least: The view of modern flats from the kitchen.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frangie73
high peak
1 review
“Unbeatable location and view”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Beach retreat can't be beaten! We have been several times with our daughter as a new born and as a toddler. Iain installed a stair gate and provided high chair. It's dog friendly and perfect for the whole family. The view is unbeatable you can sit in or out and enjoy the seaside in all weathers. The beach retreat is furnished for comfort and has everything you need, from kids toys to surfboards and kites !
Location is great we hardly use our car once there as tywyn centre is a short walk with all the shops you could need. Aberdovey is a nice ride on the bus with the choice to walk back along the beach and barmouth is a pleasant coastal train journey away.
We bought fresh fish off a fisherman on the beach to BBQ back at the beach retreat, perfect even though it was February. We will continue to return

Date of stay: February 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing