We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indifferent microwaved food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skirrid Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The food was rather disappointing: the veg was microwaved from frozen, the nut roast too greasy, and the chocolate fudge cake smelled stale. The building is pretty, but it's a pity the food doesn't match the setting.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have recently stayed here for two nights for my husbands 50th birthday and had a great time. There are 3 rooms, we had room 2, very large and spacious and the sun pours in onto the four poster bed in the morning. Being Wales oldest inn it is steeped in history albeit at times a tragic one but added to the excitement. The food was plentiful, so much value for money and the host was very attentive. We can only recommend this to everyone who wants to stay in a haunted inn where you will not be disappointed. My husband has not stopped thanking me for the experience which he said he will remember with fond memories.

Room Tip: If you want a more scary experience, we were told room 3 was the best for ghostly activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abby h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

So loved spending the night at the skirrid, warm welcome, great food, and great breakfast. Slt well, but felt uneasy going in bathroom, so soon ran out quick. Will be going back again soon with my friends to spend the night. Thanks for making us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Haunted room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

a must for all super natural buffs , and people who love history , it has a fantastic atmosphere , and has a spooky twist , with a sense of feeling in a warm abode , it has great food and ales , and the landlord and his wife are very friendly, the rooms are great and you have the freedom of venturing out on ghost hunts if you wish , much more than expected and a fantastic friendly atmosphere , the landlord geoff , will go out his way to make your stay extra special , and knows a lot about the history of the area and will show you around , it was three good size rooms which felt very cozy and non threatening , but still has the eerie effects of all its character , the food was very enjoyable and cater for vegetarians, a big thumbs up from us !!

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are similar and room three has more character !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Went for a meal and a drink with my wife whilst in wales on holiday. The food was decent pub grub but nothing special., the beer was good. Felt that a lot more could have been made of this pubs history, at the moment there are a few banners telling a brief history a few framed documents and a scuffy newspaper article hanging on the wall. I'm sure a lot lot more could be done to make this a great place to visit. Seems very tied

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a lovely time we had, the owners fantastic and friendly. The meals were nice and plentiful. You are then left there after closing to stay downstairs and await........ Sounds I cannot understand. I did think it was Paul winding us up but he had gone to bed. We cannot wait to stay again, I tried booking again but they are fully booked for a long time. All in all we had a fantastic valentines night, all the better for friendly staff. We are on the cancellation list now. Claire and rob

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our stay at the Skirrid was unforgettable. After we had eaten a substantial meal in the restaurant we retired to our room in anticipation of a spooky night. We were not disappointed! We slept well considering we witnessed orbs and some sinister laughter. Our breakfast was huge and extremely tasty. Well done and thank you Geoff and Sharon.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daviesscd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanvihangel Crucorney
12.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
550 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 5 in Pandy
78 reviews
4 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#1 of 3 in Pandy
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skirrid Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skirrid Mountain Inn

Address: Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skirrid Mountain Hotel Llanvihangel Crucorney
Skirrid Mountain Inn Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing