We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gentle chug to dolgoth falls”
Review of Talyllyn Railway

Talyllyn Railway
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Tywyn
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Talyllyn Railway is a historic narrow gauge steam railway, running from Tywyn to Abergynolwyn and Nant Gwernol through unspoilt Snowdonia. Tywyn is home to the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum, Railway Shop and King's Licensed Cafe & Bistro. The line passes the delightful Dolgoch Falls and there are excellent forest walks at Nant Gwernol.We offer a great day out for all the family. Groups receive a discount when booked in advance.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A lovely day out whatever the weather on an old narrow gauge steam train. Time to have a circular walk around the falls and back on the train to towyn. Strangely enjoyable even for non train enthusiasts.

1  Thank golferoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris p, General Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

The Talyllyn Railway is a great way to spend the day enthusiast or not. The falls that you went to a spectacular and well worth the short walk from the railway. We are happy to be part of your lovely day.

Chris Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Talyllyn Railway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 404 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Well worth the two hour drive from our home.
The railway is great from start yo finish, met by the station master this morning, very friendly as where all the staff the customer service is second to none.
A lovely trip down to Tywyn by train, the train was clean and well presented.
Had a walk in to Tywyn town not much to shout about.
Had lunch back at the railway excellent cafe , food was great.
If your planning a visit to this part of wales I would recommend you visit this railway.
Defiantly will be returning for another trip .

1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris p, General Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Glad we were able to be a part of what sounds like a great day. Please come again soon and spread the word about the worlds first railway run by volunteers.

Chris Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I cannot say enough about the friendly and helpfull Volunteers and Staff
As our train was a private charter it was double headed
I got to ride in both Cabs(thank you)
We ate at there there Cafe (very good)
Wish I could join them.

Thank Brianmricecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris p, General Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Really glad you enjoyed your day. Whilst all our customers are special and we always try to make every train special, charter trains are a unique way of celebrating that special day a bit more. Just ring 01654 710472 and tell us what you want to do and we will tailor the day to your needs.

We are really chuffed :-) you enjoyed your special train.

Chris Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently visited Talyllyn Railway over May Half Term. We were lucky enough to go on Duncan Day. The children absolutely loved it! The activities they had were varied and well thought out (my boys loved painting pebbles for the fairy glen they're going to be creating)
For just over £30 we had a full day out! The waterfalls at Dolgoch were stunning, and the perfect spot to stop for a picnic. The station at Abergynolwyn had a lovely little cafe, and again, more activities for the children (face painting, balloon animals etc) which were no extra cost. We even got to meet the Thin Controller!
A brilliant day out for the whole family. We arrived at 11.30 and didn't get back to our camp site til gone 6pm! My 6 year old & 3 year old had a fantastic time (& to be honest, so did Mum & Dad!)

Thank MrsG2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris p, Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Really glad you enjoyed your day, you commented on the price and you are correct that we do not charge any extra for the Duncan days. They are run because we think they are fun and we enjoy watching happy customers walk away with smiling children. The next Duncan day is the 21st August folks so please come along.

Hope to see you again soon.
Chris Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had the great pleasure to ride on the footplate and even sounded the whistle. A great day out and the food in the café well worth the visit. They even do a Sunday lunch that's not over priced.

2  Thank Lang4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris p, General Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Lang4d

it sounded like you received our 5 star treatment which is always our goal. very glad you enjoyed the day and we hope to see you again soon.

Chris Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talyllyn Railway also viewed

Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Talyllyn Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing