We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect food in a cosy environment”
Review of Salt Marsh Kitchen

Salt Marsh Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Tywyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Season Food, Locally Sourced. Serving the best quality food, made from the wonderful produce we are lucky enough to have growing & breed locally. Meat that has been born, bred and butchered in Wales, and fish plucked from our beautiful Cardigan Bay. Freshly Prepared By Our Chefs. Daily delivery's from our local food heroes and crafted from scratch each day by the Salt Marsh Kitchen team. We pride ourselves on using the very best produce, create exciting and delicious ever-changing seasonal dishes with no shortcuts or compromises. Organic & sustainable whenever possible.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect food in a cosy environment”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I have been staying locally and were recommended the Salt Marsh Kitchen by our hosts. We arrived this evening with high expectations - and they were fulfilled completely. Fantastic food with prompt, friendly service. (we both had the braised Lamb which was excellent as was the soup and fruit crumble)
Definitely worth checking out if you are in the area - need to book in advance as it is popular!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    43
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Small restaurant but good vibe really good service nice food and a good selection of drinks book before you go will defo be back

Helpful?
Thank powertothepeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant change from the chips and takeaways of Tywyn!! ”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We were recommended Salt Marsh Kitchen as somewhere to go for an Anniversary meal whilst on holiday in Tywyn.

I've got to say we werent disappointed. Scallops to start -perfectly cooked.
Great selection of mains and specials.
The desserts were a great end to the night.

This restaurant is a pleasant addition to the town and with a really friendly atmosphere and a superb chef, they will no doubt be full most evenings.

A recommendation for anyone within a drive of Tywyn.

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Uniquely decorated in a beach style, friendly service and most importantly delicious food which was reasonably priced for the good quality. My husband had the seafood risotto, I had pizza and we left clean plates! Would most definitely return the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Su77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt right at home in this friendly seafood place”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Of all the places I dined in Tywyn, this had to be my favorite. The friendliness of the owner/manager/wait-person made me feel very comfortable, and I really liked the food and drink. The Salt Marsh is very homey and un-pretentious but sunny and quiet. Near the east edge of the village, more or less opposite the Magic Lantern Theater. I'd go back there in a heartbeat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HeighHoSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Marsh Kitchen also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Salt Marsh Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing