We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little difficult”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hosts were really nice, but there were a couple of challenges. We were in the large family room. As you can see from the photo, it's under the pitch of the roof. There are two flights of very steep and uneven steps to get to this room. Someone (owners? another guest?) smoked while we stayed there. The smoke came right up into the room. Our children are not used to cigarette smoke, and it made them both sick to their stomachs. On the positive side, breakfast was generous, and the kids loved being able to visit the animals.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Aero3926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you found the stairs difficult it is the charm and problem with old buildings. I am very sorry and some what surprised that you could smell smoke as we have a no smoking policy in all the rooms, how ever I can not be certain at all times that every guest abides by this. I was certainly not aware of it at the time of your stay. i wish you had told us at the time and we might have been able to have sorted it. However I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the children enjoyed seeing the animals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife, daughter, Labradoodle and I recently stayed at the Pen-Y-Dre bed and breakfast and had an excellent stay. We were even allowed to leave the dog in the room whilst we went out for dinner.

The cake upon arrival was a nice touch and was delicious. The room was a great size and already had a cot and bedding provided for our 18 month year old daughter. The room had lots of walking books and books about the area which was much appreciated as we did plan on doing some walking.

The location of the farm is amazing. The local town and views are absolutely stunning and Abergavenny is just a quick drive away (about 10 mins).

Breakfast in the morning was excellent. There was a wide variety of choice of both cereals and a cooked breakfast. The atmosphere was homely and comfy.

There is literally nothing we could fault about our stay. If the owners of Pen-y-dre farm ever read this - thank you very much for such a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I contacted Gwen in advance to question what would be the best room for us as we required room for t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you Stu for posting your great review, we enjoyed meeting you and your family and of course the dog which was so well behaved. Hope to see you again.
Kind Regards Gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Recently stayed at Pen -y - Dre Farm campsite. In a remarkable position, scenery fabolous.

Campsite shared with caravans, there is a toilet / shower block - cost of using the shower is included in camping fee.

The proprietors Idris & Gwen Jones are very helpful and friendly people. They can provide information on the arrea.

Great campsite!!!!

Philip Nevin
Birmingham

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and posting the video, loved the views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Me and my partner have just returned from a wonderful bank holiday weekend at this lovely B & B. The cake we received on arrival was delicious and we were really happy with our charming, beautiful room.

The full breakfast was fantastic and just what you need for an action packed day of walking and sightseeing, cooked before your eyes in Gwen and Idris' charming kitchen. It is in a great location with a number of lovely local pubs nearby. The farm animals were wonderful and added to the overall experience.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this warm and friendly B & B and would highly recommend a stay here. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotte m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for posting your lovely review. We would love to see you again, hope you had a good journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We are a party of walkers who return to Gwen and Idris' magnificent b & b year after year, simply because it's the best we've ever found. The welcome varies every visit only in the description of the cake she bakes for us, that, and the jugs of fresh milk for our tea and coffee. The rooms are warm and welcoming, and the wooden floors creak wonderfully in the older, front part of the farmhouse. An assortment of dogs and cats also add to the experience, as do the farm animals outside. This year we saw horses and donkeys, sheep with their lambs, chickens, bantams, and a whole host of piglets, all of whom vied to be scratched every time you walk past. There are also swallows, nesting under the eves. The highlight of the stay, though, is breakfast in the farmhouse kitchen. Fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, orange juice, tea and coffee, and toast with jam or marmalade, are all adjuncts to a magnificent breakfast cooked in front of your eyes by Gwen and Idris. Don't just take my word for it, try this b & b for yourselves!

Room Tip: The front rooms have thick stone walls, exposed beams, and genuinely ancient wooden floors. Very atm...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always great to see guest return and enjoy there stay.
Meeting people is part of the thing we enjoy about doing the cottages abd B & B.
Hope to see you all again when the wild calls for a boys week-end

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This easter I planned to stay in a Welsh cottage near Llanthony only to find that it was inaccessible due to snow and sheet ice not to mention that the water had frozen. Gwen & Idris of Pen-Y-Dre were veritable life savers as 3 cars, 5 women and 2 dogs were all in desperate need of accommodation late on maundy Thursday or facing long drives home. They managed to accommodate us all (including the dogs), providing jugs of milk and banana & sesame cake as if we had been expected to arrive. Breakfast the next morning was superb - fruit salad, yogurt, fantastic bacon, the yellowest scrambled egg ever, mushrooms, tomatoes, toast etc!
The farm was also great - we overlooked the free-range pig-sty and stable. The horses, goats and donkeys were up first with the sow and her piglets definitely choosing to have a lie-in.
It was so good that we managed to book another night for 2 of us before having to return home as they were fully booked. Another great advantage was the fridge provided for guests - as we had expected to self-cater we had lots of food to refrigerate and this was very welcome.
Llanvihangel Crucorney was the last place we received phone reception so the fact that the wi-fi wasn't great was of no account - we had walks in books and the weather was available on TV. We're looking forward to returning to this part of Wales in the near future!

Room Tip: The room overlooking the back with a view of the pigs was a real delight.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for your great review, They say that it is and ill wind that benifits no one, well it was ice and snow in this case. It was lovely meeting your family and very pleased that we could accommodate you on that week-end. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have stayed at Pen-Y-Dre Farm twice now. It is a really welcoming and friendly place to stay from the owners to the animals. You are given a huge slice of home baked cake to welcome you on arrival. The cottages are very pleasant and the owners go out of their way to help, even to turning their farm kitchen over to us to cook and host an evening meal for our group of 16. Not many owners would hand over their kitchen to strangers. The whole of our group enjoyed staying there and we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for the lovely review, it was nice to see you all enjoy your group meal and hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays

Address: Llanfihangel Crucorney | Nr Abergavenny, Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Price Range: £40 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal holiday location especially for families or groups keen to visit The Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons, or walk the Offa`s Dyke Path. The village has The Skirrid Mountain Inn, which is the oldest pub in Wales and was used as Judge Jeffrie`s Court. The scenery is superb with The Skirrid Mountain behind and The Black Mountains just beyond the village. Ideally situated to explore the Wye Valley, Welsh Border Country, Forest of Dean, The Brecon Beacons National Park & South Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing