We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary !!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skirrid Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scary !!!!”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The stay at the Skirrid was organised by our friends as a surprise. We had seen the dvd from most haunted and were really looking forward to being spooked. It was really spooky and although we didnt see any ghosts our friends had taken loads of pictures, which had lots of orbs on them. You can certainly feel presences especially going up the staircase. I was scared to be in the room on my own. The locals and the hosts really made us feel welcome and it made us feel that we had known them for years.Even the grandson of the owner came with us to the graveyard after midnight. The food was excellent and we really had a good night. We will definately be going back there, cant wait !!! ,

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which was smaller than Rooms 1 & 2, but I really liked it. You have to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen_dave_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    67
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
42
91
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Our fourth time here and have already booked to go next year!! The best pub ever!! Great food, great rooms and the best hosts!! It's really spooky too!! Thanks for another great weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 or 2 are the best. And the scariest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pal04ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Arriveing early afternoon we were made to feal at ease and welcome straight away and shown to our room by the freindly staff , we were left to have a look round the pub and local village at our own leisure with promises of stories of the pub later that evening ! After a very reasonable and delicious meal of lamb shank (highly recomended ) we werent disapointed with some great stories from Geoff our host and ended a very pleasent night feeling very at home ! No spooky experiances this time tho , altho a few intresting pictures . Ile try and get them on the websight ! All in all a pleasent relaxing and intresting stay , with freindly locals and great hosts ! Highly recogmended !!! ....... Richard and Kate .... Penarth

Room Tip: Room one was very nice and not as reputedley haunted as room two was ment to be !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed at the skirrid on 16th september 2011. We thoroughly enjoyed, a proper girlie night.
The landlord and landlady were so friendly, the food was delicious. Didnt see any ghosties, but it felt eery sat around the open fire. I would recommend it, a lovely warm and friendly pub.
Thankyou Geoff xx Michelle and friends.

Room Tip: All three rooms are well presented and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
842 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We chose a night at The Skirrid Inn, in Llanfihangel Crucorney, just outside of Abergavenny in Wales, just for the fun of it, whilst doing a driving tour of Wales. We like to try to find interesting places to stay when in the UK – staying at a bed & breakfast in England is usually good, but staying at one that used to be, say, a Courthouse in the 1500’s is even better. We don’t find that type of history very often here in Australia (and certainly nothing before 1770!).
The Skirrid Inn is certainly the oldest Inn in Wales, and is a contender for the oldest in England. Its first recorded existence is 1110. As an Inn, it was also used as a local Courthouse, complete with Judges’ retiring room. That’s the room we stayed in – room 2 – formerly used as the Courtroom and adjoining Judges’ retiring room. Reputedly, upwards of 180 robbers, sheep-stealers, highwaymen, cheats and thieves were hung here, with the drag and scorch marks of the hangman’s noose still visible on the beam at the bottom of the stairs. As a consequence of all of this, it is purportedly haunted (indeed, the most haunted inn in Wales), having featured on TV and on DVD.
Irresistible!
We had a few drinks and dinner and retired relatively early – the noises from the pub kept going for a few hours, and then all was quiet, until...
... we were awoken in the early hours of the morning to a loud metal clanging. Yep, it was around 6-6.30am, and they were dragging out the old kegs and bringing in the new ones. If anything supernatural happened in room 2 of The Skirrid Inn that night, we slept through it!
The rooms - well, indeed, the whole pub – are very old, so come with that expectation. Our room was huge, with a wardrobe, dressing table, chairs, TV and canopied double bed. The ensuite had a bath, but no shower, and the water was warm.
Breakfast was served in the bar dining room – a traditional cooked breakfast and plenty of it. No reason for complaint there.
Geoff, the owner (with his wife, Sharon) had a great sense of humour, regaling us with stories of nights in the pub.
We were looking for a bit of atmosphere and fun, and found it at The Skirrid Inn.

Room Tip: Room 2 is purportedly the most haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

this pub could be a mecca given its beauty and age but given the poor food you would be best advised to stick to the beer which is generally very nice and local - one of my regular watering holes - very freindly and welcome after a long walk but so much more potential and some of the tables and chairs could do with updating - certainly not a pusb with pretentions - so for that it gets full marks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Stayed here in August because we love old buildings, especially haunted ones! We stayed in room 1 and based on the tripadvisor reviews, this room is supposed to be haunted. When we were flipping through the guestbook at the inn, we found that all of the guests had said room 2 was the most haunted.

Overnight, we definitely experienced some strange things. At one point I felt some pressure on my head and also felt and heard the bed depress at the same time. My boyfriend felt something in his hair, and we both heard a weird fluttering noise. Whenever we turned on the light to investigate, the noise would stop. We thought it was a moth, but we never found one.

My only complaint is that we did not feel welcome. We expected the innkeepers to be really nice based on the reviews, but were treated as if we were interrupting a good time. We were the only guests there, but they could not care less and when we tried to chat with them. I got the experience with the paranormal but I wanted, but because we felt unwanted we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanvihangel Crucorney
4.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
6.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skirrid Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skirrid Mountain Inn

Property: Skirrid Mountain Inn
Address: Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skirrid Mountain Hotel Llanvihangel Crucorney
Skirrid Mountain Inn Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing