We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Loved our stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our second time at the Farmhouse and already we are planning our return. Warm welcome, feast of a breakfast, everything you could ask for in a B&B and more. Loved the home made cake on arrival and the extra touch of a jar of cookies along with tea/coffee and milk. Thank you for a lovely weekend. Give our love to Sweep. Tracy & Steve

Room Tip: We recommend the cottages separate from the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardiff198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was nice to see you again, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stopped as B & B guests. A very cosy, very very warm (on a cold and windy weekend) old farmhouse, Very welcoming hosts and excellent breakfasts. Great position for many good walks, pub 300 yards up the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2222walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your good review. We enjoyed have all the group, all very easy guest. I am so pleased the weather turned out better than expected. Hope you have many more good walking week-ends this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed for one night as we were attending a paranormal investigation at the nearby Skirrid Inn. We had informed Gwen of this when we booked and that we would be coming back to the room in the middle of the night so she showed us a side entrance to the rooms and told us they would leave the outside light on which was great! Gwen was really welcoming and gave us a slice of homemade cake each and fresh milk for drinks. Breakfast was served in their farmhouse kitchen and was delicious. They even had gluten free sausages and bread for me which was unexpected as I hadn't warned them. Overall, this is a beautiful, cosy farmhouse with really welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiesWorld42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you both for your great review, very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again.
Kind Regards Gwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hosts were really nice, but there were a couple of challenges. We were in the large family room. As you can see from the photo, it's under the pitch of the roof. There are two flights of very steep and uneven steps to get to this room. Someone (owners? another guest?) smoked while we stayed there. The smoke came right up into the room. Our children are not used to cigarette smoke, and it made them both sick to their stomachs. On the positive side, breakfast was generous, and the kids loved being able to visit the animals.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aero3926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you found the stairs difficult it is the charm and problem with old buildings. I am very sorry and some what surprised that you could smell smoke as we have a no smoking policy in all the rooms, how ever I can not be certain at all times that every guest abides by this. I was certainly not aware of it at the time of your stay. i wish you had told us at the time and we might have been able to have sorted it. However I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the children enjoyed seeing the animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife, daughter, Labradoodle and I recently stayed at the Pen-Y-Dre bed and breakfast and had an excellent stay. We were even allowed to leave the dog in the room whilst we went out for dinner.

The cake upon arrival was a nice touch and was delicious. The room was a great size and already had a cot and bedding provided for our 18 month year old daughter. The room had lots of walking books and books about the area which was much appreciated as we did plan on doing some walking.

The location of the farm is amazing. The local town and views are absolutely stunning and Abergavenny is just a quick drive away (about 10 mins).

Breakfast in the morning was excellent. There was a wide variety of choice of both cereals and a cooked breakfast. The atmosphere was homely and comfy.

There is literally nothing we could fault about our stay. If the owners of Pen-y-dre farm ever read this - thank you very much for such a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I contacted Gwen in advance to question what would be the best room for us as we required room for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you Stu for posting your great review, we enjoyed meeting you and your family and of course the dog which was so well behaved. Hope to see you again.
Kind Regards Gwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Recently stayed at Pen -y - Dre Farm campsite. In a remarkable position, scenery fabolous.

Campsite shared with caravans, there is a toilet / shower block - cost of using the shower is included in camping fee.

The proprietors Idris & Gwen Jones are very helpful and friendly people. They can provide information on the arrea.

Great campsite!!!!

Philip Nevin
Birmingham

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and posting the video, loved the views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Me and my partner have just returned from a wonderful bank holiday weekend at this lovely B & B. The cake we received on arrival was delicious and we were really happy with our charming, beautiful room.

The full breakfast was fantastic and just what you need for an action packed day of walking and sightseeing, cooked before your eyes in Gwen and Idris' charming kitchen. It is in a great location with a number of lovely local pubs nearby. The farm animals were wonderful and added to the overall experience.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this warm and friendly B & B and would highly recommend a stay here. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotte m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for posting your lovely review. We would love to see you again, hope you had a good journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays

Property: Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays
Address: llanfihangel crucorney | nr abergavenny, Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal holiday location especially for families or groups keen to visit The Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons, or walk the Offa`s Dyke Path. The village has The Skirrid Mountain Inn, which is the oldest pub in Wales and was used as Judge Jeffrie`s Court. The scenery is superb with The Skirrid Mountain behind and The Black Mountains just beyond the village. Ideally situated to explore the Wye Valley, Welsh Border Country, Forest of Dean, The Brecon Beacons National Park & South Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing